We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Windhoek B&Bs / inns

Rivendell Guest House

40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rivendell Guest House to your Saves list
Rivendell Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
89%
Ranked #10 of 70 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
katgreen Madison, Wisconsin
  • Overview
  • Reviews (192)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (88)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    74
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
78
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is our second stay at Rivendell (last time was five years ago) and once again gets a two thumbs up! Room: This time we had room #1 -- big sliding glass doors looking over the pool (as opposed to one of the rooms looking on to the parking lot). Nice refurbishment of the room and bath. Clean, comfortable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our trip and two at the end. Its a really relaxed place and the staff are fantastic. Great breakfast and cake. Clean convenient and great value for money. On our last day our flight wasnt until 20.00 and they were happy for us to hang around until we got picked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great guest house with very helpful staff and good security. A bit cold when we were there, so they brought around a hot water bottle around 8pm. Rooms were a good size and comfortable, plus you get a freshly made hot breakfast. Would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rivendell is truly a fantastic guest house in Windhoek. It is located a 15 minute walk from the city centre in a quiet residential area (not ideal to walk after dark though). A good guest house always has a good communal area, and Rivendell delivers. Breakfast around the dining table is a great opportunity to meet other travellers and share... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights here. Arrived at 7 a.m and they arranged a transfer for me from the international airport via Windhoek Tours and Transfer (150 Namibian dollars) Complete breakfast was waiting for me ($8Cdn). Bathroom, dining room, living room, TV and WiFi available while I waited for my room to be ready. Very accommodating staff. Friendly owner, David Cartwright, also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada de Calatrava, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Wow, what a place; a bit hidden but still in the center of town; absolutely superb rooms, hosts, location, pool, cats, .......everything is 5 star. I was on a 6 weeks trip and this was my last night.....I will never forget that place, and might come back to Windhoek just to stay longer there. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback! We hope to see you back here again in the future. More

The Adriondacks, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Everything was great about our stay. The staff were very friendly. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfasts were delicious. The location was very convenient, only 15 minute walk to downtown. We would stay here again for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Rivendell, we're very please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! More

New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

It is not far from town, especially by car. It is walkable but I'm not sure I would be keen to walk at night in this part of town. Very secure premises with a guard on duty overnight. Unfortunately Windhoek has a name for petty crime - breakins. They were very helpful at organising a game drive at Okapuka on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and I'm glad that the managers assisted you with the trip to Okapuka. Windhoek does seem to have an issue with petty crime at the moment, we're working closely with the City Police who have their own Tourism Division, the guys there are very helpful. And we're also liaising with TASA (Tour and Safari Association of... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Considering the price the place is not great, just OK. Because of the sliding glass doors on the front of the room one has to keep the curtains pulled at all times to provide some privacy. Also we found it disturbing that there was no shelf space and hardly any closet space. Not even in the bathroom has there been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, and I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It would be great to know which room you were in, because all of the rooms with sliding glass doors have wardrobes in. Each wardrobe has an area for hanging clothes, as well as a set... More

Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

beautiful garden, friendly staff and nice rooms you can walk into downtown, takes about 15 minutes, where the next restaurant is we got lost on the way from the airport, not easy to find when you are new in the country

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rivendell Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino
B&Bs, Free inte...
Show More
148.1 mi away
Villa Moringa Guesthouse
Villa Moringa Guesthouse
#5 of 70 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer