We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Avoca

#1 of 3 Hotels in Avoca
Certificate of Excellence
211 West Marty Drive, Exit 40 on I-80 and Highway 59, Avoca, IA 51521
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel 6 Avoca
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Avoca
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    122
    37
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
35
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Motel 6 is not usually my first choice, but this one is a real gem. The manager/ owner was courteous, informative and trustworthy. AARP and senior discounts are available, although the price is quite reasonable regardless. The rooms are quiet, safe, clean and well-maintained with excellent TV options. I would recommend this place without reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Avoca, responded to this review

Dear Kate, We appreciate you recognizing the valuel and staff at our property and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If you haven't already done so, please call our Guest Relations Department to share your experience: 1-855-787-9864. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels. More 

Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Motel 6 isn't usually my preference, but I've stayed in this one a number of times over the years when I'm visiting relatives in the area, beginning when it first opened, and I've never been disappointed. It's very clean, everything works, it has always been quiet when I've been there, and the manager and staff are competent, friendly, and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Avoca, responded to this review

Dear Neil, We appreciate you recognizing the value in our property and all that we have to offer you and our valued guests. We were so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If you haven't already done so, please call our Guest Relations Department to share your experience: 1-855-787-9864. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels. More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were too noisy , right after check in asked CSR for refund or room change, Nothing happened , Manager called and said he will look into that. Room was below average, Very bad experience. I would not stay on this location next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Avoca, responded to this review

Dear Arshad, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay due to the inconveniences you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your... More 

JBReview98
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm always skeptical of booking anything in this price range because I've been to some really nasty places, but took a chance on this place. It was impressive, especially considering the price was so low. I found the room to be quite clean. It's obviously a budget place, but one that is well taken care of.

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Avoca, responded to this review

Dear Rich, We appreciate you recognizing our valuable team and all that they do to ensure you and other guests have a wonderfurl stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back soon to visit us again. If you haven't already done so, please call our Guest Relations Department to share your... More 

Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

My family and I stayed here this past weekend. I had called 3 weeks before to make a reservation so I couldake sure to get adjoining rooms. I was told the room numbers we would have and thought everything would be fine. We checked in on Friday ans were told they didn't have any available so we would be down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Avoca, responded to this review

Angie, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the service issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues... More 

Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We had a solid stay here for two nights. A clean room with a beautiful view. (Got the tip from a review on Trip advisor to ask for a second floor room with the western view). My son enjoyed to the pool. Had no problem requesting extra towels at the front desk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

I've stayed here before and was impressed. This time, I wasn't impressed. Teresa, at the front desk, was unfriendly; no smile and no happy greeting. I felt like she would just rather me go away. She was smoking right by the front door and saw me loading my bags on the cart. There are no automatic doors here. Do you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I have stayed here three times now driving through Iowa, and each time have had such a positive greeting, clean room and extra help where needed. Thanks for leaving the light on for me, Avoca, Motel 6! (Note: I do not know the desk clerk's name, but it was a woman on the evening (11 PM?) on Tuesday, June 16,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Avoca, responded to this review

Dear Rich, We appreciate you recognizing our property and all that we have to offer you and all our valued guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our pool. If you haven't already done so, please call our Guest Relations Department to share your experience: 1-855-787-9864. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels. More 

GREENCASTLE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

checked in early,and greeted by a rude lady at front desk, checked in early but was given the worst room possible with the wall of the pool house is all that could be seen out the window. Noise coming through the wall don't no what. it was, room was ok but very small, will take this place off my list... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Avoca, responded to this review

Jerry, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the service issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues... More 

Hudson, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

When booking an inexpensive motel, you expect an inexpensive motel. Usually they border on "cheap". This Motel 6 in Avoca blew my expectations out of the water. The room was clean, the pool and lobby area were well cared for, and Keith was exceptional. He met our needs and requests cheerfully and efficiently. He was informative about local dining and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Avoca, responded to this review

Dear Jaime, We appreciate you recognizing our staff and team and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If you haven't already done so, please call our Guest Relations Department to share your experience: 1-855-787-9864. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoca
0.2 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Avoca
9.9 mi away
Settle Inn and Suites
Settle Inn and Suites
#1 of 2 in Harlan
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
17.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Atlantic
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Tivoli Inn & Suites
Tivoli Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Elk Horn
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#3 of 3 in Avoca
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Walnut
Super 8 Walnut
#1 of 1 in Walnut
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay