We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Kampala accommodations

Red Chilli Hideaway

Save
You added Red Chilli Hideaway to your Saves list
13-23 Bukasa Hill View Road | Butabika, Kampala, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Red Chilli Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    125
    39
    17
    10
See reviews for
14
68
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Lilongwe, Malawi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

LOCATION - FAR from the action of Kampala but they do put on a regularly scheduled shuttle bus. It can take up to an hour to get to the city and then that's a small, western-style mall on the edge of the city; hardly in the action. BATHROOM - Basic but GREAT showers for Africa; hot and powerful. Probably the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vastra Gotaland County, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was the by far worst night we spent in our 2 weeks in Uganda. The staff were non-caring and ignorant. Especially the ones working at the poolside BBQ. Not only were they rude and so far from service minded one can get (they had been fired in 5 minutes in the US or EU), it also took them almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will begin with disclaimer that I neither stayed or went on a safari with Red Chillies. I heard of it a lot and everyone practically recommended it for stay and Murchinson Fall safari. I was a solo traveler so I booked and paid ahead for my safari and stay for 01-03 January. Once i reached there (It is far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent value for basic, clean and friendly accommodation. The place was recommended by a relative in Kampala as I was desperate to shift base from an alternative very noisy, more expensive and equally no frills hotel where I had checked into the night before. The poolside bar and bar-be-que was an added and welcome bonus, particularly for my family visitors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very welcoming, friendly, organized. Food fast & tasty, good value. Bar prices fair. Stayed 2 nights solo in dorm, bed comfy, but a lot of light from outside. On return trip(before going on safari trip) with daughter, in dorm with no mosquito nets. Is the top bunk supposed to drop them to cover bottom bunk? Not sure. On return from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We camped 3 nights at the Red Chilli but I don't think I would go again.. The place is great, very clean, wifi works well, but the atmosphere is not what it is supposed to be.. When we were there, there were 2 rugby teams extremely noisy and 3 overland trucks.. I normally don't really care about the noise and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kampala
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Red Chilli is a great place, I have stayed there, taken a trip to Murchinson with them last December (outstanding!) and visit now and again to enjoy the lovely location, excellent facilities and wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. I went swimming there today, quite possibly be back there tomorrow. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times with my boyfriend and used it as our starting and finishing point in Uganda. The location is excellent with views of Lake Victoria and is very peaceful compared to the heart of Kampala. There's a free shuttle bus into town & the matatu shared taxi line (butabika line) drops you down the street from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear PamikaReynolds Thanks so much for the great feedback! Really hope to see you again some day soon! All the best Debbie More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This was our first stop in Uganda and made for a great start to our trip. Nice clean rooms, delicious food, cold drinks and a great atmosphere with people constantly popping in and out. The staff were super friendly and helpful too. The hot showers and swimming pool are a nice bonus too that you can't really find anywhere else... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear colmac92 We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us....it was really great to meet you guys! Please come back and visit again soon! All the best Debbie More 

Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I was glad to find this backpackers, although it is far from the city centre because we had been paying 130$ downtown vs. 30-40$ for a double room here. However, we had many disappointments with this hostel. 1) The double room we booked with bathroom had cockroaches coming out of the shower drain. Also, when I lifted the shower curtain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Marilyse_n I am so sorry to hear you were so disappointed by your experience at Red Chilli. Please accept my apologies for the receptionist's unhelpful service but our management office and my office are both right next to reception, with our doors open all day... I only wish you had come to share your problems with us during your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Chilli Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chilli Hideaway

Address: 13-23 Bukasa Hill View Road | Butabika, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Red Chilli Hideaway Hotel Kampala

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Red Chilli Hideaway

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby