We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meikles Hotel

5.0 of 5 Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Meikles Hotel
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    81
    40
    14
    4
See reviews for
10
18
20
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
durban
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When I stay in Harare this is the place to be. I've visiting here for 10 years and I have seen a transformation of note. Facilities have been upgraded to world standatds but still that English type of theme has been preserved. There is a great restaurant that still prides themselves on that personal service that you would expect from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeiklesManagement, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

A million thanks Chris for your fantastic rave five-star review that does us proud and proclaims what we set out to achieve. It is, an awesome testimonial based on your experience over 10 years and therefore extremely valid. Thank you, too, for noting the dramatic improvements made during a major refashioning and investment at the end o of 2013 as... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Meikles is very well located in the administrative centre. The hotel used to be one of the best in Harare, but is now a bit dated (I did not stay in the renovated wing) and overpriced. Food is good overall, however breakfast is disappointing and very expensive. Service is good and very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeiklesManagement, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you AC&Ed in London for posting a review and for giving the thumbs up to Meikles for having the supreme location (especially for business travellers) in Harare. I bemoan the fact that you did not take a peek at the fabulously refashioned 144-room deluxe North Wing, and Club rooms, as this (together with public areas) saw us invest the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is 100 years old but unfortunately it also feels that way. The rooms are good but clearly have been refurbished umpteen times. The place was absolutely deserted when we stayed there which gave it even more of an eerie feel. Service is good and friendly though and breakfast was decent. Probably might try to find somewhere else to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeiklesManagement, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello to you in London from a warm Harare and buzzing Meikles Hotel! What a great shame that you struck Meikles at a time when we were very quiet...this place is truly buzzing 90% of the time, especially during the week for international business travelers (we're in the prime city location) and also for so many local business people who... More 

Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay was okay, but i can complain about many things; the water in the toilet was yellowish, the AC didn't work properly - actually, i am not sure if it was working at all -- Food choices are limited in the hotel. The hotel is located in the heart of CBD, and staff are very friendly. I believe they should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeiklesManagement, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yousef, hello to you in Amman. Thank you for your review and generous comments regarding our very friendly staff and great location - especially for business as we are in the heart of the city overlooking a park. I'm sorry you experienced some issues in your room; yes we still are in the process of upgrading our South Wing... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay in the renovated wing of the Meikles over the holidays in 2013/2014. We were on the club level, which was nice because we could have breakfast in the lounge. The service was impressive and the rooms were very modern. I really liked the glass shower. We only dined in the restaurant once. It was okay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MeiklesManagement, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Warm greetings to you in New York. Your generous five-star review of your stay at Meikles Hotel Harare is greatly appreciated, especially as it really showcases to Trip Advisor researchers just how modern and well-appointed the North Wing rooms are. The Club Lounge, exclusive features and the view overlooking the park and city make this such a delightful wing to... More 

Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was cold and lacked in variety. The dessert especially was very poor in selection and seemed to be catered for younger pallets. Traditional Christmas pudding and other expected dishes were not included. The waiters were polite but seemed distracted as they kept forgetting some of our requests. The decor and bag pipe entourage was great, the music was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeiklesManagement, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sientania. I'm truly sorry you were so disappointed with your Christmas lunch at Meikles, though you do write glowingly about the crackers, the decor, the music and fun. We have had so many compliments about the occasion, but I do regret that somehow we managed to disappoint you. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager). More 

harare
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel decor was splendid but the buffet dinner in the pavilion was terrible. The food was blunt even my food loving son could not stomach another helping as he would normally do. Speaking to friends about the food, they all commented abt how bad the buffet is bt this is in sharp contrast to a la carte menus served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeiklesManagement, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my personal apologies that you were so disappointed with your new Year's buffet. This was not the overall feedback we got from our guests and we do try to go the extra mile on such special occasions. However, I would be pleased if you could elaborate a little more about what, specifically, you found to be so poor... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the South Wing and found it rather depressing and changed hotel. I was not offered the better option in the North Wing. Breakfast bearly meets the 4 star standard. Another thing that I find little professional is the request to pay the period of staying all in advance including an extra charge of 50usd per day that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is one of the best hotels in Harare well located within the CBD. its a old hotel but has maintained its statues of being the destination for any visitor. the rooms are spacious clean and elegant. the restaurant has well done variety of foods. the staff very welcoming

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MeiklesManagement, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ibutus. Thank you for your very positive review of your stay at Meikles Hotel Harare and for stressing our supreme location for business people - in the heart of the CBD. As has been the thread throughout 2014 our staff come in for great compliments and this has most certainly been a very powerful force for us. We are... More 

Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel, I think I should rate it more than a 5* but all said and done,I love the services warmly and calm.what about food,Awoh! delicious buffet, meat well cooked.Would like to come back again.God bless Meikles God bless Zimbabwe..Bye bye back to Kenya

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MeiklesManagement, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello to you in Nairobi. We are just so delighted to receive such a rave review from a brother Kenyan to end our Trip Advisor year in style. Thank you for your good wishes for Meikles,especially apt as 2015 is our Centenary Year and we have a lot of exciting events and surprises in store I hope you will follow... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay