We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meikles Hotel

5.0 of 5 Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Meikles Hotel
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    79
    36
    13
    4
See reviews for
9
17
20
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
There are newer reviews for Meikles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had reserved four nights hoping for some vintage charm but checked out after one night, for several reasons. First, we arrived late bone tired after an 8+ hour drive from Bulawayo with many delays due to road work. No welcome, just an officious front desk and bellmen with hands outstretched. Barclay's MasterCharge reader did not accept my card (an alternate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello to you in California. I am very sorry to learn of your tale of woes and that you decided to depart so early. We get so many really happy guests that your experience is unusual. Nevertheless I take full note of all your comments and I have strongly re-visited our late-night arrivals policies. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager). More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
74 hotel reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A strange oasis in what remains a deeply troubled country but everything works and the team do sell that they possibly can for you. If you have decided to visit Harare and want comfort and the best experience in town this is it, although what happens outside remains troubling.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello David. Your five-star review of Meikles Hotel is greatly appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed such top-level five-star comfort and rated your stay as the "best experience". If you were here on business you will have appreciated that Meikles is at the very heart of the business centre of the city, making many appointments easy to reach. Tinashe Munnoma... More 

DXB
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

WARNING - LONG REVIEW Spent over 70 days at the Meikles over the last 12 months, until my client decided to let me try another hotel recently. We were always given to believe that this is the best and only really good hotel in Harare when we started off. Most people here have mentioned all the good points - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sanmenon in Dubai. Your very long review of your several stays at Meikles Hotel is appreciated and your points are well taken - you certainly have the experience of having visited 162 cities! Overall it is heartening that you rated our staff so highly as the big differentiator and that you found a "gem" in our barman at the... More 

Swakopmund, Namibia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed only one night, but spend a full day in and around the hotel non the less. On arrival all staff, from the doorman to the reception clerks were very friendly and booking in happened swiftly and without any hassles. During my entire stay I can testify to only friendly and very helpful staff in all departments. The spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings to you in Namibia and many thanks for your generous five-star review of your stay at Meikles Hotel. It is really pleasing and helpful to future guests that you took the trouble to share several of your photos and that you found all our staff, throughout the hotel, to be so warm and friendly - certainly the Meikles trademark... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is located in central business district, so if you are in Harare on business it will most probably be within walking distance to your workplace. Pros: Nice staff, clean, comfortable rooms, park view, room service menu is good and reasonable. Cons: Small pool, gym equipment needs to be tougher, restaurants in the hotel are overpriced...It is cheaper to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazem. Thank you for choosing to stay at Meikles Hotel, Zimbabwe's premier luxury five-star hotel and for your excellent review. As is the case with all business travellers the location in the hub of the city is greatly appreciated. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager). More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Front desk is good and efficient. Room is old and not maintained. Breakfast is poor with little varieties. Too expensive. Location is convenient in downtown and not far from the airport. For a lower price it may be ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mahomed, I am sorry that Meikles did not meet your expectations. Your short review is rather vague in most respects and I would therefore value some more detailed information from you so that we may properly evaluate. Can you recall the room number you were in or what specifically you did not like at breakfast. I hope you will... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Having last visited the Meikles a couple of years ago one would have expected many changes. The hotel is very much what it was then but that has not led to any fall in standards! The high speed internet is a welcome change from the last visit! Meals at the la Fontaine are classy on the al a carte menu,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your 4-star review John and headline that stamps Meikles Hotel as a Classic and catches the eye. Indeed, next year we reach our Centenary and we are planning several celebratory events. Hopefully you will visit us again during this milestone year. La Fontaine Grill Room is attracting much favourable comment and we have taken careful note of... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

It has greatly improved since i was last there i must say, however there are a few points tht still remain to be mentioned. There are generally two sides to the hotel,one being mo expensive and nicer(although u wont find this out til u hit the front desk) than the other. when u purchase a room via the internet you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello to you in London! We highly value your four-star review (5 for our location!) especially as you seemed to hit breakfast at the last moment after an obviously busy period. However, I'm pleased our staff willingly obliged and saved the day. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager). More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was last at Meikles sometime last year and I must stay they have definitely improved the quality of the rooms. I had issues previously with the quality of the rooms but not this time around. Rooms were clean and everything was functioning properly (and yes this is a big deal these days in Zim unfortunately). Service was excellent as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sam for your excellent review of your stay at Meikles Hotel and for your five-star rating of our service. Yes, the entire park-facing north wing room block was given a major refurbishment late last year, along with many public areas too. Meikles is looking shiny as we move towards our centenary in 2015, when we hope you will... More 

Maputo
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

With Zimbabwe economy not exactly booming and investors not really looking at coming back anytime soon this hotel is still impressive and beats many hotels in booming African countries. Great big room, impressive bathroom and really comfortable bed. The service was excellent, people know there jobs and are efficient and friendly, great breakfast with both order and buffet. Bar could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Maputo. Your full-house of five stars in your review does Meikles proud, especially as we can see you are an experienced international traveler with 88 reviews, including 42 hotels, under your belt. A comfortable bed...excellent service...fine food...you found all these elements very satisfying and awarded us top marks. Proudly, of our last 24 Trip Advisor reviews 21 have been... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay