We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 87 Accra hotels

Villa Monticello

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 1A Mankata Avenue Link | Airport Residential Area, Accra, Ghana
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Villa Monticello to your Saves list
Villa Monticello
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
89%
Ranked #1 of 87 hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Angela C Paris, France
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
6
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has less than 20 suites, and each of them is decorated differently following a theme (Soho, Gold Coast, etc.). Rooms are lovely, and very spacious. Wifi works relatively well! The hotel is calm and comfortable; the staff is friendly. But the best point is... the food! I tried several of the restaurant's dishes (for breakfast, lunch and dinner),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Angela C, Its always a pleasure hosting your team here, many thanks for your continued support and for taking time to review your stay with us. We are working on upgrading our internet service hopefully on your next trip it will be 'Great".. We all look forward to seeing you here again. Best Regards, Charles More

Israel
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed in Villa Monticello for a week on a business trip, and enjoyed every minute. The suite - it would be an insult to call it a room - is spacious, clean and well equipped, including an espresso machine, which is a life saver for me :) Food is good and very tasty, though pricey. Cons: 1 - The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Guy_Agga, Many thanks for choosing to stay at Villa Monticello and for such great review. We take great concern with your comfort and will closely look at your cons and implement necessary changes. Villa Monticello team hopes to have the opportunity to host you again next time you are in Accra, Thank you once again for your continued support,... More

Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Once Jehoshaphat, the hotel chauffeur, drove me through the hotel's automatic gates I knew I was in for a treat. The best thing about Villa Monticello? The rooms are actually as great as they appear on the website, I dare say even better. Once I was shown the Provence suite I was completely blown away. The decor was luxurious without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Monsieuruz, Thanks a lot for taking time to review our Property. We are very sorry for the few flaws that you experienced while here while at the same time grateful for your mentioning them, that way we can ensure you future stay as well as other guests will be a much better experience. Sorry we didn't get a chance... More

Tacoma, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here for a week in January 2014 and it was fantastic. I looked at staying at some of the other hotels in Accra; Holiday Inn, African Regent and the Movenpick (who wouldn't even email me back about availability), but decided on Villa Monticello because they were so responsive and easy to work with (Anita was amazing). The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Jon S, It was a pleasure hosting you for the week you were in Accra, it was very unfortunate we were rather full during that period we would have loved to upgrade you for more nights. As much as we try and would love to keep a calm environment, unfortunately we cant always control how loud visitors to the... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel whilst on business in Accra. It's a converted home and as such still retains that feeling, this is added to by the wonderfully efficient and friendly staff. I felt that I knew most of them by the end of my stay and thoroughly enjoyed myself. The food was excellently... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca D, Many thanks for a lovely review, and your endorsement of services and security at the hotel. It is encouraging especially for individual female travelers. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you call on us when next you are in town. My Best Regards, Charles More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with 2 colleagues on a recent business trip. Having been warned about the basic standards in some Accra hotels (notably the Golden Tulip), I was a little wary. What a pleasant surprise this hotel turned out to be. The rooms were clean and comfortable with each one having a different theme. Great care was obviously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Ramack, I would like to thank you reviewing our Hotel and for choosing to stay with us when were in Accra, We do value you constructive views and will keep on improving ourselves. Unfortunately because we have just two upper floors we may not be installing a lift in the near future, we will however try to come up... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Well located close to the airport and some of Accra's better restaurants. Getting in and out of town can take a long time due to traffic. Also convenient to have a small super market across the road for any items you may require during your stay. It is a very nice hotel and ideal if you do not enjoy the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear BigWillyStyle, Many thanks for your great review, we cherish your continued custom and will always endeavor to heed and action your advice. We look forward to seeing you again at Villa Monticello, Best regards from the team and myself, Charles More

Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in that Hotel who seems to be a night club more than an hotel, couldnt really rest, callingbthe reception to get the music volume lower, was useless and not considered, obviously not really relaxing. Food and drinks on the high side. It is a pity as the Hotel is well located. Be advised.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Mr Willam M, I'm sorry to note that your stay with us was not as pleasing as you would have wanted. our sincere apologies for that. It was rather unfortunate that we had a few events hosted at the Hotel over the festive season but its also part of giving back to our Corporate community. We did host a... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I came to Accra for a very short stay, arriving very early and leaving very late. The out of business hours was extremely nice and effective. More importantly, when a mistake happened on my bill they immediately offered to correct it. Always a good sign in any hotel, as it shows that they care about making their customers happy. Very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear PPMAMVM, Thank you for taking time once again to review our hotel. I am glad you could see the results in the improved service standard. We can only be thankful to constructive reviews like yours, we have taken particular care in improving the wine selection after your last review. Hopefully you can join us in tasting our selection on... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here with husband for 10 nights- we were impressed from the moment we entered the door- very friendly staff who were consistent with level of service- Anita in particular was kind and very helpful. Aqua Verde Room was beautiful and was in excellent condition, included current technology and interior design. Room was cleaned daily to excellent standard. Probably the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CG_Meares, General Manager at Villa Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Bm-Kuffuor, It was a great pleasure having you and your husband around, We shall surely improve on the meals as you have mentioned. Due to the nature of the majority of our patrons we do offer only a few popular African dishes. We do however have the African feast on weekends when we have increased local patrons. For other... More

Been to Villa Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monticello

Also Known As:
Villa Monticello Hotel Accra
Villa Monticello Hotel
Address: No 1A Mankata Avenue Link | Airport Residential Area, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Accra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#2 Family Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Monticello 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monticello boutique hotel is a luxury boutique hotel situated in one of the most exclusive areas in Accra. Conveniently located to Kotoka International Airport and in easy walking distance to one of Accra’s exclusive shopping areas. There are 14 uniquely designed suites, each offering a luxurious personal touch and stylish elegance plus a fitness room with state-of-the-art facilities overlooking the outdoor swimming pool and The Terrace Cafe. Villa Monticello offers a Free Shuttle Service, within a 5km radius and Free Airport Meet and Greet.Villa Monticello has been awarded with a TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence. This prestigious award, places us in the top-performing 10% of all businesses worldwide on TripAdvisor and is given to businesses that consistently earn high ratings from TripAdvisor travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Villa Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.