We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bole Ambassador Hotel

Bole Road | 400 meters from Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Bole Ambassador Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my second trip to Ethiopia and second time I stayed in this hotel. Staff is really friendly and rooms are decent . Lot of improvement possibility in room and specially internet but at this price its a catch... I don't understand why hotels in Addis are so expensive but it solved my purpose and the staff and a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank manogya26
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Bole Ambassador Hotel is certainly not to be classified with 'Top End' international franchised hotels. It doesn't pretend to be in that league. Its an Ethiopian hotel and by local standards it's quite good. For the short-visit traveller or transit passenger the hotel is ideally located within a 5 minute drive from Bole International Airport. (As you exit from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roderick J
manaye2015, Marketing Manager at Bole Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear you mention of the details that truly make the Ambassador Hotel exclusive. And we are sorry for the plumbing, it is a technical problem but in your next trip you will see a huge progress. Thank you once again, for recommending us we look forward... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here many times. Located about 5 minutes drive from the airport. Good location. There is a desk inside international terminal 2 which can offer you free shuttle service if you havent prearranged that. Will have to call the hotel if you arrive to terminal 1 domestic. Reception is usually busy and slow but otherwise polite and helpful. Wifi signal... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lastplaceintheworld
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

The hotel is in a nice location and near the airport. The hotel provides free shuttle to and from the airport. The staff is excellent. Very helpful and polite. The internet is free and very good, The room was clean with comfortable bed. Apart from standard hotel rooms and suites, they also have apartments complete with cooker, fridge and cabinets.... More 

Helpful?
Thank alexadedeji
manaye2015, Marketing Manager at Bole Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear our valuable Guest I would like to thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at Ambassador Hotel We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service as well as the facilities available at the hotel. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward... More 

Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

This was a transit accommodation (courtesy of Ethiopian Airlines for a long haul trip) where we passed the night after a tiresome flight. Drive was just a few minutes from the Airport, quite appropriate for one in need of rest. The staff were quite friendly, with obvious communicative difficulty speaking in English. Meals (dinner and breakfast) were fair enough while... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sam m
manaye2015, Marketing Manager at Bole Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We have however noted your comments and would like to apologize for all the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay. Please be assured that we take all our guest comments to be of extreme importance to us hence, your constructive feedback has been shared with... More 

Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Transit accommodation provided by Ethiopian airline. I found the staff friendly and helpful but the hotel itself is old, needs proper cleaning, the hotel carpet was dirty, shower was not clean, the room was cold. The hotel needs major maintenance.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
manaye2015, Marketing Manager at Bole Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your sincere review on trip advisor towards our hotel. Your comments will help us improve our performances and will give us a heads up to avoid similar situations from happening in the future. I truly apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay at our hotel. And we are glad that you mention about our staff.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile

Stopped here on transit 24 hour due to schedule change by Ethiopian was givin another hotel but that was changed due to hotel been full we were told we got the best hotel travelled in from airport to see the hotel knew by first look was going to be long 24 hours receptionist gave us keys for 4th floor b... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natnu
manaye2015, Marketing Manager at Bole Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the difficulties and inconvenience has caused to your family. Although we continually strive for excellence, there are times when our guests may experience less than acceptable service or perceived value for their money. We accept everything you said. We guarantee that we... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Ok hotel, conveniently located near the airport. There are some nice restaurants and coffee places on walking distance. Wifi working good! Some rooms are a bit noisy, service at points premature, but all together it s a good deal

Helpful?
Thank Karin1093
manaye2015, Marketing Manager at Bole Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear happy Guest, We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel services and facilities. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to call us or visit us. With hospitality regards, Manaye Tesfaye Marketing Manager More 

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

In most African capitals, traffic is something that you cannot avoid to face. But this hotel is only 5 minutes away from the Bole International Airport in Addis Ababa--the Capital City of Africa. It can even be said that hotel is located within a walking distance from the airport. Nevertheless, the hotel was quite quiet and its room was large... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaehoon L
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

The hotel is located very close to the airport, however, the staff and the condition of the room is far from what I would call a civilized living. The staff are unfriendly and the term customer service is non-existent in their vocabulary. The maid would walk in the shower while you are still taking a shower. The credit card machine... More 

Helpful?
Thank RPCalifornia
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#19 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friendship International Hotel
Friendship International Hotel
#22 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#12 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay