We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harmony Hotel

Hotel website
Bole Medhanialem, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harmony Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Harmony Hotel
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    84
    48
    21
    12
See reviews for
16
16
30
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (200)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Oslo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Harmony hotel lies 2 km from Bole Airport, in the busy, growing Bole area, with numerous night Clubs, cincema, shops and restaurants. The hotel has an indoor swimming pool, and rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast is copious. Wifi in the room did not work while we were there, but that is probably due to causes outside the hotel's responsibility.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne S, Thank you for your positive comment and for recommending us to other potential customers. We are happy to know that you had a good stay at our hotel and have received your belongings from our lost and found department. We hope to see you during your next visit to Ethiopia. Hospitality regards, Eyouel Ashagre Room Division Manager... More 

Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I decided to title this "You'll Sort it Out" because the whole country sees to work that way. From the airline to the hotel. You land without a clue what will happen next. No advice on procedure for customs and immigration or what food you are about to be served. Good luck on the name of the street you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Harmony Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would also like to apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay at our hotel. We have already informed the concerned departments and they are working towards fixing all issues mentioned in your comments. Please do let us know if there... More 

Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was only staying at the Harmony Hotel for a few hours in between flights, so I cannot comment on food or leisure facilities. However, the airport pick up was 50 minutes late and even with this my room was not ready when I arrived - despite it being 10.30 at night. The alarm in the room randomly decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gill K, We would like to thank you for taking your precious time to provide us with your feedback and for making Harmony your choice on your visit to Addis. Guest feedbacks like yours help us reach the urge of flawlessness. It sounds as though we did not meet your expectations Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Harmony and it had some major flaws. At first when I came in I was booked into a truly awful 50s looking room with dirty carpets, a bathroom with a shower curtain too short for the bath/shower and broken lights. I had to stay there during my first night as the hotel was fully booked. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We would like to thank you for taking your time to provide us with your positive feedback on trip advisor and for making Harmony your hotel of choice on your visit to Addis. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problem regarding the Wi-Fi and related service issues ,... More 

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Harmony Hotel represents the worst in Ethiopian hospitality. The seemingly unsupervised staff appease their wounded egos by being as silly and spiteful as they can get away with. Their "internalized oppression" prevents them from taking out their anger on whites, but if you're a foreign black (especially American or English) beware. They will do everything they can to try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Veganwriter, Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, and thank you for choosing Harmony Hotel. It is always my pleasure to receive feedbacks from our guests. Sorry that you felt that way but I am sure our staffs don’t discriminate whether black or white. We have zero tolerance for racism.... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for 5 weeks and found the service and standard to be very good. I had a room on the 7th floor, (a suite) which was large, quite and well maintained. The staff are [particularly attentive and very helpful. They recommended a driver for the duration of my stay (Mr. Abigeaf Mersic, whi was punctual, cautious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Warrens, We would like to thank you for taking your precious time to provide us with your detail feedback and for making Harmony your best choice on your visit to Addis. It is an absolute pleasure that we exceeded your expectation and greatly appreciate the positive comments you shared. We would like to thank you once again for your... More 

Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Harmony Hotel for a conference. My room was very big, with a queen size bed. The bathroom was big and well equipped. It is not frequent to find a hair dryer in African Hotels ... there was also a scale! The hotel is clean and tidy, personnel is nice and helpful. The only negative thing was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FFFrancesca68, We would like to thank you for taking your time to provide us with your positive feedback and for making Harmony your hotel of choice on your visit to Addis. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our hotels facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the air conditioner as this is not our usual service standard and... More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed here for 7 days for business. Been to Addis several times and this is the best hotel I've stayed in so far. Complimentary van from the hotel was easy and quick. Check in fast and easy. Would be a good hotel choice in any part of the world - nicely appointed room - nothing fancy, but clean, pretty, functional,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like to thank you for taking your precious time to provide us with your detail feedback and for making Harmony your best choice on your visit to Addis. It is an absolute pleasure that we exceeded your expectation and greatly appreciate the positive comments you shared. We would like to thank you once again for your... More 

Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This trip to Addis I decided to try two hotels. I spent two nights in the Residence Suites then two nights in the Harmony and the clear winner is the residence Suites. The Harmony does have a fantastic Spa and I hope you tip the workers well if you use the facility. Else, it is a bit tired and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Agent424, We would like to thank you for taking your time to provide us with your positive feedback on trip advisor and for making Harmony your hotel of choice on your visit to Addis. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our spa. Please accept our sincere apologies for the confusion regarding the admin staff and the room being... More 

Paris, France
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
42 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

i spend one night at Harmony hotel. Upon check in the staff was so unfriendly, contrary to most Ethiopians. Then i was given a room, that was dark, hot like an oven (room 502). I asked why there is no air conditioning and the reply was, we got you a fan. The room looked like a1970s room. They said the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Toomuchtravel We would like to thank you for taking your precious time to provide us with your feedback and for making Harmony your choice on your visit to Addis. Guest feedbacks like yours help us reach the urge of flawlessness. It sounds as though we did not meet your expectations Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question