We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial Royale Hotel

Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Royale Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Imperial Royale Hotel
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    18
    13
    8
See reviews for
1
2
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Nairobi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WIFI is crappy, Rooms not entirely clean, Food not any where near acceptable with humongous rooms that look like a movie set scene out of the 1940's. Towels are dirty and old and only two re provided. The Place lacks ambiance especially for a business traveler and its a total waste of my 360 bucks!. Most ridiculous of all is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, We sincerely apologize that you found your visit disappointing. We keep our housekeeping to the highest standards, sorry about the WIFI we had issues with our internet service providers which has been resolved, We hope you will return to experience the many enhancements we made with the lighting and food. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed there to attend a conference at the neighboring Serena. The hotel is large and spacious. Staff are quite helpful especially when I locked myself out of the room.There however is a smell from the carpet that needs to be dealt with. Rooms are clean and very airy. Air conditioning works very well. Excellent location if you want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Makobu, Thank you for taking the time to visit us and for your review, Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission, we apologize for the smell coming from the carpets, we have addressed issue. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights. Pros-Bed was clean and room was spacious enough,though very dated. The front office staff and porters were friendly. Powerful Shower. Cons-Lost my phone, cockroaches in the room, unreliable WiFi, lack of ventilation leading to stuffy rooms, ghost town due to limited occupancy.... Avoid it if you can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peace, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there because two favorite hotels, The Serena and the Sheraton were fully booked with conferences. This Hotel is out of the 60's, big rooms with no ambience, the Restaurants are horrible, you hardly even want to walk in them. Breakfast in the dark, so you can't see what you eat. Needs a major overhaul.

Was this review helpful? Yes
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations, sorry about the darkness, the lights have been worked on now, kindly visit us again, you will enjoy your stay this time! More 

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

My husband and i were looking forward to a lovely romantic xmas meal when we decided to visit this hotel on xmas day. We had heard only nice things and did not expect anything less. However we were extremely disappointed in the setting and the actual xmas meal. The buffet meal was expensive and was not tasty. We certainly will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value our customers opinions and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Stayed here on 1 or 2 night business trip through Africa. The hotel is immense in size, and completely soulless. Rooms were huge, multiple pieces of furniture and sofas, but too big to be comfortable. Elevator deposited you at your floor, then you set off a km in any of four directions to get to your room. Wifi only worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J H, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations More 

New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The food is excellent - one of the very few hotels in Kampala that serves authentic Uganda cuisine! Their rates for the rooms are very competitive and you get value for your money. It is most ideal for official travel and meetings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Castro, Thank you for the great review on our hotel, we work really hard to serve the best food in a great environment and i'm glad that effort come to pay off on your last visit. hope to have you back soon! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
53 hotel reviews
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 via mobile

3rd visit and i think its my last. This hotel was built to house CHOGM years ago and today seems to operate largely for conferences which use the many rooms on the ground floor. Its Africa and so ratings reflect this, so despite its age, its looking tired around the edges. Usual things that show the signs. Cracks in bathrooms,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonbob, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations with the lighting and not having the homely feeling, we are truly sorry you felt differently and therefor apologize, we also appreciate your good comments about our friendly staff, good... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business last week. Kampala is a vibrant colourful and a little bit scary. But coming from the gridlocked smoggy roads through the concrete blocks and guards to the hotel you are stepping into something completely different. The metal detector arch in the lobby is something you don't see every day! This hotel is big and I mean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This hotel is very huge...the rooms are so huge/spacious a bit too huge for my taste (but that is just me). The rooms have wall to wall carpeting and are the furniture is okay. However, there is this smell in the rooms (a bit like mold...) , I am not sure if it is because of the wall to wall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hope, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers, Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the mold smell issue, we also has issues with our internet service providers hence the WIFI issues but it was worked on.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question