We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Chez Lando

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
B.P. 1519 | Remera, Kigali, Rwanda
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Hotel Chez Lando
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    98
    50
    9
    10
See reviews for
5
35
29
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went to Kigali for a business trip and by going through the review,I booked the room here.But couldn't able to match my expectation...it is being overrated by Trip Adviser.From now on words,I must be very careful in choosing the hotel on basis of review from trip advise. Room rent was usd 118/night,the furniture are very poor and the bathroom is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChezLandoMgt, Customer Care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this review

Dear Precious Guest, Thanks again for staying with Chez Lando,it's a pleasure. We humbly apologize if your stay with us did not match your expectations, we've taken a note of your review and we will keep on upgrading our premises as well as our services in order to offer a more decent stay to our guests, You're always welcome at... More 

Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although I had a good sleep and a reasonably good breakfast I think this hotel is overrated. Over 90 USD is way to much for what you get. The hotel is old-fashioned and the rooms have no style at all. The bathroom is gross but at least there was water coming out of the tap. It is on a convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChezLandoMgt, Customer Care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this review

Dear Valuable guest, Thanks for your review about your stay with us it's always a pleasure for us as we value our guests feedback, it helps us to know what to improve and to appreciate what's well done, as mentioned in our previous response the refurbishment of standard rooms has started and the first 6 rooms will be finished by... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is totally overrated on tripadvisor...to the point I wonder who is writing these reviews. The rooms are dingy and old and the smell like old cigarettes. It is super loud with the traffic going by and therefore it is difficult to sleep. The food is terrible and the service is slow. There are definitely better places to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChezLandoMgt, Customer Care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this review

Dear, We humbly apologize for the lack of comfort that you've experienced while staying with us, we want just to notify that the refurbishment works of our standard rooms has started the basic upgrades are being done step by step while waiting for the Major Renovation that due to logistic issues is scheduled at the end of the year but... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kigali hotels

Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was not comfortable, poor and old-fashioned. Water stays into sink. The shower was blocked, we had to take a shower with a glass. Very poor bathroom. Problems to lock the door of the room. In our room there was no WIFI, no minibar. Breakfast very poor, sauer milk. Meals are good but you have to wait an hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChezLandoMgt, Customer Care at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this review

Dear, Thanks for staying with Chez Lando, we humbly apologize for the inconvenience and lack of comfort that you might have experienced, the refurbishment activities of our simple standard rooms in the old wing have started and we hope that guests will remark it, note also that we offer a technical assistance 24h/7 for any technical problem that our guest... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would highly recommend Chez Lando for conferences! I was part of a residential workshop which involved participants flying in from 10 different countries to stay for several weeks. Chez Lando staff worked closely with my companies travel staff in the United States to make sure everything from the hotel rooms to the conference rooms were perfect. Staff was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in transition between Kigali airport and South West Uganda, so this hotel was ideal for our evening arrival. We hadn't realised how far it was from the centre of Kigali, so it was less ideally situated for our stay on the return trip, when we wanted to explore the city. However the helpful staff, who rapidly arranged taxis... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ijust had a 3 week regional workshop at Hotel Chez Lando and was impressed by the staff. They were very professional and responsive to our needs. Trainees were very happy with the services the staff provided. The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to meeting facilitties. I will highly recomend it for meetings or workshops. I will come back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in Chez Lando for 5 nights. Had a wonderful time. The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous especially Patrick. He went out of his way in making sure that my special needs regarding the beds were met. The new wing is the place to stay. The ambience and the lovely garden make it worth the extra money one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulm
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The Chez Landu Hotel is among the best Option in Kigali comparing Price and Service Level. Nevertheless its not a luxury place. Rooms are OK but nothing more. Closed to the airport the Hotel is a good option for transit passengers as it was my case arriving late night and to continue the journey next morning to Goma/DRC. Bed is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This was my 3rd stay at Chez Lando - and i stayed for one week. The room was very good - comfortable bed, consistent hot water and internet, lovely buffet breakfast each morning, prompt airport transfer. My friend and I decided to host a buffet dinner for 23 people and asked only 24 hours in advance if this was possible... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities