We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Luanda hotels

Hotel Presidente Luanda

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo 4 de Fevereiro, Luanda, Angola (Formerly Le Presidente Meridien)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Presidente Luanda to your Saves list
Hotel Presidente Luanda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Luanda
A recent review
  • Reviews (76)
  • Photos (57)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've been in Luanda for work and my company booked this hotel. His position is strategic on the coast (very close to the port). It has a spectacular view from almost all the rooms. I've been at the 9th floor. The room is big enough; the air conditioned keep the ambient cold (fundamental to avoid mosquitos at sunrise and sunset).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Empoli, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was in Le Presidente last night. Beautiful location for a old hotel with renewal process in progress. Good room clean and soft bed. No minibar just 0.5liter of water. Very good breakfast and very Hi-speed internet with Lan cable in the room. No Wi-Fi in reception,bar,restourant...finally there isn't... A little bit noisy air conditioning...but worked well. As normal in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Although the hotel is not new, you can find the sufficient conditions in this hotel. Staff is friendly, and if the hotel could be upgraded or renovated... That would certainly be welcomed. Nevertheless, is a nice hotel not far away to the offices and some restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

It was the second time I went to Luanda. At first sight the hotel seems great however it lacks some very importante features. I've spent 6 weeks without internet in mt room. I asked for assitance several times, then I just gaveup. The windows of mt room were really dirty, which as a pitty since the view was great. Also,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Returned to the Presidente after a couple of years following the refurbishment - bar and restaurant nicely done with the lovely terrace on the 8th floor. Rooms already showing wear and have been cheaply fitted out, shower door already broken and sealant very tatty. Room size ok, aircon effective and quiet room on 26th floor. Lobby area very smelly especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randburg, South Africa
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed on the 23rd floor - had a brilliant view from that dizzy height !! The dining room is excellent and the food is of 5 star standard !! Everything we ate was really delicious and of the finest quality. The service is a bit on the slow side in the bar lounge / terrace area -- it took about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benoni, South Africa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

A very expensive experience but Luanda is the most expensive city in Africa. Let me give you three things I liked and three things I think that the Hotel can do better at. Things I did not like. 1. At times a bad cigarette smell came thru the aircon system, I also found that the passage to my room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel claims to have four stars, however in comparison with others I would only assign two stars. The furniture is old and shabby. Some rooms seem to have complimentary drinking water bottles, others do not and when I asked about it at reception, they suggested I should purchase the water bottles. There is no WIFI in the rooms, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GDHP, General Manager at Hotel Presidente Luanda, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Stefanhoku, Following your comment, which relates your displeasure, I have to present my personal apologies for all the unexpected issues that you have mentioned, especially due to the great written feedback received lately about the Hotel quality and service of the Staff. In order to give you a feedback on the mentioned issues, all our rooms have one... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Hotel has great panoramic views! Apart from this, nothing stands out... The service is poor... it took me 30 min to check-in... before 8h00 construction works start, don't plan to sleep past that time... internet at the bar worked on 50% of the times I tried to use it... the gym has A/C, so its gym and sauna altogether...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GDHP, General Manager at Hotel Presidente Luanda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference on choosing Hotel Presidente Luanda member for your recent stay in Luanda and for your important feedback about our service and facilities. After analyzing your review about your stay, I have to present my personal apologies for all the unexpected issues that you have mentioned specially due to the great written feedback received... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was part of Mozambican Roller Hoquei 28 persons delegation at 41 World Competition. We have choice Hotel President Hotel and we have appreciated the good service available and quality and clean accommodations. The view is the best for Luanda landscape as the island of Luanda and the Docks. A beautiful marginal with the best garden for more than 1... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Presidente Luanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Presidente Luanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente Luanda

Address: Largo 4 de Fevereiro, Luanda, Angola (Formerly Le Presidente Meridien)
Location: Angola > Luanda Province > Luanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Presidente Luanda 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Presidente Luanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Presidente Hotel Luanda

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (40)
Hotel & grounds (12)
Room/suite (2)
View from room (3)
Dining (3)
Pool/beach area (1)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (18)
Hotel & grounds (7)
Dining (4)
Bathroom (3)
Room/suite (2)
View from room (1)
Other (1)


Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Constructed in the late 60’s, renovated in 1983 and most recently in 2010, the Hotel Presidente has hosted many remarkable personalities over the years and the Meeting rooms have been the venue for different important events in the recent history of Angola. The hotel offers 194 rooms, including 1 Presidencial Suite and 2 Diplomatic Suites. 90% of the rooms have sea view. All room include:• Air conditioning• Television with international channels in Portuguese, English, French and Spanish including sports channels and 24 hour movie channels• Telephone with a direct international line• Internet access free of charge• Minibar• In room Safe• Hairdryer• Special 110/120 W sockets for electric shavers• Smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

See which rooms travelers prefer