We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Addis Ababa

Hotel website
Menelik II Avenue, Addis Ababa 1164, Ethiopia
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Addis Ababa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Addis Ababa
Add Photo Write a Review

702 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    81
    244
    236
    107
    34
See reviews for
50
52
93
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (702)
  • Mar-May only
    (202)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (198)
All months
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The property itself is quite large and houses a number of shops and a decent fitness center. The rooms are nice enough, but a bit dated. I think management knows that there aren't a lot of other options in Addis so they seem to not care much about customer service. The food quality is pathetic and way over priced. There's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For Addis, this is is one of the best hotels. It is dated, sure, but it is still very fancy and has all the amenities you could possibly want. I spent 2 nights here at the end of my Ethiopia trip, after roughing (more or less) it the rest of the time, so i was very appreciative of all of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haakon G, General Manager at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review

Dear drnorth, Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa, Thank you for complementing on our staff, room, hotel location and pool area. I have personally shared your comments with our team members. I am truly sorry to know that your airport pick up experience was disappointing. Thank you for your candid feedback. Direct guest feedback is always highly appreciated and gives us... More 

Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Out of three decent hotel in Addis, Hilton is OK, not more than that. Too expensive for its level of design. Needs refurbishment. The atmosphire is nice. itnernet works from time to time... The food was fine, no stomach issues this time. The Business Launch is too small and the food is basic.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haakon G, General Manager at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review

Dear Tanya Y, Thank you for your candid feedback. Direct guest feedback is always highly appreciated and gives us a great insight into our guests experience in our hotel. We have duly noted your comments about age of the hotel, I am happy to state that we are currently working with various stakeholders on renovation of the hotel and the... More 

Hurghada, Egypt
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Food is low quality and poor . the internet service is not stable and three times the service was down during my stay. I arrived early 16 July they account that no shows for 15 July and get no Hhonor points for that night?! Next visit I will consider the above and chose another hotel

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haakon G, General Manager at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review

Dear Joseph L, Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa, Thank you for your candid feedback. Direct guest feedback is always highly appreciated and gives us a great insight into our guests experience in our hotel. I truly am sorry for the internet connection interruption occurred due to technical failure from the service providers and for the disappointment the HHonor no-show policy... More 

Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The facility was beautiful and well run. The staff went out of their way to make sure that my many visits here went very well. They have a excellent exercise facility and tennis courts. I was very pleased with the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haakon G, General Manager at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review

Dear Conrad L, Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa, Thank you for your candid feedback. Direct guest feedback is always highly appreciated and gives us a great insight into our guests experience in our hotel. I am pleased to know your delight with the tennis court and other hotel facilities. Thank you for complimenting on our team members as well. I... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay at the Hilton Addis for a week in June with my family, which includes a 4yr old and a baby who just turned one. The staff at this Hilton is the best I have ever encountered at any hotel. They greet me by name, they recognize me and they remember my past stays. One day, I mentioned to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hsolomon13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review

Dear ValeriaBertacco, Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa, Thank you for your candid feedback. Direct guest feedback is always highly appreciated and gives us a great insight into our guests experience in our hotel. I am pleased to know your delight with service and your son’s birthday surprise. At Hilton Addis Ababa, we aspire to provide the best in class services... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you Hilton Team. I have never felt more welcome than in the Hilton Addis. The team really went over the top in welcoming me. I might add that i am a Diamond HHonors member, but compared to any Hilton in the US, this was 10star service. Sure, the Hilton is not the newest place in town and age is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hsolomon13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review

Dear Florian W, Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa, Thank you for your candid feedback. Direct guest feedback is always highly appreciated and gives us a great insight into our guests experience in our hotel. Thank you for complimenting on our team members. I have personally shared your comments with all. At Hilton Addis Ababa, we aspire to provide the best... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My two young adult daughters and me stayed at the Hilton for a week at the beginning of June 2015. We enjoyed our stay and would come back to this hotel without hesitation. At the top of the positive points about this hotel is the staff. They were genuinely polite, helpful, at times going beyond what you would expect in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hsolomon13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review

Dear Louise H, Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa, Thank you for your candid feedback. Direct guest feedback is always highly appreciated and gives us a great insight into our guests experience in our hotel. Thank you for complimenting on our staff. I have personally shared your comments with our team; your commendation has been recited to all team members. At... More 

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Addis Ababa Hilton is not a shiny new hotel. However it is comfortable, reliable and we'll managed, despite being somewhat worn, having been open since before Haile Selassie, Ethiopia's 225th and last emperor, was overthrown by the Marxist dictator Mengistu Haile Mariam in 1974. The hotel has extensive grounds, with pools and tennis courts. There is a pleasant bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hsolomon13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review

Dear HCSACT, Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa, Thank you for your candid feedback. Direct guest feedback is always highly appreciated and gives us a great insight into our guests experience in our hotel. Thank you for stating the summery of our hotel background history. We really appreciate your compliment on the grounds, tennis court, bar and executive floor rooms as... More 

Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, I will focus in this review on the hotel itself and rate the restaurant separately. The room was excellent with a comfortable bed, gorgeous flowers, fresh fruit, amazing toiletries and a very reasonable mini bar. I was on the executive floor and able to use the executive lounge which is also well appointed. Great snacks, breakfast, drinks, and enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hsolomon13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review

Dear Jillista, Greetings from Hilton Addis, Thank you for your candid feedback. Direct guest feedback is always highly appreciated and gives us a great insight into our guests experience in our hotel. I am pleased to know your delight with the room, bed, amenities, minibar, executive lounge and food. We thank you for complimenting on the staff as well. At... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

221 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (155)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay