We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charleston Hotel Ghana

17 West Loop Tesano, Accra, Ghana
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Charleston Hotel Ghana
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on basis of good TA reviews and were so disappointed. This is a an African business hotel and is set up for that. So if you are an African looking for a business hotel then great. We came as backpackers looking for a better than hostel place for 1night, well it was better than a hostel but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louloutraveller
Juliana K, Owner at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at Charleston Hotel. Thank you for your review as we do value your opinion. I sincerely apologize that our boutique hotel was not to your satisfaction. Although our facility is located in the heart of Accra, Ghana, our boutique style hotel is structured where it caters to domestic and international guests whether it be... More 

Niedersachsen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best time seems to be a bit past - very clean, that's to mention! Reception could be a little air-conditioned, Restaurant offers more than can be served actually, waiters are very friendly but a little inattentive

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Toutoubra
Juliana K, Owner at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Charleston Hotel as your accommodation of choice and we do thank you for your review! We do value your opinion and we take it as positive feedback in order to continue to provide excellence in service to our existing and new clientele. I do apologize about our air-condition in the reception. Our air-conditions do stay on... More 

Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I actually visited Ghana for two days and i had a prior reservation at Charleston. Since i went to write an exam, it was a very ideal environment for me to study for my exams. The first impression i got was not pleasant though as i met my room quite dusty because i checked - in in the early hours.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Omoyemi
Juliana K, General Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review

Good morning Omoyemi!!! I hope all is well and thank you for choosing Charleston Hotel as your accommodation of choice! Thank you so much for your recent review! We value you as a client and do take your comments seriously as it allows us to ensure we are providing excellence in service and where service needs improvement. I'm glad you... More 

Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

Such kind and pleasant staff.. Regarding the room..I wish the air-condition was positioned differently instead of being directly above the headboard of the bed. Breakfast could be more diverse but it's ok...

Helpful?
Thank AmajaB
Juliana K, General Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review

Good morning and happy new year from Charleston Hotel! Thank you so much for your recent review! We definitely value you as a client and look forward to seeing you soon in 2016! I appreciate you taking time out to rate your stay here with us. We will definitely rectify your concerns as you comments are very important to us.... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

This is the best place to eat any type of food. It's clean, Serene, and value for money. The rooms are also very neat. The staffs are very friendly and and the chef is unique. For people who enjoy Texas grill, that's your destination

Helpful?
Thank caveconsult
Juliana K, General Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review

Good morning and happy new year!!! It's been a while since we've seen you and look forward to having you at Akwaaba Pool Lounge more often!! Thank you for your recent review. Your comments are very important to us and value you as a client. We look forward to providing you tranquility and relaxation while at Charleston Hotel. Charleston Wings... More 

Laveen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

During our long tour we stayed at several hotels, this was the one I would most definitely return to! the hospitality was excellent and the care with our accommodations were taken with sincerity and professionalism! They also had an efficient generator and competent facility staff. We stayed at other sites but the Charleston was first class in every sense.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RevSystah
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

I stayed at the Charleston Hotel for only a night on the recommendation of a friend who enjoyed her stay there. Unfortunately my experience was average at best. When we arrived the power was on but during the check in there was a power glitch that was not fixed until the morning. I was informed that while they did have... More 

Helpful?
Thank ExploreOurUniverse
Juliana K, Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to send us a review . We treasure our customers views as that is the only way to grow as a business and better cater for our guest. I do apologise that you had a bad experience ...power glitch .We do have a very powerful back up generator and we have pride ourselves in providing... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

If you are looking for a place to stay, where you feel at home yet get the benefits of staying in Accra, you have to choose the Charleston. ALL of the staff were incredible, wonderful and really really nice. The food was good too. I loved it and it will now be my go to place whenever I'm in Accra.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fatu143
Juliana K, Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review

Thank you!!! It was a real pleasure serving you and your team ...You taking time out to give us a review is greatly appreciated. Glad you made it back home safe!!! More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Had an amazing stay at the Charleston. The staff is incredible, service at all levels great! Couldn't have asked for better. The rooms are spacious, clean and well kept. The conference room and dining were the same. The staff at all levels are friendly, customer oriented and professional. We had a great day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ali579
Juliana K, Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review

It 's great to know you felt at home here . Thank you for your review and hope to see you here in the future . More 

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

I had the pleasure of taking my ASU Fulbright group to Ghana for a month this July, and we began our stay at the Charleston. The management and staff made our stay amazing. Most of the 12 teachers had never been to Africa and Ghana was the model country for them to begin their exploration. Juliana and Charles Konadu have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DukuAnokye
Juliana K, Manager at Charleston Hotel Ghana, responded to this review

Nana thank you so much for your review . It is greatly appreciated. We enjoyed our group also and it was a great pleasure serving you . Glad to know our efforts were appreciated!!! Hope to see you all again...Thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
4.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
7.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#2 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
5.6 mi away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#25 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
3.7 mi away
Osdahouse Home Lodge
Osdahouse Home Lodge
#3 of 183 in Accra
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay