We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Tunis hotels

Africa Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Africa Hotel to your Saves list
Africa Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
59%
Ranked #16 of 54 hotels in Tunis
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (175)
  • Photos (33)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • More
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    67
    50
    16
    11
See reviews for
9
29
24
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel while i was in a business trip . It is very good hotel , located in the heart of the downtown , in the middle of the most famous street of the city , Street Bou-Rikiba The area arround the hotel is vital , full of restaurants , cinemas , cafe , ministerial offices ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All in all excellent!!! Felt like god in hotel Africa. Its in city centre, the room was clean and well maintained with a great view. Food was very good, im just not happy with desert for lunch and dinner.Staff is professional and nice. Hotel doesnt have a pool, but you can ask staff for directions to closest one (5. min... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We enjoyed welcoming you to Africa Tunis Hotel. We are highly delighted that you found the location, the staff , the food and the room of the hotel convenient. We would like to insure you that your remark regrding the desert is taken into account by the Food & Beverage Team. We look forward to welcoming you soon... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During Ramadan it is one place you can get food. The restaurant upstairs is good, but the bar food offering is no up to a 5 star hotel standard and it can take them 45 mins to deliver a sandwich with 3 ingredients.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you found the restaurant of our hotel convenient. Please be assured that your comments regarding the bar will be shared with our team members. We are very much looking forward to welcome you on a future occasion. Regards, Sales Office More

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a suite for one night. The room was clean and well maintained with a lovely view. Great location on the Main Street filled with cafés and restaurants. The bar in the hotel was also nice but the restaurants where very dated and breakfast horrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your attention. Your comments about the location, the view and the room of our hotel were nice. Also, we are very concerned by your remarks regarding the breakfast and the restaurants. Our executive team is taking the necessary actions to offer a better service. We always appreciate getting feedback and we hope to have the... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I didn't stay in the Hotel Africa instead I chose the Ibis (also reviewed) but when we were in the city centre on a daily basis - be it to eat, visit the souk or walk to the TGM we would nip into the lobby bar for a drink or two. The hotel itself looked great and very luxurious but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a wonderful comment on Tripadvisor. Thank you very much for sharing it with us! It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services of the bar. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

- Stayed for one night and then changed to different hotel that offered better value - Location is very good, but bear in mind of the Friday demonstrations that took place/take place in the centre of Tunis - Hotel is not bad, used to be grand but now past its sell by date - rooms are ok, breakfast was ok... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Africa Tunis Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, the room, the breakfast and the view of the hotel. We are truly looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Tunis. Best... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

First of all: don't expect luxury and personal, warm service! Africa Hotel is a huge impersonal place for mainly business clients But I certainly would come back due to many positive things: The aircondition works very well. I have been there at a burning hot weekend in June 2014, but the room was a cool, relaxing haven. Soundproof is good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Africa Tunis Hotel. Thank you very much for this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor. We are highly delighted that the location of the hotel and the room met your expectations. Please be assured that your comments regarding the bathroom amenities will be shared with our team members. Indeed, the satisfaction... More

Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at the Africa on the last night of our Tunisian holiday. We have stayed here several times after stays in other Tunis hotels over the years. It is centrally situated and close to shops, restaurants and other attractions. The main railway station is a few blocks away. The room we had this visit was on the 12th floor.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a wonderful comment on Tripadvisor, thank you very much for sharing it with us! It was a pleasure to welcome you to Africa Tunis Hotel and we were glad to make your stay special. It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

service is sooo slow you need a bed coffee nearly undrinkable, which takes a biiig effort by tunisian standards. supposed be Lavazza, yeah riiiight, my a..e it is. wifi no longer free but it's really central try at berge du lac the new hotel de paris - service excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us. We are very concerned by your remarks regarding the service; our executive team is taking the necessary steps to prevent reoccurrence in the future. Please rest assured that we are undertaking the needed measures to make sure such inconvenience do not occur again. Thank you... More

Tarrant Monkton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I understand this is t he best hotel in Tunis. The hotel is very central and is on a lovely wide tree lined boulevard. The location is ideal as it is in easy walking distance of the Medina. The rooms were average as was the food. Some choices better than others. The service as average too.. however, I would recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Africa Tunis Hotel. We are thrilled that you had a great time in Tunis and that you found the location of the hotel convenient. We also regret your disappointment regarding some points and would like to insure you that your remarks were... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Africa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Address: 50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Africa Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Africa Tunis
Africa Hotel Tunis, Tunisia

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Tunis with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
189

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Africa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer