We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The African Regent Hotel

#6 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT6143, Accra, Ghana
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The African Regent Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The African Regent Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    95
    40
    15
    3
See reviews for
14
17
10
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (205)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After the disaster that was Ange Hill Hotel I was moved to this hotel for my time in Accra. Can't complain, very swish by Accra standards, good internet ( though you have to log in every time an unnecessary pain). Restaurant too expensive but wide ranging room or bar menu not too bad. Beds really comfortable. Close to airport with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mark V Thank you very much for taking time to tell other travelers around the world about our property. We are glad you got some value for your stay with us and no doubt enjoyed our services and facilities. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Accra. Best regards. More 

Kabul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

After trying many hotels in Accra this has been our favorite. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, pool area is really nice. Service was very good and the buffet breakfasts were abundant in good food. We would definitely recommend it. Price, well, expensive compared to other countries but normal in Ghana.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan P Many thanks for choosing to stay with us. Your review reveals you no doubt enjoyed your stay and we would like to let you know we very much appreciate your feedback. It will be a pleasant honour to have you back here. Regards More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Good facilities but the service is slow. internet is poor and needs constant reconnecting. Gym needs supervision and cleaning. Comfortable and good rooms. Service staff is polite and forthcoming but need support from Management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ajay D Thank you for reviewing us and also giving us useful feedback. Kindly accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had with us. Due to frequent hacking and irregular downloads; our internet service has been programmed such that when usage is left idle there is the need for an automatic login. We continually try our possible best to... More 

National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Have stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, but the facilities etc. were not upto the standards as I was being charged for and according to the reputation it has. Stating with few examples from the time I landed in Accra, the Airport shuttle which was supposed to pick me to the Hotel was not there, I waited there for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anuj Aggarwal, Thank you for reviewing us and also giving us useful feedback. However, kindly accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had with us. As a usual practice, we always arrange for our guests to be picked up prior to their arrival. In case of absence or late arrival, our hotel still ensures drivers’ pick-up guests from the... More 

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Top class hotel with beautiful African décor - very clean and fresh, ideal for business meetings and holiday - great location, fantastic food selection and bar, rooms were very spacious and clean and most of all very friendly staff apart from 1 grumpy barman. Its nice to see the owner at the lobby most of the time to meet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nana Yaw B – Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and going the extra mile to ensure our cherished guests are satisfied. We do hope to see you again soon. Regards More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

The hotel staff were friendly, however the overall standards offered at this hotel do not compare with European/US international-standard hotels. In my bedroom (5001), the bed linen was very clean but the windows were not double-glazed nor well sealed from the noise of the adjacent main road. Food quality was poor and I had reservations about food hygiene standards (lack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark T- Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback about your recent stay here. I would like to say that management really appreciates such complaints as they help us in identifying where our efforts should be concentrated. We are continuously working on improving all our service delivery areas and will certainly look at the problem areas... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

I usually stayed at the Fiesta Royale or Golden Tulip but this time I switched to the African Regent Hotel. I must say I was impressed and positively surprised. Their Afro-politain style and feel goes well with the Western quality of the facilities and services. The room I got was smaller than in the other hotels but it was big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mcb64- Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are so happy that our special services made your stay in Accra convenient and enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again on your next business trip to Ghana. Regards More 

Divonne-les-Bains, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

As another reviewer mentioned, there are many hotels in Accra now that could be anywhere in the world so the African Regent is a nice change with of a hotel with a genuine African feel. We were rather spoilt as we had suite which was very nice - roomy, clean - comfortable bed ( one sheet was a little worn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rafiki99-Thank you for completing the feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will... More 

Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

5 minutes from airport and just in front of Accra Mall, African Regent is a very good hotel. The theme is purely local but the standards are world class. Swimming pool, simple bar on the lobby floor, fintess center... They have a good wifi (free for two devices). The rooms have an average size and they are clean and safe.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kanigui Y- It was a pleasure hosting you for the period you were in Accra. I am glad to hear that the team here were great during your stay and would like to assure you of continued quality services as we aim to stay the best. Hope to see you again soon. Best Regards More 

Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Hotels in many west African nations are just expensive and can present a pretty large challenge in value for money. The African Regent is a pretty good alternative at the mid $200 /night range. Places like the Holiday Inn of course look more sleek/modern, but you could just as well be in Omaha Nebraska. This place has just enough of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1mountain – Thank you for reviewing us regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations regards to drink availability. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay