We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Chilli Hideaway

Certificate of Excellence
13-23 Bukasa Hill View Road | Butabika, Kampala, Uganda
Red Chilli Hideaway
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    144
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
19
72
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect place to stay if you're on a budget in Kampala. Great communal area with a brilliant kitchen serving hot and cold fresh meals throughout the day, and a bar. Plenty of books in the travel library, and people tend to hang out here, and not in there rooms. There is a dorm, private rooms, some with ensuite, and even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night at the Red Chilly Hideway in Kampala. I was sick this day, but the rooms and bathrooms are very clean and quiet - so I was happy being sick here and not somewhere else at a crappy place :) But on the other hand, I really had a "summer camp feeling". The complex is so big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Golden, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Red Chili Hideaway might be likened to the girls studying at UC Berkeley: nice, but really far out there. It's a pleasant place to stay, having more of a resort feel to it than a backpacker hostel, but still with affordable backpacker prices. Unfortunately, the compound in Batubuki is quite far from the city center. The hostel offers a free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I stayed here for a couple of nights and went on one of their trips. The weekend was crowded with a fun atmosphere. There was an ultimate frisbee tournament going on. Great pizza, good prices. The tour to Murchinsons Falls was a lot of fun- super chill people. i stayed in a private room and it was fine, nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Located upon the mountain with large common space to chill out. Red chilli is more alike a resort, accommodation range from ensuit room to basic dorm or camping, catering all types of travellers. I stayed in the dorm and it's clean and big with large space to put your personal luggage. There is also free shuttle bus to go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Maggie W Thanks very much for the lovely feedback! All the best Debbie More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

If you are looking for good accommodation at a reasonable price then this place may be for you. It is however quite a trek to get there although the hotel do run a shuttle bus to/from town. In return you get a nice pool in large private grounds. Good crowd at night in the poolside bar. Wood fired pizza. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Itsmorning Thanks so much for reviewing Red Chilli! Our road does get quite bad during rainy season but we haven't had anyone stuck yet luckily. We will be fixing it up in the next few weeks when the season changes...hope to see you back sometime after that! Best regards Debbie More 

Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Amazing until we realized that our tablet was left and when we got home called and they said they never found it. Was really disappointed in the cleaning crew and staff, as we now it was left in the tent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear smilesinternational I think this review actually belongs to our Rest Camp in Murchison Falls, rather than Kampala as we don't have tents for hire in Kampala. I did however hear about the incident and I'm so sorry we didn't manage to find your tablet which you later called to tell us had been left in the tent. We did... More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Spent 5 nights total at Red Chilli during a 3 week trip to Uganda- each time we passed through Kamapala. Although it was difficult to reach (our first driver could not find the place!), we quickly realized how wonderful it was to be in a quiet peaceful location during our otherwise hectic travels. It is important for travelers to realize... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear TravlinGal1959 Thanks very much for your detailed review of Red Chilli, which I found very helpful. We are currently in the process of installing a rather sophisticated Point of Sale system which should make bill paying much more straight forward and also mean that we can add food and drinks consumed in the pool area to the tab. With... More 

Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

If you are looking for a backpacker than believe me it's the best place in this price with best food and suitable accommodation. You have to be a bit patient and instead of losing temper on staff it is better to contact management and register your complaint. I can assure you that you won't repend. The response of management is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Muhammed A Thank you for the good feedback...I am happy to hear you appreciated the management, although I do hope you have not had too many complaints that needed addressing here! Best regards Debbie More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

A peaceful place at a distance from the city noises which is also its only down side that it is at a distance from the city but they have free shuttle service thrice a day. You can book all adventures from the counter and most will pick you up from the hostel. The accommodation is value for money and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Wasif B Thank you for taking the time to review Red Chilli - I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the place. I hope you get to try the pizza one day! Best regards Debbie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampala
0.0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#12 of 75 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 75 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Village
Hotel Le Petit Village
#8 of 75 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 75 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.0 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#19 of 75 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities