We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Accra accommodations

Pink Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5th Crescent, Asylum Down, Accra, Ghana
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Save Saved
You added Pink Hostel to your Saves list
Pink Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
60%
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty lodging in Accra
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
crawley7 London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (51)
  • Photos (32)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
4
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Close enough to the centre of town, this hostel is good value for money. The staff were polite and helpful (think it depends who you get to an extent), they were accommodating when we arrived very late at night from Tamale. Unfortunately there were no lockers, but the dorm rooms were standard dorm rooms aside from that, and the slightly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very helpful people, who create a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. It’s not a luxury place. But very ok. Location is quite central, so it is easy to discover Accra. Food is nice. Lots of delicious local stuff. A good place to work. WIFI works most of the time (power failures in Accra are very frequent these days, but they have a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm not usually one to write reviews but staying here in the last week of a 3 month trip to Ghana was quite frankly the worst week of the whole experience. The service was DREADFUL. Staff were rude and unhelpful. Ignore everything the website says about breakfast, we had noodles that tasted like dirty dishwater (apparently. I am coeliac so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PinkHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your feedback. Remembering this time we were completely booked along with other hotels in the area that we called to try to find you alternative accommodations so we converted one of our offices to a room for you, which is a room that is typically used as an office. We recognize your frustrations with the... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the pink hostel the first night and the last night of our trip to Ghana. The service was good, and the rooms were clean and air conditioned (coming from Canada, a colder climate, Ghana proved to be very very hot so air conditioning was a blessing!) The breakfast was good also, and the staff were fun and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PinkHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us we always appreciate it and your review and feedback. We all really enjoyed watching the game together also, fun guests means a good time for everyone. Even with the disappointment of the match. We hope to see you in Accra again soon. More

Tamale, Ghana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here while on transit. Location: it's not great. It's a bit of a journey to Osu and I got lost with the taxi drivers trying to find it. Food: breakfast was included and was basic. Room: was clean and had what I needed. Service: everyone was friendly but.... When I arrived I had a booking. I wrote my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PinkHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

we appreciate you choosing Pink Hostel for your stay in Accra. We are in the process of training new staff at the front desk and I think you may have experienced a little bit of our fresh staff here. By the next time you stay with us I am sure they will have no problem finding your room and will... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on the first and last night of our holiday. We arrived late at night to a room that was small and with a dirty bathroom. The water trickled out of the taps. You will have to get a taxi to get anywhere decent to eat. Our final night.'s room was cleaner but the bathroom leaked badly. Very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PinkHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at Pink Hostel. We hope you had a nice holiday in Ghana beyond our leaky faucets. We are working on taking care of these continued issues issues because we understand it is not pleasant for our guests. Our front desk would have been happy to help you with a place to eat that did not... More

Lagos State, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Pink Hostel is the one of the best place you can stay in Accra. Their rooms, environment, Feeding and accommodation is very okay and good. I really enjoyed my stay in Pink Hostel. Next time i come to Ghana, Pink Hostel will be my lodging place. Greetings to the management of Pink Hostel for a job well done.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PinkHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay with us and the great review. We really are trying, and glad to see it is recognized. We hope to see you again soon in Accra. Safe travels. More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Pink Hostel was great - airport run was as advertised, food was good (breakfast adequate), rooms were clean and well maintained. Internet worked, which was a blessing. My group was well taken care of, even though we had to change rooms from one night to the next (due to our group size changing).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PinkHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us. We love groups and the energy they bring, we are very sorry though for the changes that needed to happen around this. If we have a standard number to work across with the set number of days we can usually keep you in one spot and help you to feel comfortable. We hope... More

Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed in a dorm room - it was clean, the shower was great and the breakfast was great, very substantial. The staff were friendly and helpful. I was travelling from Burkina, and the hostel was close to the bus station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PinkHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for staying with us while making your long trip from Burkina Faso. We always love seeing volunteers and Peace Corps Volunteers. Look us up again on your way back through Accra or if you have other friends checking Ghana out. It was fun watching the Ghana vs US football match with you. Hope to see you again. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

As a student, I've done my fair share of traveling around the northern and eastern regions of Ghana. The Pink Hostel is definitely top 3 on my list of hostel accommodations. I've become closely acquainted with room temperature bucket showers over the past 3 months so you can imagine my awe when I discovered the hostel not only had running... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PinkHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. The comparison to other hotels in the region is very key here and we appreciate it. When Pink is the only place you visit in the region or Accra, or Ghana value can be hard to see, but as soon as you look around it is easier to see the value. Thank you for... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pink Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Hostel

Address: 5th Crescent, Asylum Down, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pink Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Accra with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Akwabaa! Welcome to Ghana, welcome to Pink Hostel International. Pink Hostel is an International Student Hostel, the first of its kind in Ghana. The unique Pink Hostel is a member of the International Youth Hostel Association and is an ideal first stop for anyone visiting Ghana. Located in a peaceful, residential area within the heart of Accra, with a variety of accommodation options to suit students and volunteers, individuals and groups, those working in Ghana or families on vacation, Pink Hostel provides a safe and relaxing environment and a perfect introduction to the country. Student groups, NGO workers, travelers and tourists, particularly those visiting Africa for the first time, enjoy our secure and welcoming atmosphere. The vision of the hostel is to create a hallmark of quality service, offering a variety of accommodation options and providing good quality, fresh food at affordable prices. We hope you enjoy your stay at Pink Hostel.ABOUT PINK HOSTELOur LocationSituated in the tranquil, residential neighbourhood of Asylum Down, Pink Hostel is set in a prime location in Accra. We are ideally located in a relaxing and peaceful area, away from the continuous activity and hubbub of the capital, but central enough that we are within walking distance of many attractions in Accra and only a short drive from the vibrant, buzzing centre with all its sights and amenities. Guests at Pink Hostel can safely walk around the neighbourhood, and may visit attractions such as the National Museum, Kwame Nkrumah Circle and Adabraka Market on foot. From immediately outside the hostel it easy to pick up a taxi, from where it is only a short drive to sights such as Independence Square and the Makola Market and amenities in the lively Oxford Street in Osu. Pink Hostel is a mere 15 minute drive from Kotoka International airport and is within easy reach of bus stations and transport hubs for travel around the country. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pink Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer