We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victoria Falls Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
357 Gibson Rd | P.O. Box 151, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Victoria Falls Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    32
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
8
24
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This lovely backpackers is run by a husband and wife duo whose knowledge on Southern Africa is second to none. I was looked after even before my arrival with them emailing to offer to send their driver to pick me up from the station. My room was lovely (Hippo room) with a great bathroom next door. All very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying there for a week, when most people were there for a couple of days only, was the best decision I've made. Travelers and backpackers were coming and going and I got to meet so many amazing people. Everyone was so friendly, the wifi worked fine (2$ a day), the backpackers staying there and the staff and the atmosphere overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UAE
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two nights here with a group as we explored Victoria Falls. The amazing Jay will help you organise your schedule, and you can pre-pay for many activities with him and organise pickups and transport, so it makes your trip so much easier. The backpackers has many different accommodation arrangements, and it is clean and comfortable. I stayed in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

It is a very pleasant place when you are outside your bedroom. There is a swimming pool, many places to sit and enjoy a nice shade under the trees. There is also a communal kitchen where you can prepare your own things to eat. In the other hand, the bedrooms are badly decorated, sheets are old and I am not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I really enjoyed the Victoria Falls Backpackers. It's a little bit of a walk from town, but a pleasant little oasis none the less. I arrived late and got a fairly short service during check-in which I thought didn't bode well, but it only got better from here. I was visiting with friends, so the many comfy spots, hammocks, swings,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

I have been recently for three nights and I liked this place a lot. Mind you, I was perhaps lucky as low season so it was really quiet and relaxing. Don't know what the noise level is at busy times However upsides: 1-the 2 managers Jay and Blessing are really cool laid back and very very polite. So the owne... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Was not surprised that this place was not the best, it's a backpacker place. The rooms were poorly ventilated, the mattresses saggy, pillows old and no longer holding any shape. The bathrooms are next door to each room (shared, so at least there are a plenty to go around) but basically you an hear everything going on. Food was overpriced,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed here for only one night for a lightning visit to Vic Falls somewhere in May 2015. I have to say that I was quite disappointed by the service. They will try to squeeze every penny you've got, which is not something a hostel should do in my opinion. They will try to sell you as much activities they can.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey L, Owner at Victoria Falls Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear fellow Traveler, We welcome constructive criticism, our rates are standard backpackers rates, if you traveling alone it is more beneficial to opt for a dorm bed, than private twin room, that way you save your pennies. $3 for 24 hours of unlimited internet and $2 for a nice cold beer, $4 - $8 for meals....$3 taxi ride to have... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Wow! I now understand why this place has been has won many hospitality awards, they provide a good service and the place is well maintained. I stayed in their single room for 3 nights while I was visiting the Vic falls and I must admit that it was a great experience. They have a beautiful garden with many hammocks where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

They found room for us last minute so for a couple nights we were in the upstairs dorm room (very comfortable beds as dorms go), then a night in the 6-room dorm (not so great - crowded and noisy sleepers), then a couple nights in a room (nice single beds and quiet). Jay, the manager (?) was very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 12 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 12 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
1.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#8 of 12 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 12 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 12 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#5 of 12 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay