We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Tunis hotels

Dar El Medina

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64, Rue Sidi Ben Arous, Tunis 1006, Tunisia
Hotel amenities
Dar El Medina
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar El Medina to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Tunis
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015
Steven M Sacramento, California, United States
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    11
    18
    7
See reviews for
11
58
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
trieste
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We expected a lot from this hotel, after seeing its pictures from the web site and after reading some reviews. The result was sad, unpleasant and absolutely deceiving. The hotel in itself is a restored, lovely and not large old building with plenty of romantic and exotic touches. The cleaning however leaves much to be desired (a lovely old sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We spent the last two nights of our 12 days in Tunisia here. It's a beautified older house right smack in the medina, down the street from the Casbah, where there's the changing of the guard and other government buildings. We were in a top floor "junior suite" that had sweeping views of Tunis. The room was a bit odd;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

If you want to stay in a museum like building - and the plumbing etc though ancient does work - this is the place for you. But be prepared for a very odd breakfast (a small ration of cake, orange juice, bread, processed cheese, butter, halva and jam) served in a ritual and painfully slow fashion. The staff are well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Based on their website, I had great expectations of this hotel. It's just the sort of place I love: atmospheric, exotic, off the beaten track,full of character. And, in those areas, it did not disappoint. But. The staff (especially the male desk clerk who works the late afternoon/evening shift) was incompetent at best. Within the first few minutes of my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued. We are sorry for this miss understanding. Please be advised, that we are currently training our staff. Again, your comment is helpful and welcomed,in order to improve our shortcomings. More 

Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Dar El Medina is a lovely small hotel / riad at the edge of the Medina. The hotelier is quite nice and the rooms were spacious. When my air conditioning didn't work (and it must in that humidity!), I was quickly moved to a larger room that had working a/c. Terrific place to visit Tunis from.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

“Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued. Thank you for this comment. We will always guarantee you , with our best services and will be at your disposal. Again, your comment is helpful and welcomed, in order to improve our shortcomings. More 

Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

very nice roof top terrace without bazar hassle at one of the highest points in Tunis center, Rue Sidi Ben Arous is a nice street with local artists without the hassle of the two tourist streets. super relaxing atmosphere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued”. Thank you for this comment. We are pleased that you have spenta great time. We would be glad that you will come back. More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights based on the Conde Nast Traveler recommendation from a few months ago, but after booking, I became worried after reading a number of negative reviews. Upon arriving, the taxi called the hotel from the medina, & the hotel sent someone to get me. It was just a few minutes walk, and once I got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

“he Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued” Thanks for your comment, we do appreciate it. Please be advised that Dar El Medina is situated at the heart of the Medina of Tunis. And as you know, The traditional houses have theirown characteristics and charms. Concerning the bathroom, Please, be informed that this luxury hotel... More 

New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were there three nights. Location in the Medina is great, but $140/night for a hotel that promises Wi-Fi and delivers none is absurd. (Some may say "You're in Tunisia, do you really need Wi-Fi?" Well, yes, if it's promised as part of the purchase price.) The cleaning staff was very nice. Our room was cute, if dark. The rooftop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued.” Thank you for being in our hotel. We appreciate any comment coming from you. Please, be informed that,the dinner is 20€, starts with: - A soup or a salad: Typical Tunisian salad called Mechouia - Grilled ( fish or meat) - A dessert - Mint tea. Please,... More 

Brindisi, Italy
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very very nice private hotel with great staff (apart from the owners who often hang about putting everyone else on edge) and lovely decor, rooms and bathrooms. The rooms are a bit dark, as one would expect in this traditional style house, and made worse by lights not working (bit of simple maintenance). Wi-Fi was supposedly available but basically dysfunctional.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accured” Thank you for your comment. Please, be advised that we are a residence of charming, we had to keep the ancient atmosphere with its traditional aspects As you mentioned “it is a bit dark”, however it is not. We wanted to keep all the rooms as it... More 

Firenze
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I spent one night at the Dar El Medina with my family. We were given two rooms very far away from one another, in spite of having reserved in advance. The common areas did reek from smoke. On the evening of our arrival, we discovered that the rooms were not serviced, towels and toiletries were missing. The manager sort of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julien020, Propriétaire at Dar El Medina, responded to this review

The Hotel Dar El Medina and its staff apologize for any inconvenience accrued. Thank you for your comment, we appreciate it a lot. Please be advised that the bathrooms have its standard dimensions which is conformed to our criteria : - Large rooms are about 33 square meters ( including toilet) - Small rooms are about 25 square meters (... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dar El Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Medina

Address: 64, Rue Sidi Ben Arous, Tunis 1006, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar El Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar El Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Medina Tunis, Tunisia, Africa
Dar El Medina Hotel Tunis
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tunis

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay