We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victoria Falls Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
357 Gibson Rd | P.O. Box 151, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    29
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
8
23
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was not surprised that this place was not the best, it's a backpacker place. The rooms were poorly ventilated, the mattresses saggy, pillows old and no longer holding any shape. The bathrooms are next door to each room (shared, so at least there are a plenty to go around) but basically you an hear everything going on. Food was overpriced,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed here for only one night for a lightning visit to Vic Falls somewhere in May 2015. I have to say that I was quite disappointed by the service. They will try to squeeze every penny you've got, which is not something a hostel should do in my opinion. They will try to sell you as much activities they can.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey L, Owner at Victoria Falls Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear fellow Traveler, We welcome constructive criticism, our rates are standard backpackers rates, if you traveling alone it is more beneficial to opt for a dorm bed, than private twin room, that way you save your pennies. $3 for 24 hours of unlimited internet and $2 for a nice cold beer, $4 - $8 for meals....$3 taxi ride to have... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Wow! I now understand why this place has been has won many hospitality awards, they provide a good service and the place is well maintained. I stayed in their single room for 3 nights while I was visiting the Vic falls and I must admit that it was a great experience. They have a beautiful garden with many hammocks where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

They found room for us last minute so for a couple nights we were in the upstairs dorm room (very comfortable beds as dorms go), then a night in the 6-room dorm (not so great - crowded and noisy sleepers), then a couple nights in a room (nice single beds and quiet). Jay, the manager (?) was very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I stayed at Vic Falls backpackers several years ago, and again last month. It is one of my favorite little spots in all of Africa. Excellent location close to town, the staff is very helpful in arranging activities or helping with anything you need. Nice, relaxing clean pool, excellent rooms, very funky woodwork and decor throughout the property. There isn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in March 2015. The atmosphere is charming, full of good cheer in every way, with hammocks, different sitting areas, amazing art all around, and incredibly helpful staff. They helped my friend and I with question after question, figuring out tours that matched exactly what we wanted, and we had a fantastic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Stayed here on 20.2.15 to 22.2.15. The place is very relaxed. Really love the whole atmosphere and everything is back to basics. I love the concept as being a survivor kind of place where u cook on ypur own. The place is really peaceful, simpls and serene. Tap water in the toilet are surprisingly really clean. From what I understand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Stayed here in early February in a sharing room. Excellent decor and ambience, certainly the most unique I have ever seen. Everything was clean. Little out of town but that gives you the quietness that Vic Falls Backpackers over the other hostels. Only complaint is the staff tends to want to sell their activities packages which seemed a little forceful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of a Nomad Adventure tour in mid January. The location was a little bit further from the main town than the other hostel/hotels, but it was overall much nicer and worth the small amount of extra money for the rooms (and for cabs into/out of town). My friend moved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I loved it! This is a very unique spot since the decoration, paintings and furnishings are full of tiny little details and lovingly made. The ROOM: I slept in a 6-bed dorm, which I shared with 3 other girls. It was very comfortable and I am SO glad that they provided a mosquito net, but I think it would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay