We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dusternbrook Guest Farm

Hotel website
| P.O. Box 870, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    20
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Spent almost a week hiking in the mountains around Durstenbrook, and found the place a most welcome change from the rigours of roughing it. Johan the owner was welcoming, and very knowledgable about the history of the area. He is dedicated to conservation, and uplifting the community. The rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent, and the bar prices reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to write this report. It is not often that a South African writes a report that's why I really enjoyed your positive lines. If someone stays a few days here, like you, than the review is in my eyes even more valuable as it is not like a one day positive or... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

I stayed in the new hippos chalet. What i liked: -The fact that it is isolated from all other premises and so close to the lake with hippos and other animals that come to drink. - The self-guided walks. - The cheetah and leopard feeding. - We can see that they make a good effort to do a sophisticated food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Bruno, Thank you for taking your time to write such a comprehensive and balanced report. I have gone through your report point by point and I will improve on the points mentioned what you did not like. I do not quite understand the decoration part...on the other hand for such a good price you cannot expect much more valuable... More 

Windhoek
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We camped here and really enjoyed the scenery, the amazing woodpecker, the pool and the horses nearby, oh and the gorgeous puppy! The ablution block was clean and well looked after. The campsite itself is a little in need of attention with the fencing broken down in places, allowing animals to gain access easily. However, our kids loved the site... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear CH from Windhoek, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am happy you and the kids enjoyed their stay and we are happy to welcome you soon again. Thank also for the hints of improvement in terms of friendliness of the staff.Actually they are friendly that is the feed back I get from most other... More 

lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

"You won't be disappointed" is the logo on the literature for this place. How wrong it is. We camped there on our way back to Windhoek after a very tough 5 week trip. The campsite is small, extremely dusty ( we're used to really roughing it), covered in litter and extremely noisy. The ablutions were passable but getting even warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. Your criticism is far from the reality how I run, manage and maintain this farm. If you were that unhappy why do you complain only 9 month later, instead of approaching me right on the spot? Why do you even comment on activities you did not even take part? I appreciate constructive comments BUT not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

For the past 7 or so years, my family and I liked to escape the city on Sundays and always booked our lunch at Dusternbrook Guestfarm. The Sunday lunch at Dusternbrook has always been nice homely food but the last 2 years it had declined so dramatically that the only nice thing about the lunch is the fact that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear AlvynB, I am very very sorry to read what you have to say about your experience and our food. Something must have gone very wrong and please accept my apologies. I really hope you have immediately complained to my manager Bernd or Babara which I have employed since January 2014. I simply cannot believe that food from the day... More 

Walvis Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited for 2 nights, booked into the hippo chalet. We found it very basic but quaint and charming. The meals were fantastic and delicious! We did the activities, except for the horse riding. They only had one horse available. Horses came to drink at the hippo lake, but they were very thin. But it is obviously because of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Melony, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. I am happy that you had a positive stay at the hippo chalet coming all the way from Walvisbaai. I agree the hot water is a bit tricky but if you put in two "Blitz" than it will burn longer and the water will be warm for... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A definitely "not to miss" place situated comfortably on route between Windhoek and Okahandja, right on your way to northern Namibia e.g. Etosha National Park or Swakopmund on the coast. Fantastically set in the bush and lovely hilly region, on the banks of the dried up, seasonal river. Dusternbrook offers lovely accommodation, meals (restaurant) and MOST of all game drives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear visitor, Thank you for taking the time and write a comment on Düsternbrook it is well appreciated. You enjoyed exactly what we want to offer and hope everybody visiting the farm could see it that way. kind regards and tank you one more time. Johann Vaatz More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here with my two children and as a novelty we thought we would try the tented camp. This was a great idea as we were along the river bed and really felt at one with nature. The accommodation is basic, clean and comfortable. Dinner was served in the fabulous lapa and with the host joining the guests -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Thiru S from Pretoria, Thank you very much for taking the time and to comment on Duesternbrook. I appreciate that very much. Thank you for your positive comments especially that you enjoyed being in the tents and thereby being so close to nature. Hardly anybody mentiones the new lapa but you did and as this is very new and... More 

Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

One day was probably enough time spent here, but they do offer several activities that could maybe take a couple days to complete if you did them all. Pool was too cold to swim in but that is no fault of the owner's because of the weather this time of year. Nice meal in the dinning room of the old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Kory, Thank you for taking the time to review this "older" place. Actually your comment is very positive except the word "older". Seeing the original farm was build 1908 some things are older you are correct but often "older" has also its charm and atmosphere like the conversation at dinner. People in all walks of life meet here and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Did Scotmac stay in same place? Chalet had windows and was not dark.Lovely bed, towels and lav/shower. Normal "metal gate" before main door in case hot and wanted to sleep with door open so animals couldn't get in overnight. Baboons are fact of Africa - they fed early pm around dam and went until same time next day. Any drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Jcktan, Thank you for taking your time to comment on Dusternbrook Hippo Chalet. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you saw so many different species of game at the Chalet, that is quite amazing. It seems for game viewing the Hippo Chalet is a good place to stay although it is very basic. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windhoek
26.6 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
43.6 mi away
Auas Safari Lodge
Auas Safari Lodge
#4 of 57 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eagle Rock Guest-Farm & Business Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 mi away
Leopard Lodge
Leopard Lodge
#11 of 57 in Windhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
39.7 mi away
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
#24 of 57 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
27.8 mi away
River Crossing Lodge
River Crossing Lodge
#26 of 57 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay