We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 89 Accra hotels

The African Regent Hotel

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT6143, Accra, Ghana
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The African Regent Hotel to your Saves list
The African Regent Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
Ranked #7 of 89 hotels in Accra
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Deep-portal Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana
  • Overview
  • Reviews (160)
  • Photos (65)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    76
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
12
13
9
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the opportunity to stay here for some days and I totally loved the place. The food was superb. A lot of variety and plenty options to choose from. The rooms were neat and spacious. Very clean bathrooms too. I totally enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not too far from Kotoka international airport. The African Regent Hotel is situated in a busy area. Across from the hotel, is a shopping mall with a cinema and food court, with a variety of fast food and restaurants? The hotel itself has a large reception area with a local African décor. The Staff are generally very friendly and helpful,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location for the airport. I stayed here only one night between flights. Very friendly staff as Ghanians are anyway. Nice bar and pool area. Small but functioning gym Nicely appointed rooms. Would not hesitate to choose to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its location close to the airport is a plus, the reception staff friendly and check in/out was quick. The room I was given had no in room safe and the water was brown coming out of the taps not a good start, I was swiftly moved. The place once your away from the reception needs a good make over, can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

A short drive from the international airport, the hotel is situated in a lively location, however entering the hotel reception area presents a calm away from the hustle and bustle of Accra. Due to the popularity of the hotel, the often heard gripe about having to wait for your room is a valid one, but the hotel staff soon swing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TH D, It was a pleasure reading your review of our property and of Accra. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments with us. On less busy days check-in is usually a breeze. It is our utmost quest to make this the standard even on busy days. Nonetheless, we are glad that we succeeded in making your wait... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is my 3rd time at the African Regent and I'm definitely coming back. Was a pleasant surprise when the Guest Relations officer called me by name and offered a chilled jug of fresh Coconut juice on the house as she remembered that it had been my previous request. That made it real. Loved every bit of my stay. Great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Rosie P, Thank you for your fantastic review; it was a delight to read and share with our team especially guest relations. We, as a team, take great pride in providing the best experience for all of our guests and it is always our pleasure to know when that happens. Thank you for your continued support. We look forward... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel but badly managed. Rooms are nice and clean, general facilities are good however they are badly kept. On arrival I had to wait for nearly 3 hours to get my room, the reception staff couldn't care less and just said I had to wait. Talking to other guest I find out that this happens everyday because they overbook... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JL42601, Thank you for making The African Regent Hotel your preferred hotel during your recent visit to Accra. A culture of maintenance is the basis of our daily practices and activities. We are disappointed to read that this did not shine through and that we did not meet your expectations. Check-in is usually fast and incident free. Overbooking of... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Overall experience with this hotel was good. Food was acceptable. It will be much better if the AC will work in corridors too. The hotel reception staff seem to change all the time so be sure once you agree on something, you have a proof or the manager will know. Good hotel for a short stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter S, Thank you for choosing to stay at The African Regent Hotel during your recent visit to Accra. We appreciate your feedback as we always seek to improve guest experience. Our 24 hour front desk has two staff posted at all times who run three shifts in a day. Systems are however in place to ensure adequate relay... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Have just stayed at the African Regent for a business trip. Check in was painfully slow. One of the two lifts were out of order. Got to my room and it was painfully hot. Played with the air conditioning unit with no success. Phoned down for assistance but no one came to investigate, so I gave up in the end.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dremboy, Thank you for choosing to stay at The African Regent Hotel during your recent visit to Accra. We seek to provide an ultimate guest experience at The African Regent and we are disappointed to learn that was not achieved during your stay. We are currently in the process of changing our lifts and we apologise for any inconvenience... More

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just stayed at this hotel one night before moving to another hotel in Accra and wish we had stayed here longer instead. The rooms were very large and comfortable and the hotel was filled with a pleasant African ambience, rather than feeling like a big hotel anywhere in the world. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We only had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian D, We appreciate the time taken to share your recent stay at The African Regent with other seasoned travelers. Our African ambiance and décor is indeed one of the many factors that sets us apart from other hotels in Ghana and even around the world. We are glad to know that we were able to meet your expectations... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The African Regent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The African Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Address: 237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT6143, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Accra #6 Business Hotel in Accra
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed décor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialise. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
109

See which rooms travelers prefer