We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve

Certificate of Excellence
Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Preferred Hotels.. to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Suites are very large with excellent facilities. All have view to the water hole at which several varieties of wild life can be seen. Game drives were slightly disappointing as to the variety of animals seen - we did not see any lions or leopards. Food was good with Dinners being excellent. Good choice of wine at reasonable prices. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank albanscotland
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on our page. We are pleased that you found our facilities and food to be of excellent standard. It is not always that our guests see lions and leopards every day, these cats are very difficult to see however, we at times have some very good sightings of them and guests love it. Our... More 

Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights recently. The estate is beautiful and game viewe ing at the large water hole us excellent. We found our room faded and dark and needed updating. The shower was a dribble and taps kept sticking and furniture was old and a bit worn. The staff were all delightful and keen to help us. The food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pfromshipston
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments have been noted and we will attend to areas needing attention and ensure there is more variety for vegetarians on our menus. Your comments about Mike have also been noted and much appreciated. Regards Vincent More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this amazing lodge in December 2015. The experience was memorable. The accommodation was lovely with picture perfect gardens and good close viewings of animals drinking at the waterhole. We were lucky to see Zebras and a Buffalo drink there when we stayed. Our game drive was very interesting with a very knowledgeable ranger. Of the big 5... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monica M
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Your feedback has been noted and thank you for taking your precious time to give such feedback. The cats are always difficult to see but our Guides always try to make the game drives as interesting as is possible even when there is the disappointment of not seeing these cats. Our meal venue in the bush is just as safe... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took a game reserve tour with this company in their private reserve and after circling for almost 3 hours we didn't see any animals in the wild. There was one Rhino which the company made to arrive at the anti-poaching area. Other than that, not a single animal. Waste of money and time! They have a lavish hotel and... More 

Helpful?
Thank parindshah
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback. It is most unfortunate that you did not see any animals other than the one rhino on your drive. We do have a variety of animals on our reserve that includes the big 5, giraffe, hippos, crocodiles, impalas, zebras, kudu, sable, eland etc. It is rare that guests don't get to... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were spellbound by the property. It has lavish rooms with amazing balcony and views. From the Terrace one overlooks the waterhole and you see an amazing collection of animals in tranquility. Zebras, Impalas, Waterbucks, Kudus, Monkeys abound. The staff is amazing. Our Driver Zulani was superb and took care of taking us around for River Cruise at Sunset, Walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank jaiswal_ajay
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to emulate and excel on our product offering and hopefully continue to satisfy as many of our guests as is possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Vincent More 

Torquay
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Met at Airport by personable friendly driver, 15 minute transfer to a welcome at the lobby by Moline Shoriwa and a refreshing cold drink. Quick check in and shown to suite (No 7) which is absolutely superb in every respect - including a large deck where you can have a drink and watch many animals also having a drink in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mel7mm
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been noted and we will certainly work on improving the dining experience. Our product is about peace and tranquility and we are pleased you managed to experience exactly that. We look forward to your return some day in the future. Kind regards Vincent Makamure More 

Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Lovely lodge and game reserve! From our balcony we could watch the animals like zebras and impala coming to a pond early in the morning. The driver Mkosana was very experienced, he does his work whole-harted! Wqe had a bush-dinner and during our meal, a herd of elephants walked gently up to the building, as they were looking for food!

Helpful?
Thank PIETERMAN
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

"lovely lodge and game reserve" thank you for describing our products so convincingly. We are pleased your experience was good seeing all those animals from the comfort of your balcony. We appreciate your taking the time to make this review and look forward to welcoming you in the future. We would like to wish you a merry Christmas and a... More 

Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Our experience far exceeded our expect ions. One could not wish for more. The game drives were excellent, the Guides knowledgeable and the staff and service outstanding. The accommodations were excellent. There were many activities available should you wish to do other things than just the game drives. We would highly recommend this Lodge. The location was great as the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travelwearycanadian
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

We are pleased that our product and services exceeded your expectations, we strive to achieve that in everything we do. Your review makes us feel proud and we are confident it will inspire other travelers out there to visit our reserve. We would like to thank you for taking your time to make this review and look forward to welcoming... More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

We decided on this hotel because it was a private game reserve and we weren't let down. We were met at reception (which looks just like a beautiful old office) and sat down and worked out our activities for our few short days here. We settled in our room and off we went on the evening dinner safari drive. Wow... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra A
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased you didn't feel let down. We always strive to make our guests feel special and have the most of experiences. You feedback inspires us to look ahead with positive minds. We trust you will come back in the near future. We wish you a Merry Christmas and a... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

We came to celebrate part of our 30th anniversary in Victoria Falls. First of all, this hotel is designed and decorated to look like the 1920's or 30's. The hotel is only 16 years old but looks like it's been around for a while. We walked to our room which was half of a hut with a living room and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank luvrockymts
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. We have noted the good and the areas not so good. Our lodge is 16 years correct and we would like it to show this old Victorian look complimenting the scenic view of the animals coming to the watering hole. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria Falls
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#2 of 14 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 14 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 14 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#6 of 14 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
2.6 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Resort
Royal Livingstone Resort
#3 of 13 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay