We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Tulip El Mechtel

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
BP 3 Avenue Ouled Haffouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Tunis
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015
Ziad A Beirut, Lebanon
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    46
    52
    27
    25
See reviews for
13
14
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (171)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
ancona
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

It is a very good looking hotel from outside...and even inside at first sight it looks excellent. But you should look details and you can notice a lot of dust and dirty stuff in the reception table, and even the floors are nice but not good in details, often dirty. We stayed for 4 days and they bring toilet paper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments posted on trip advisor, regarding your last stay at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis. We really sorry to hear that; In fact you have the right to complain about the taxi driver and be assured that they were punished, also be assured that we will... More 

Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

The hotel is very well situated in the city, the rooms in general are good, but they are not well maintained: the bathroom is old (the flash hardly works), the main door needs effort to close, etc. The staff is very nice (like all the Tunisians in general) but they are not very clean. The house keeping are supposed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Zied,, We are pleased to read all the positive comments you mentioned, especially regarding the hotel location on Tunis Center as well as the great attitude of our staff . And we are really sorry for some details that was missed and hope that you were satisfied when we solved it in you stay but be assured that... More 

Tripoli, Libya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

i stayed in this hotel 3 nights from 11-03-2015 the room is very good breakfast is excellent near to the city center and to the airport there is receptions his name Walid very nice also the ladies in the house keeping are very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear M. Sameh, Thank you very much for your positif review regarding your recent stay at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis. We are pleased to read all the positive comments you mentioned, especially regarding the hotel location on Tunis Center, the great attitude of our staff as well as the quality of our Buffet breakfast. Please be assured that... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

this hotel is excellent. about 15min from Carthage airport. staff are welcoming and friendly and very helpful. the rooms are very clean and the food is lovely. I have stayed for a week. There is a zoo close to the hotel which I have visited and enjoyed it, also there is a museum and a theatre, very close to habib... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments posted on tripadvisor, regarding your last stay at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis. We are deeply delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the location, the park & Zoo and our staff attitude. Please be assured that we will share... More 

Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I stayed 5 days in January in this hotel during a business trip. I cannot recommend anybody to stay there. The rooms are old fashioned, not clean (hairs in the bathroom, crumbs on the carpet), the breakfast is very expensive for what they offer, and the staff is not friendly or service oriented at all. They offer free wifi -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your last visit at the golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis. First of all, we regret learning that you found your last stay to be less than satisfactory. We have therefore taken very seriously every point of your complaint and it is certainly... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Hotel was at the top of the luxury and the reception was in the greatest and I am particularly Abdul Sattar on this beautiful reception he and Minya and the rooms were very nice service and I thank Maha and the restaurant was renewed and sophisticated, and I am particularly thanks all to Lamiya and Adel ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Valuable Guest, We sincerely would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your stay at the Golden Tulip el Mechtel Tunis. We are highly delighted to read all the positives comments you mentioned, and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that we will share your feedback with... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

It was my first time of being at this unprofessional hotel and my last. I had stayed there for 30 days. During my stay there , my wife's blouse and trousers were stolen by them. Funny thing , when I reported this , the hotel told me that they can do nothing on that regard!!. Another disturbing thing, I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adel G, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I would like to thank you for your comments and let me assure you that we have taken all your feedback seriously and have acted upon them. As the new General Manager at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel, I am deeply regretful and surprised to read that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory over... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We were offered rooms here at a vastly reduced rate from the rack rate. Around £52 a night including breakfast as we had hired a conference room for an event. It's a large and pleasant hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I had a huge balcony overlooking the city as well as a bathroom about the size of some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adel G, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Miss Abeshababe, We sincerely would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your stay at the Golden Tulip el Mechtel Tunis. We are highly delighted to read all the positive comments you mentioned, and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that we will share your feedback with... More 

Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

This hotel has a good location in the city and there are many attractions within a walking distance. My room on the 6th floor was old and not very clean (I even had to wipe some dust of the drawers of the closet so I can use them). Breakfast was OK and the staff very helpful and friendly. The bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adel G, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear M. Abassi, We sincerely would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your stay at the Golden Tulip el Mechtel Tunis. We are very happy to read all the positive comments you mentioned regarding the good location ot the hotel, the cleanliness of the rooms as well as our staff attitude, and please... More 

Tripoli, Libya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

location is very good, rooms ok, services not bad, the funturs is too old , need renovation, no business center, one of the persons who working at the hotel offer my some private women services, it looks also need to improve the hotel management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian Q, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to post your comments & remarks about your last stay at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis With regards With regards to your remarks on the evoked services (hotel staff, hotel furniture & Business center), please be assured that we truly take your comments seriously and share them with our associates,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay