We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Harare hotels

Meikles Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Meikles Hotel to your Saves list
Meikles Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Harare
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Soji A Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (142)
  • Photos (73)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    55
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
5
14
14
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel and tried to live it up a bit by imagining the past splendour in this century old hotel. My two nights stay from Monday 21st July to wed 23rd was extended to the 24th because I had a late night flight to catch and the hotel Manager refused to give me a late check out.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had reserved four nights hoping for some vintage charm but checked out after one night, for several reasons. First, we arrived late bone tired after an 8+ hour drive from Bulawayo with many delays due to road work. No welcome, just an officious front desk and bellmen with hands outstretched. Barclay's MasterCharge reader did not accept my card (an alternate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A strange oasis in what remains a deeply troubled country but everything works and the team do sell that they possibly can for you. If you have decided to visit Harare and want comfort and the best experience in town this is it, although what happens outside remains troubling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DXB
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WARNING - LONG REVIEW Spent over 70 days at the Meikles over the last 12 months, until my client decided to let me try another hotel recently. We were always given to believe that this is the best and only really good hotel in Harare when we started off. Most people here have mentioned all the good points - the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swakopmund, Namibia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed only one night, but spend a full day in and around the hotel non the less. On arrival all staff, from the doorman to the reception clerks were very friendly and booking in happened swiftly and without any hassles. During my entire stay I can testify to only friendly and very helpful staff in all departments. The spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located in central business district, so if you are in Harare on business it will most probably be within walking distance to your workplace. Pros: Nice staff, clean, comfortable rooms, park view, room service menu is good and reasonable. Cons: Small pool, gym equipment needs to be tougher, restaurants in the hotel are overpriced...It is cheaper to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Front desk is good and efficient. Room is old and not maintained. Breakfast is poor with little varieties. Too expensive. Location is convenient in downtown and not far from the airport. For a lower price it may be ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mahomed, I am sorry that Meikles did not meet your expectations. Your short review is rather vague in most respects and I would therefore value some more detailed information from you so that we may properly evaluate. Can you recall the room number you were in or what specifically you did not like at breakfast. I hope you will... More

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having last visited the Meikles a couple of years ago one would have expected many changes. The hotel is very much what it was then but that has not led to any fall in standards! The high speed internet is a welcome change from the last visit! Meals at the la Fontaine are classy on the al a carte menu,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your 4-star review John and headline that stamps Meikles Hotel as a Classic and catches the eye. Indeed, next year we reach our Centenary and we are planning several celebratory events. Hopefully you will visit us again during this milestone year. La Fontaine Grill Room is attracting much favourable comment and we have taken careful note of... More

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

It has greatly improved since i was last there i must say, however there are a few points tht still remain to be mentioned. There are generally two sides to the hotel,one being mo expensive and nicer(although u wont find this out til u hit the front desk) than the other. when u purchase a room via the internet you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello to you in London! We highly value your four-star review (5 for our location!) especially as you seemed to hit breakfast at the last moment after an obviously busy period. However, I'm pleased our staff willingly obliged and saved the day. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager). More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was last at Meikles sometime last year and I must stay they have definitely improved the quality of the rooms. I had issues previously with the quality of the rooms but not this time around. Rooms were clean and everything was functioning properly (and yes this is a big deal these days in Zim unfortunately). Service was excellent as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sam for your excellent review of your stay at Meikles Hotel and for your five-star rating of our service. Yes, the entire park-facing north wing room block was given a major refurbishment late last year, along with many public areas too. Meikles is looking shiny as we move towards our centenary in 2015, when we hope you will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Meikles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, HotelsClick, Fastbooking and Venere so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
361

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer