We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crossroads Hotel

Hotel website
Mchinji Roundabout | Crossroads Complex, PO Box X1, Lilongwe, Malawi
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Crossroads Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    43
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
1
4
4
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would liken the hotel to an airport waiting lounge - absolutly no ambiance. I only stayed there because my employer insisted. The breakfast and service are mediocre. The bedrooms however are OK with a comfortable (but rather short) double bed, functioning bathroom and not noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ken C, Thank you for staying at Crossroads hotel during your previous visit in Lilongwe. We are glad to have your review regarding the comfortable and quietness of your room. I trust your employer regarded us as the best in Lilongwe. However, I must apologize that the ambiance was not at your pace and this diminish your expectation for... More 

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While normally I would consider this an average hotel, in the context of Malawi this was an oasis. Malawi is amazing, but not a destination if you like western comforts. The staff are generally very helpful and friendly, although front counter staff aren't as friendly as most Malawians or indeed as friendly and helpful as the rest of the staff.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jonathan, Thank you for choosing Crossroads Hotel as your destination of choice in Lilongwe. Whiles we glad most of the staffs were friendly, we will also like to apologies for the unprofessional behaviors displayed by the front office personnel. However, our guest’s comfort is always our priority. Your priceless feedback during your stay with us is the only... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Crossroads Hotel and staff have been phenomenal. They were so helpful and kind in every way possible. The facilities were great with clean rooms and a lovely little pool and sunning area. The breakfast was excellent. The front office was extremely helpful. Rohit Belwal, the night auditor, was particularly helpful and kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Keller, Thank you for choosing Crossroads Hotel as your destination of choice in Lilongwe. We at the hotel, are glad to have hosted you as well as thrilled to know you had a wonderful time and well taken care of by the employees at the Crossroads Hotel. Be assured your great feedback will be communicated to the team.... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Close to the financial hub. They is a super market just outside the complex. Apart from the hotel restaurant, there is a pizza and burger center just outside the hotel. Hotel restaurant serves Indian and Pakistani food. Staffs are cordial but that's typical Malawian - well behaved, down to earth, honest and always ready to help. Rooms could have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Orindom, Thank you for your priceless review. We are delighted to hear that our services and facilities met your expectations. Your comments are the true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met your expectations. At the Crossroads Hotel, We strive at hospitality beyond expectation. Be assured your suggestions will be communicated to the right department... More 

Livingstone, Zambia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Excellent Place to live in while in Malawi. When you visit Malawi plan your stay at Crossroads Hotel and you will not regret. As for me, there is no other that I will always stop at whenever I'm in Lilongwe Malawi.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your priceless review. We are delighted to hear that our services and facilities were at your pace during your stay with us. Your complements are the true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met your expectations. As Crossroads hotel team, we do not only strive for excellence but also impeccable... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I have been at Cross Road for seven days for a workshop. The Conference were ideal for us and the tea breaks snacks were more than enough. The Deluxe room was excellent. The meals were good and the staff were friendly and courteous. The only disappointment is my tea cup being washed in the bathroom. My suggestion is that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David Njovu, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't experience the Crossroads Hotel for its excellence. We have taken your disappointment positively to improve in our service delivery. It is good to know that we were the idea hotel for your workshop and our facilities met your expectations. We hope that you will... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

My stay at Crossroads was very good. Upon arrival, we were told to wait since we came earlier as some of the rooms were not vacated and ready but still we were accommodated even before check-in time. In fact I liked the soccer channels on TV where I could enjoy watching until midnight. The room was equipped with everything and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, Thank you for your priceless review during your stay with us. Crossroads hotel team is delighted to have met your expectations with our facilities and service standards that made your stay extraordinary. It also splendid to hear that our TV channels complemented your stay and we hope that next time you will remember to bring your swimming costume.... More 

Nairobi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

The hotel is ok, the rooms are quite comfortable- sleep quality was great, satellite TV in the rooms, good shower with shower head (my room also had an option of a bath tub). Internet access in the rooms is not good, signal is quite weak and I had to work from the main lobby to access internet. Other issue is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. This is the only true yardstick we have to measure if we have met your expectations. Our priority is your happiness from check in to the time you leave the hotel. As a Team we are very glad to know we kept up to pace with some of expectations you had for the Hotel. Dear... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Dirty and shabby Breakfast area Poor service It takes an hour to get tea/coffee Arrogant reception staff No wifi internet GYM with substandard Chinese equipment Outsiders having easy access to residents area Overall a horrible and shabby hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Indian Roadie, Thank you for your review. Your priceless feedback during your stay with us is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met your expectations. And your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities where necessary. The Crossroads Hotel Team read your review with a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lilongwe hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Spent two nights at this shabby hotel. Although the staff are cooperative the facility is in dire need of a makeover. The prices charged are not justifiable when one compares the room the breakfast ( limited choices , horrible tasteless coffee etc ) and the general arrangements at the price charged. Shop around and use this hotel only as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CrossroadsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crossroads Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart F. Thank you for choosing Crossroads hotel as your destination of choice in Lilongwe. We would like to let you know that our services can only improve when you leave out comments and therefore we appreciate the time you took to leave a review with regards to your stay. Foremost, The Crossroads Hotel Team would like to apologize... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#5 of 11 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 11 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#3 of 11 in Lilongwe
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
3.4 mi away
Korea Garden Lodge
Korea Garden Lodge
#8 of 11 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#9 of 11 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay