We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safari Hotel

Corner Auas & Aviation Rd | PO Box 3900, Windhoek, Namibia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Safari Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Safari Hotel during a 4 day conference held in the hotel's conference center. There's nothing extraordinary about this place, but I had no complaints either (except maybe for the extremely slow internet connection). Staff members were polite, rooms were spacious and clean, the food was ok and the conference center was well equipped.

Helpful?
1 Thank Negenduust
Worcester, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed only one night over at the hotel on our way back to South Africa. It was very special, we lingered until almost dark in both the swimming pool and jacuzzi before eating out at the restaurant. The food was good and the service the same. As we had to leave very early, we got breakfast packs that could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank elzabe44
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear elzabe44 Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We really appreciate all your positive comments and we are so glad that you had an enjoyable time with us. As a Hotel and team, we always strive to give the best service to all our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again in... More 

East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Safari Hotel In Windhoek used to be a good hotel but something terrible has happened to the hotel- poor management. The service of the hotel has dropped and it was a night mare upon our arrival to sort out our room reservations which where done four months prior to arrival and the hotel was contact three times on the day... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Navy S
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

I visited Namibia in for in Dec. 2015. I stayed one night in Safari Hotel upon my arrival in Windhoek before my Safari adventure the next day. The guest room is roomy for a single traveler and has all what I need. Wifi is free and works. The hotel lobby is spacious and welcoming! Breakfast is good. The hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank SwimDiveTravel
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SwimDiveTravel We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive review. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything you needed was attended to. We look forward to hosting you in the future again. Sincere Regards, Hotel Management More 

Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

I stayed here for two nights. Love the breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were ok. The hotel is a little bit fra from downtown. But the good thing is that there are free shuttles that drive from and to the city center. Organized tours are also available at the reception which you can book in day before.

Helpful?
Thank Lance_Kerwin
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lance_Kerwin Thank you so much for your review and your positive comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we would have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Yours Sincerely, Hotel Management More 

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Stayed there 2 nights for business. Pros: Nice pool and restaurant area. Free wifi, atm at the reception, close to city center, free shuttle bus Cons: Very old rooms, mediocre buffet, free shuttle bus stops early

Helpful?
Thank Snbjason
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Snbjason Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment and for your positive comments. Renovation of our rooms will be taking place soon. We are not quite sure what you meant by the Shuttle bus that stops early, as it transports our guests to and from the City Center every hour. But none the less, we really... More 

Travelers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Norwich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

I stayed here during an over landing trip of Africa. The rooms were spacious but dated, the shower was powerful and had a good temperature but the room was just boiling. The outside was swarming with mosquitoes so we were unable to leave windows etc open and the fan did nothing for the heat, unbearable heat, so a bad nights... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna489
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joanna489 Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. From January this year, we will be renovating all the rooms in the Safari Court Hotel. With regards to the heat and the mosquitoes, there is unfortunately nothing we could to about it. We wish you could have mentioned the air-con and wifi problem to us when you... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

Spent a week in Safari hotel, I had a wonderful time. Staf is very friendly, rooms very clean and spacey, air condition little noisy, food was great. Free shuttle (each hours) to and from the city center and some malls is very useful for shopping and sighting.

Helpful?
Thank Mistapha
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mistapha Thank you so much for your review. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you left happy. We really look forward to having you as our guest soon again. Sincere Regards, Hotel Management More 

Keetmanshoop, Namibia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Stayed there one night on our way to Swakopmund. Nice carpeted rooms also clean. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant. Quiet environment and kids loved the garden and grass. Would stay there again and also recommend to friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank Johanna B
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johanna B Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Establishment. Your positive comments have been shared with the Management and Team who are much appreciative. We always strive to give excellent service to our guests and make their stay with us unforgettable. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next... More 

New York, NY / Johannesburg, SA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

I stayed at Hotel Safari for one night during a business trip to Windhoek. I'm afraid it wasn't the best experience. First, so. many. cats. Stray cats everywhere. They feed stray cats (see photo) which has its benefits in keeping other undesirable creatures away, but also, eew. The room itself was rather dated. You could tell that they had made... More 

Helpful?
Thank MzanziTraveller
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MzanziTraveller Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment . It is so unfortunate that you do not like cats. For a property like ours, these cats help hugely with pest control and they are also loved by most of our guests. With regards to the room, we have two different hotels on the same property. You... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#6 of 18 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#7 of 18 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#15 of 18 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
2.0 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 18 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay