We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duesternbrook Guest Farm

Hotel website
D1499 | P.O. Box 870, Windhoek, Namibia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duesternbrook Guest Farm
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Duesternbrook Guest Farm
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Windhoek, Namibia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

I stayed in the new hippos chalet. What i liked: -The fact that it is isolated from all other premises and so close to the lake with hippos and other animals that come to drink. - The self-guided walks. - The cheetah and leopard feeding. - We can see that they make a good effort to do a sophisticated food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Windhoek
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We camped here and really enjoyed the scenery, the amazing woodpecker, the pool and the horses nearby, oh and the gorgeous puppy! The ablution block was clean and well looked after. The campsite itself is a little in need of attention with the fencing broken down in places, allowing animals to gain access easily. However, our kids loved the site... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johann V, Owner at Duesternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear CH from Windhoek, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am happy you and the kids enjoyed their stay and we are happy to welcome you soon again. Thank also for the hints of improvement in terms of friendliness of the staff.Actually they are friendly that is the feed back I get from most other... More 

lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

"You won't be disappointed" is the logo on the literature for this place. How wrong it is. We camped there on our way back to Windhoek after a very tough 5 week trip. The campsite is small, extremely dusty ( we're used to really roughing it), covered in litter and extremely noisy. The ablutions were passable but getting even warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johann V, Owner at Duesternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. Your criticism is far from the reality how I run, manage and maintain this farm. If you were that unhappy why do you complain only 9 month later, instead of approaching me right on the spot? Why do you even comment on activities you did not even take part? I appreciate constructive comments BUT not... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

For the past 7 or so years, my family and I liked to escape the city on Sundays and always booked our lunch at Dusternbrook Guestfarm. The Sunday lunch at Dusternbrook has always been nice homely food but the last 2 years it had declined so dramatically that the only nice thing about the lunch is the fact that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johann V, Owner at Duesternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear AlvynB, I am very very sorry to read what you have to say about your experience and our food. Something must have gone very wrong and please accept my apologies. I really hope you have immediately complained to my manager Bernd or Babara which I have employed since January 2014. I simply cannot believe that food from the day... More 

Walvis Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited for 2 nights, booked into the hippo chalet. We found it very basic but quaint and charming. The meals were fantastic and delicious! We did the activities, except for the horse riding. They only had one horse available. Horses came to drink at the hippo lake, but they were very thin. But it is obviously because of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johann V, Owner at Duesternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Melony, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. I am happy that you had a positive stay at the hippo chalet coming all the way from Walvisbaai. I agree the hot water is a bit tricky but if you put in two "Blitz" than it will burn longer and the water will be warm for... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A definitely "not to miss" place situated comfortably on route between Windhoek and Okahandja, right on your way to northern Namibia e.g. Etosha National Park or Swakopmund on the coast. Fantastically set in the bush and lovely hilly region, on the banks of the dried up, seasonal river. Dusternbrook offers lovely accommodation, meals (restaurant) and MOST of all game drives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johann V, Owner at Duesternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear visitor, Thank you for taking the time and write a comment on Düsternbrook it is well appreciated. You enjoyed exactly what we want to offer and hope everybody visiting the farm could see it that way. kind regards and tank you one more time. Johann Vaatz More 

Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here with my two children and as a novelty we thought we would try the tented camp. This was a great idea as we were along the river bed and really felt at one with nature. The accommodation is basic, clean and comfortable. Dinner was served in the fabulous lapa and with the host joining the guests -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johann V, Owner at Duesternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Thiru S from Pretoria, Thank you very much for taking the time and to comment on Duesternbrook. I appreciate that very much. Thank you for your positive comments especially that you enjoyed being in the tents and thereby being so close to nature. Hardly anybody mentiones the new lapa but you did and as this is very new and... More 

Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

One day was probably enough time spent here, but they do offer several activities that could maybe take a couple days to complete if you did them all. Pool was too cold to swim in but that is no fault of the owner's because of the weather this time of year. Nice meal in the dinning room of the old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johann V, Owner at Duesternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Kory, Thank you for taking the time to review this "older" place. Actually your comment is very positive except the word "older". Seeing the original farm was build 1908 some things are older you are correct but often "older" has also its charm and atmosphere like the conversation at dinner. People in all walks of life meet here and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Did Scotmac stay in same place? Chalet had windows and was not dark.Lovely bed, towels and lav/shower. Normal "metal gate" before main door in case hot and wanted to sleep with door open so animals couldn't get in overnight. Baboons are fact of Africa - they fed early pm around dam and went until same time next day. Any drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johann V, Owner at Duesternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Jcktan, Thank you for taking your time to comment on Dusternbrook Hippo Chalet. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you saw so many different species of game at the Chalet, that is quite amazing. It seems for game viewing the Hippo Chalet is a good place to stay although it is very basic. I... More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

duesternbrook has a nice description pn its website, therefore we planned to stay there for some few nights instead of going back to windhoek. the facility looks very old and run-down. specially in the dry-season you would have a aircondition in your room, for this price not expected too much. dinner is served once, if somebody at this time feels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johann V, Owner at Duesternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Manual B, Thank you taking time to review Duesternbrook. Sorry to hear that you feel we are overpriced, although in Februar we have low season prices and the exchange rate is very much to your advantage. It seems to me also that you misunderstood the concept of a guestfarm. A guestfarm is NOT a lodge NOR a country hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question