We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Maseru accommodations

Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge

Save
You added Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge to your Saves list
Maseru, Lesotho
Hotel amenities
Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maseru
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (13)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First, you are in Lesotho. Do not expect luxury five star. Pros: Great Location Excellent Mountain Biking Good food Reasonably good accommodations in quaint rooms. Cons: No internet ( maybe a pro ) No electricity during certain hours Alex was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Ramabanta Trading Post for three nights just before Christmas. We found it to be a lovely place, perfectly located for walking the surrounding hills and exploring the village. It's in a beautiful setting on the hillside overlooking the valley and only 2 mins walk into the small village. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive, and Alex,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I spent a day at the Ramabanta Lodge last year. Although the scenery was lovely and Loretta, the lady who checked me in/works at the bar was extremely helpful and attentive, the gentleman who I believe to be the Manager of the lodge was awful and in fact, i believe racist. Our first interaction with him was not a pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jenny T, Owner at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Best wishes for 2015. Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. I am sorry you did not have a good experience at Ramabanta & that you did not like the manager. I have shown your review to him so I am sure he will try by every means to improve his attitude to all guests. I... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

The most incredible views of the Maluti mountains I've ever seen. A short and easy drive from Maseru, this is one of the most peaceful places I've ever been. Service=Great Ambiance=Great Views=Great Accommodation=Great Go out of your way to stay here, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I love Ramabanta area, and no doubt to say that the lodge has an amazing view of the mountain. Sitting in the shade of the big trees in the lodge garden with the fragrant of roses and the sounds of bird singing to read a book is a very relaxing moment for me. However, I'm not so happy with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenny T, Owner at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Ramabanta Trading Post.We did reply via e-mail to confirm your booking but it was returned undelivered as spam even tho' I had sent the reply on your e-mail to us. I am glad you liked the stunning setting. I will certainly discuss the service levels experienced by yourself... More 

Mason, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The view is amazing, trails are exiting to hike, and the food is delicious. The power is only on for a couple of hours at night, but if the electric blanket is on then you'll be plenty warm at night by the time the power turns off. There is horseback riding that gives you an amazing tour of the surrounding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We went for a long weekend and the aim was to relax and just take a breather from life. This is definitely the place to go to! The views are unbelievable and with a nice fireplace we had hours of fun with board-games. We had a mix of self-catering and full board and both was brilliant. The accommodation was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Both Trading Posts are must visit stay at lodges when visiting Lesotho, but if I had to pick the Ramabanta Lodge is my favorite. The lawns are impeccable, the views are breathtaking, the staff is friendly. The rooms are clean and the food is great. There is no WiFi, and power only from 5-10 pm, which I thought I wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Grange Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Trading Post lodge in Ramabanta is set in the midst of the most beautiful scenery there is. Incredible views, lovely accommodations, great food, and friendly & helpful staff. The lodge is its own oasis with a short walk to the village and has several trails to go hiking. Locals are friendly and the views' beauty cannot be justified with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is the place I'd like to spend every December for the rest of my life. Perhaps the prettiest location in all of southern Africa. Sweeping valley views from beautifully landscaped grounds. The rooms are clean and warm; there is always hot water. Only downside is lights out at 10 so bring flashlights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge

Address: Maseru, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Also Known As:
Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge Lesotho/Maseru

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay