We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The African Regent Hotel

#7 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT6143, Accra, Ghana
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The African Regent Hotel
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added The African Regent Hotel to your Saves list

At a glance

72%
Positive reviews?
KEY AMENITIES
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Restaurant
See all

HOTEL PHOTOS

The African Regent Hotel
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Rate and write a review
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      52
      97
      41
      15
      3
    See reviews for
    14
    17
    10
    140
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      4 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4 of 5 stars
    • Value
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • French first
    • German first
    • Italian first
    • Japanese first
    • Spanish first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (208)
    • Mar-May only
      (59)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (55)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (54)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (40)
    All months
    Ballycastle, Ireland
    Level Contributor
    45 reviews
    24 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    After a very long day travelling and arriving at night it was a pleasure to find this oasis in the middle of the heat and bustle that is Accra. Welcoming staff on hand with a cool drink at check in and a code for the free wifi (which worked everywhere). The room was cool and air conditioned. Spotlessly clean and... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Sailor1714, Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments about our hotel. We are so glad to hear that our team made the difference and that our services met your expectations!Your feedback is an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each guest’s stay memorable. We have relayed your feedback to our entire... More 

    Santa Monica, California
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    This hotel has a lot of charm and African motif to make you feel like it is a 3-4 star hotel but for the price and lack of amenities i rate it only as 4 star and not worth the high prices. If you are looking for a vacation place it is wonderful but for business there are a few... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Eric M We would like to thank you for such a constructive and objective review of our property. We sincerely apologize for the lapses you experienced during your stay with us and have started a process of putting in place measures to avoid such future occurrences.Our IT team has started a process of reviewing our log-in systems in order... More 

    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Level Contributor
    64 reviews
    22 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    I stayed at the African Regent for 7 nights and I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located close to the mall, had complimentary wifi and a gym. The bars have an extensive food and drinks menu, I particularly enjoyed the 'Philly cheese steak'. The staff is helpful and I managed to pick up great art pieces from the gallery... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Lungi05 Thank you for your positive comments. At the African Regent we work hard to offer good food, friendly and efficient service. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our services. We are sorry about the few hiccups you experienced.We endeavor to continually improve on our services to enable us offer exceptional service experience. We want to assure you... More 

    Loughborough, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    27 reviews
    13 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

    After the disaster that was Ange Hill Hotel I was moved to this hotel for my time in Accra. Can't complain, very swish by Accra standards, good internet ( though you have to log in every time an unnecessary pain). Restaurant too expensive but wide ranging room or bar menu not too bad. Beds really comfortable. Close to airport with... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Hello Mark V Thank you very much for taking time to tell other travelers around the world about our property. We are glad you got some value for your stay with us and no doubt enjoyed our services and facilities. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Accra. Best regards. More 

    Kabul
    Level Contributor
    10 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

    After trying many hotels in Accra this has been our favorite. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, pool area is really nice. Service was very good and the buffet breakfasts were abundant in good food. We would definitely recommend it. Price, well, expensive compared to other countries but normal in Ghana.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Allan P Many thanks for choosing to stay with us. Your review reveals you no doubt enjoyed your stay and we would like to let you know we very much appreciate your feedback. It will be a pleasant honour to have you back here. Regards More 

    London, England, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    10 reviews
    9 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

    Good facilities but the service is slow. internet is poor and needs constant reconnecting. Gym needs supervision and cleaning. Comfortable and good rooms. Service staff is polite and forthcoming but need support from Management.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Ajay D Thank you for reviewing us and also giving us useful feedback. Kindly accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had with us. Due to frequent hacking and irregular downloads; our internet service has been programmed such that when usage is left idle there is the need for an automatic login. We continually try our possible best to... More 

    National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
    Level Contributor
    18 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

    Have stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, but the facilities etc. were not upto the standards as I was being charged for and according to the reputation it has. Stating with few examples from the time I landed in Accra, the Airport shuttle which was supposed to pick me to the Hotel was not there, I waited there for... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Anuj Aggarwal, Thank you for reviewing us and also giving us useful feedback. However, kindly accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had with us. As a usual practice, we always arrange for our guests to be picked up prior to their arrival. In case of absence or late arrival, our hotel still ensures drivers’ pick-up guests from the... More 

    Sutton, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    3 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

    Top class hotel with beautiful African décor - very clean and fresh, ideal for business meetings and holiday - great location, fantastic food selection and bar, rooms were very spacious and clean and most of all very friendly staff apart from 1 grumpy barman. Its nice to see the owner at the lobby most of the time to meet and... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Nana Yaw B – Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and going the extra mile to ensure our cherished guests are satisfied. We do hope to see you again soon. Regards More 

    2 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

    The hotel staff were friendly, however the overall standards offered at this hotel do not compare with European/US international-standard hotels. In my bedroom (5001), the bed linen was very clean but the windows were not double-glazed nor well sealed from the noise of the adjacent main road. Food quality was poor and I had reservations about food hygiene standards (lack... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 3
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Mark T- Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback about your recent stay here. I would like to say that management really appreciates such complaints as they help us in identifying where our efforts should be concentrated. We are continuously working on improving all our service delivery areas and will certainly look at the problem areas... More 

    Level Contributor
    16 reviews
    6 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

    I usually stayed at the Fiesta Royale or Golden Tulip but this time I switched to the African Regent Hotel. I must say I was impressed and positively surprised. Their Afro-politain style and feel goes well with the Western quality of the facilities and services. The room I got was smaller than in the other hotels but it was big... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Mcb64- Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are so happy that our special services made your stay in Accra convenient and enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again on your next business trip to Ghana. Regards More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    79 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (34)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (2)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (4)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (8)
    Viewed
    Dining (10)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (2)
    Viewed
    View from room (1)
    Viewed
    1:14
    Videos (1)
    Viewed
    Other (6)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (45)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (10)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (11)
    Viewed
    Dining (1)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (3)
    Viewed
    Other (20)
    Check In Check Out
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
    4.6 mi away
    Labadi Beach Hotel
    Labadi Beach Hotel
    #2 of 91 in Accra
    4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
    0.8 mi away
    Villa Monticello
    Villa Monticello
    #1 of 91 in Accra
    4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
    4.8 mi away
    Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    1.3 mi away
    BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel
    1.8 mi away
    Golden Tulip Accra
    Golden Tulip Accra
    #27 of 91 in Accra
    3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
    1.0 mi away
    Fiesta Royale Hotel
    Fiesta Royale Hotel
    #25 of 91 in Accra
    4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Price Your Stay