We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Chilli Hideaway

Certificate of Excellence
13-23 Bukasa Hill View Road | Butabika, Kampala, Uganda
Red Chilli Hideaway

279 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    143
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
19
71
71
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a couple of nights and went on one of their trips. The weekend was crowded with a fun atmosphere. There was an ultimate frisbee tournament going on. Great pizza, good prices. The tour to Murchinsons Falls was a lot of fun- super chill people. i stayed in a private room and it was fine, nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located upon the mountain with large common space to chill out. Red chilli is more alike a resort, accommodation range from ensuit room to basic dorm or camping, catering all types of travellers. I stayed in the dorm and it's clean and big with large space to put your personal luggage. There is also free shuttle bus to go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Maggie W Thanks very much for the lovely feedback! All the best Debbie More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for good accommodation at a reasonable price then this place may be for you. It is however quite a trek to get there although the hotel do run a shuttle bus to/from town. In return you get a nice pool in large private grounds. Good crowd at night in the poolside bar. Wood fired pizza. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Itsmorning Thanks so much for reviewing Red Chilli! Our road does get quite bad during rainy season but we haven't had anyone stuck yet luckily. We will be fixing it up in the next few weeks when the season changes...hope to see you back sometime after that! Best regards Debbie More 

Kampala, Uganda
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing until we realized that our tablet was left and when we got home called and they said they never found it. Was really disappointed in the cleaning crew and staff, as we now it was left in the tent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear smilesinternational I think this review actually belongs to our Rest Camp in Murchison Falls, rather than Kampala as we don't have tents for hire in Kampala. I did however hear about the incident and I'm so sorry we didn't manage to find your tablet which you later called to tell us had been left in the tent. We did... More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 5 nights total at Red Chilli during a 3 week trip to Uganda- each time we passed through Kamapala. Although it was difficult to reach (our first driver could not find the place!), we quickly realized how wonderful it was to be in a quiet peaceful location during our otherwise hectic travels. It is important for travelers to realize... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear TravlinGal1959 Thanks very much for your detailed review of Red Chilli, which I found very helpful. We are currently in the process of installing a rather sophisticated Point of Sale system which should make bill paying much more straight forward and also mean that we can add food and drinks consumed in the pool area to the tab. With... More 

Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a backpacker than believe me it's the best place in this price with best food and suitable accommodation. You have to be a bit patient and instead of losing temper on staff it is better to contact management and register your complaint. I can assure you that you won't repend. The response of management is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Muhammed A Thank you for the good feedback...I am happy to hear you appreciated the management, although I do hope you have not had too many complaints that needed addressing here! Best regards Debbie More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A peaceful place at a distance from the city noises which is also its only down side that it is at a distance from the city but they have free shuttle service thrice a day. You can book all adventures from the counter and most will pick you up from the hostel. The accommodation is value for money and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Wasif B Thank you for taking the time to review Red Chilli - I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the place. I hope you get to try the pizza one day! Best regards Debbie More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

I visited Uganda with my college for 10 days & Red Chilli was such a wonderful part of our experience!! Spacious rooms & lovely sitting areas in the restaurant & the lobby. They have a clothes washing service but take into account that they don't wash underwear. Food very well priced & was lovely! Also a pizza cooker by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Emsy06 Thanks so much for the wonderful review...so pleased you had a great time at Red Chilli and in Uganda! Best regards Debbie More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Stayed 1 night for US$25 in basic room with two single beds. Comfortable enough and good mosquito net. Shared bathroom - many and with warmish water. Location is a little out of the centre but ideal for next day tour to Murchison Falls (highly recommended). No Wifi in room but worked well in restaurant area. Swimming pool and relaxing area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear MJS1966 So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Red Chilli. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about it! All the best Debbie More 

Bundoran
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

The Red Chillli Hideaway (RCH) is a busy and well known option for budget travellers. As I had booked one of their safari trips I had free dormitory accommodation the night before we left and I stayed there again, booking a single room with shower but getting a double and single (all to myself) instead as they had lost my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear JMMcE Thanks so much for such detailed feedback on Red Chilli. So pleased to hear you liked your room (we don't have designated single rooms by the way, we just charge less for single occupancy!) and the surroundings. I was sorry to hear you found the female staff unfriendly however - we have had some words with them on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities