We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Gaborone accommodations

Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel

Golf Drive Phakalane, Gaborone 1000, Botswana
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel to your Saves list
Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Des L Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Reviews (34)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
6
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

4 star hotel but certain things let them down. Biggest irritation is the wifi. Temperamental and sporadic. Cannot connect to apple devices. Really needed the internet. Staff helpful and eventually bypassed the free internet to get me connected. Unfortunately could only receive E Mails but could not send. Buffet breakfast ok but food cold. Burners that keep food warm not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Pleasant place go for a game of golf, to dine or just for a drink. Fantastic ambiance, feels like your in another world. Consist with good service, this place offer accommodation for travellers and residential estate. Highly recommended +

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We hosted a golf day and dinner at the resort. I have seldom come across such poor service , irrespective the half way house ( which too 40 minutes) the lunch we had in a private dinning room or the dinner event. You need to be ultra patient to receive any service and you may even need to ask to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Femida K, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory dining experience with us. There should be no excuse for the poor service received during the set menu. We also apologise for the long wait for lunch, as this is not the service we would like to portray to our guests.... More

Colchester, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a great hotel with good modern facilities and offers a businessman most amenities you would need in a foreign country. The golf course is superb and relatively cheap (including the hire of clubs, cart, caddie etc) and with the sun setting later in summer you can sneak in 9 holes after work. Conference facilities are OK, it still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Femida K, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete, Thank you for your review on the Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort. We appreciate all the positive feedback, and we will definitely look into our conference facilities technology standard. We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Femida Khan Rooms Division Manager More

Benoni, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is situated in the beautiful Phakalane Golf Estate with the room we were in just off the 10th tee. Their service and staff is highly professional, helpful and very good despite the fact that the room I was in had a problematic DSTV decoder that kept on attempting to upgrade its software. Staying at the hotel is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave Set, Thank you for choosing Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort as your hotel of choice. We are so delighted to hear that you received such great service, as this is what we strive to portray to our guests. We apologise for the faulty TV in your room, and we hope on your next visit this wont be the... More

Gaborone, Botswana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had our wedding here on July 02nd 2011, and had a one night stay, which was part of the package. The rooms are soooooooo nice. We ordered dinner, by room service, and I enjoyed Tumelo's Oxtail (thats what the dish was called then). This year, we came back here on our anniversary. The rooms were still nice, the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kabo, Thank you kindly for you positive comment regarding your wedding stay. However please accept our sincerest apologies.for your recent stay. We regret the terrible experience and this is definitely not the standard we wish to portray. I will liaise with the team concerned regarding more training and supervision which is clearly needed. We wish to impress you on... More

Pretoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I booked a week-end at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel this past week-end and were terribly disappointed with our stay. For starters, upon arrival there was no porter to help with our suitcases [a normal requirement for a 4 or 5 star hotel surely?]. We were directed towards our room from reception [no one escorted us here] and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bram H, Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Julia Martinelli, Apologies for the delay in responding but we were looking into the issues that you raised. Thank you for taking time out to express your terrible experience at The Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort. First and foremost, we would like to apologise for the terrible service that you had, as this is not the level of... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've been resident in this hotel for the past three weeks. The accomdation is fantastic for business, the rooms are spacious, well equiped and comfortable. Unfortuntaley the lovelly location is let down by the restuarant serivce. Breakfast: Inconsistent, some days the food is buffet style some days it is by order. Staff are slow and don't seem to know what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bram H, Guest Relations Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alistair M, Thank you kindly for your positive comments regarding our comfortable and spacious rooms. We regret the terrible experiences in our Restaurant and this is definitely not the standard we wish to portray. I will liaise with the team concerned regarding more training and supervision which is clearly needed. We have recently introduced a new menu for Drotsky's... More

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Phakalane golf course hotel I chose the main restaurant because of my poor experience at the halfway house the last visit. The drinks were delivered in a flash. No ice in the rock shandy which was rectified immediately. My starter was a Caesar salad. Very nice but huge. Enough for a main course and I left a pile of croutons.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bram H, Guest Relations Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ray E, Thank you for your detailed report on your experience at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel Resort. We do apologise for your poor experience at The Feather’s restaurant on your last visit. Thank you for your positive comments on the Drotsky’s restaurant and food received – we will definitely look at adding more of a bite to the Peri... More

Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Botswana and I have to say that this s the best I have been in. The location is in a golf estate, about 15 km from the city centre. The reception is beautiful but the staff attitude is "tired" to say the least. They are not energetic. The list of all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bram H, Guest Relations Manager at Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Impudzi, Thank you for the review on the hotel, your feedback is valuable to us. I do apologise about the service you experienced at the reception desk. The issues raised have been addressed with the manager concerned and we are looking into a ongoing training program or the reception team, once again apologies that the experience at the reception... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel

Address: Golf Drive Phakalane, Gaborone 1000, Botswana
Location: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Phakalane Golf Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The new luxurious hotel located in the heart of Botswana's Premier Golf Estate provides both the leisure and and business traveller not only a place to stay in secure comfort, but also an opportunity to sample a delicious meal from one of our 5 restaurant including a Sushi Bar. The hotel also has a business center , a coffee bar in the lobby as a infinity scenic swimming pool overlooking the dam and the 10th tee of the golf course. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

See which rooms travelers prefer