We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge

Maseru, Lesotho
Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Alex, the manager of that lodge, has given us really nice detailed routes for mountain biking in the area, it's just great and unspoiled. We did not plan to stop at the beginning and finally ended up camping 2 nights. We recommend this peaceful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenny T, Owner at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

Ramabanta has stunning bike trails to explore & I am glad you had a good experience of awesome rides while camping at the lovely Ramabanta Trading Post . There are lots more for to come & enjoy. Thank you for the review More 

Toledo, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely accommodations, first-rate home cooking and superlative scenery make staying here a superb experience. The site is secluded and wholly safe with an attentive staff. (Be aware that their power comes from a generator that is shut off at 10 PM. It is cold on winter nights, but paraffin heaters are provided ). Lots of off-road bikers(motor and self-propelled) use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenny T, Owner at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, So glad you had a good stay at Ramabanta - a very special place with stunning scenery . It is lovely to welcome friends & guests to the Lodge Thank you for your review More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

This is favourite place to stay in Lesotho. Its remote, but close to the main road and easy to get to. Friendly staff and great home type cooked meals. The scenary is super rad! Not to mention the great mountain biking and at your fingertips. Although there are marked trails, bring a map or do some google earth research. Note... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenny T, Owner at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

The setting at Ramabanta high up overlooking the Makhaleng Valley is very special & everyone who stays wants to get out to explore the area or they are happy to just relax & enjoy the outdoors in the lovely gardens. Thank you for the review More 

Springfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I have been to Ramabanta several times, but this was the first time I stayed. It was wonderful. The renovated lodge is beautiful. The meals were excellent and the staff was most accommodating. This will not be my last visit and stay. Really looking forward to a return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenny T, Owner at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Ramabanta Lodge.The building alterations & improvements are stunning & after the rains, the gardens are lovely ,making this a very special place to visit . I hope we will see you again soon. More 

Ericeira, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

My husband and I were travelling though Lesotho in December 2014 and stopped in at Ramabanta because we´d read really good reviews of the place and because, according to a website that handles their bookings (http://malealeatours.com/ramabanta-trading-post.html) they still had vacancies. We hadn't booked ahead because there seemed, according to the website mentioned above, there was still quite a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenny T, Owner at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. Please can you tell me what dates you wanted to stay in December as that will identify the staff team on duty at that time. We are not directly connected to Malealea Tours on their on-line booking system as they only handle their own lodge on-line. Our bookings done... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

First, you are in Lesotho. Do not expect luxury five star. Pros: Great Location Excellent Mountain Biking Good food Reasonably good accommodations in quaint rooms. Cons: No internet ( maybe a pro ) No electricity during certain hours Alex was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenny T, Guest Relations Manager at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the review of our lovely mountain lodge at Ramabanta. Hopefully we will have internet connectivity & electricity before too long as each month Lesotho is developing the rural areas. I am glad you had a good stay & we look forward to welcoming you again sometime. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We stayed in Ramabanta Trading Post for three nights just before Christmas. We found it to be a lovely place, perfectly located for walking the surrounding hills and exploring the village. It's in a beautiful setting on the hillside overlooking the valley and only 2 mins walk into the small village. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive, and Alex,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I spent a day at the Ramabanta Lodge last year. Although the scenery was lovely and Loretta, the lady who checked me in/works at the bar was extremely helpful and attentive, the gentleman who I believe to be the Manager of the lodge was awful and in fact, i believe racist. Our first interaction with him was not a pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jenny T, Owner at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Best wishes for 2015. Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. I am sorry you did not have a good experience at Ramabanta & that you did not like the manager. I have shown your review to him so I am sure he will try by every means to improve his attitude to all guests. I... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

The most incredible views of the Maluti mountains I've ever seen. A short and easy drive from Maseru, this is one of the most peaceful places I've ever been. Service=Great Ambiance=Great Views=Great Accommodation=Great Go out of your way to stay here, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I love Ramabanta area, and no doubt to say that the lodge has an amazing view of the mountain. Sitting in the shade of the big trees in the lodge garden with the fragrant of roses and the sounds of bird singing to read a book is a very relaxing moment for me. However, I'm not so happy with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenny T, Owner at Ramabanta Trading Post Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Ramabanta Trading Post.We did reply via e-mail to confirm your booking but it was returned undelivered as spam even tho' I had sent the reply on your e-mail to us. I am glad you liked the stunning setting. I will certainly discuss the service levels experienced by yourself... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities