We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp

Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    74
    24
    8
    12
See reviews for
38
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (157)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ikoma tented camp is rustic, basic but excellent for experiencing nature and wildlife. It is unfenced. We had a hyena going past our tent in the middle of the night- apparently they are attracted by left-over food from kitchen. Impalas were sighted near our tent. Electricity and hot water supply is restricted. If you want electricity at night you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoivaroLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Narayan, We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay at Ikoma Tented Camp so much. Indeed bush camping is fascinating, being among the wildlife, but still in a safe, comfortable environment. Our staff are friendly and accommodating and will go out of their way to make sure guests get the best out of the experience, whether it... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

One of the best yet. The area is great and the attention to detail of staff exemplary. Accommodation is rustic but comfortable. Extremely flexible approach makes for a unique experience. Recommend this for seroius enthusiasts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
moivarolodgescamps, Guest Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

Dear hgd1957, Many thanks for your sharing your comments online. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at Ikoma so much. Located right in the African savannah, just outside the gate of Serengeti NP, our camp offers an authentic bush experience, all in well-appointed ensuite tents, great dining and friendly service. We hope you will stay with... More 

Lede, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

The Ikoma tented camp is situated just outside the Serengeti National Park, therefore is it possible that wild animals walk through the camp. The tents are very basic and in and around the compount there are lots of mise, bushrats and also snakes (altough we didnt see any snake). There is only warm water and electricity from 06.00 am untill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
moivarolodgescamps, Guest Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

Dear Dekoman, Thank you for your post, feedback from our guests is much appreciated. We are very glad you enjoyed Ikoma Tented Bush Camp. The experience is truly unique - camping in the midst of the African savannah, while not sacrificing comforts such as comfortable bed and furniture, ensuite bathroom, great service and food. Karibu tena! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

The tent experience was amazing. Queen size beds with en suite, the food was good with choices. The staff are very friendly and helpful, even to the point where they called us out the back to show us a Genet Cat at night. We were escorted to our tents at night by armed security, they patrol all night, as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
moivarolodgescamps, Guest Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

Dear Colleen C, We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the real bush experience that staying at Ikoma Tented Bush Camp provides! It never ceases to impress, the sounds of the wildlife outside, as one enjoys the comforts our tents have to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience online. We hope you will visit... More 

Ngong, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I just wish to give a big thank you to the staff and management of Ikoma Tented Camp. Their hospitality has been absolutely heart-warming and excellent! We never planned to stay at this camp during our trip. However, coming from Kenya, the tourvan that would have picked us up at the Tanzanian border got involved in an accident and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
moivarolodgescamps, Guest Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

Dear BjornM, We really appreciate you taking the time to write and post your experience at our camp. The circumstances of how you came to stay with us, are unfortunate. However we very glad we could assist you and offer you Tanzanian hospitality at its best. We hope to see you again, under better circumstances. Karibu tena! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This camp was a pleasant surprise to what I thought it would be. Very friendly staff, great tents with en suite, great dining area with average food options including vegetarian, and few minutes drive to Serengeti National Park. As many have already reviewed, you pack your own lunch box for the next day's game drive and they have many varieties... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

Dear Meghna G, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. Ikoma Tented Camp has over 30 tents set around the main areas, on request we provide tents that are closer to the main areas, however many guests enjoy being far from these areas as they get the genuine 'night under the... More 

Alcoy, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

JAMBO!!! Awesome place Serengeti and wonderful stay at Ikoma. We were couple of days there and all was perfect!! Even the storm at the dinner time!! Very near the National Park and very near our cheetah we saw in the morning!!! Extraordinary food!! We enjoyed a lot!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

JAMBO Jorgepascualferrer, We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Ikoma Tented Camp. Did you get lovely photos of the cheetah? we would love to see these as well - please send them to marketing@moivaro.com and if we use them you stand a chance to win great prizes. We are also happy that you found the food to be... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed two nights at Ikoma Bush Camp, just outside the Serengeti National Park, in early August 2014. I would absolutely never consider going here again, and cannot recommend it to anyone, because the food was simply atrocious, by any standard, and compared to the 5 other places we stayed in the course of a 10 day safari in Kenya... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

Dear Finmann66, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review your stay at Ikoma Tented Camp. Your feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services for our future guests and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. We are very concerned on the comments regarding the food, especially because most of the... More 

Salmiya, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Comfortable accomodation with good staff. Although there is no power in the camp from 11PM to 5AM. No electrical outlets in the room, however you can charge all your stuff in the restaurant at dinner & b/f time. Food was something between average & good. There were always security guys around your rooms in the night to escort you to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

Dear Khozema P, Thank you very much for choosing to be our guest. Yes with the camp set in a wide area and of course being in the middle of the Serengeti - lots of game wanders through the camp and is a beautiful sight to wake up in the morning and witness this on close proximity. It is a... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nobody at reception on arrival. Had to find them. No paper work prepared for our arrival. Food not good. Meat tough. Only powder milk after numerous requests. Tent very comfortable. Not a 3 star establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review

Dear Steve 120, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Ikoma Tented Camp. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet the mark with you while on your stay at the camp. You arriving and nobody being there at the reception means that probably your reservation had not been made... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (50)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question