We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 68 Serengeti National Park accommodations

Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Save Saved
You added Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (127)
  • Photos (137)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • More
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We Stayed at Ubuntu for four days and three nights and it was so much fun!!! This camp moves three times a year with the migrating animals and we were visiting during the time when wildebeest cross Mara river. It is a powerful sighting. Ubuntu staff picks you up at the airport and greets you with a refreshing wet towel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
68 hotel reviews
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The setting: You are about a 30 minute drive from the Kogatende airstrip, and what a drive it is! It's amazing to see all the fauna that abounds along the Mara river here in early August. The camp consists of the main lounge and dining tents and eight double occupancy guest tents. The sweeping views of the northern Serengeti are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Webster, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and found the camp very good. Our tent was comfortable and had a nice view out the front. The bucket shower was 40 liters for 2 people instead of 2 showers at 20 liters for each person. This we found to be good because my husband does not use as much water as I do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was the first of two Asilia camps my husband and I stayed in and the experience will make us always look for Asilia. Our guide was wonderful, always finding just the animals large and small as well as many, many birds, we hoped to see and answering all our many questions with humor and patience. Our tracker was fascinating,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ubuntu is a delightful and very well managed mobile tented safari camp that spends June in the Western Serengeti - a time when the migration is usually there. This year the migration never came west, but Ubuntu still provided an excellent safari experience. Our driver guide was always supportive and attentive to our requests. He gave us very good sightings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I found very positive reviews of Ubuntu on Tripadvisor before booking. I have just returned home from Tanzania two days ago and felt a more realistic review would help future travellers. I was very disappointed indeed. Perhaps I’ve been spoiled with the outstanding experiences in tented camps in Botswana and South Africa, but Ubuntu has major issues to address before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed thoughts and for the opportunity to discuss your thoughts in person. As I have said in person I very much regret that you felt the experience was below what it should be but regardless we are grateful for the time you have spent sharing the good and bad. Thank you for accepting our explanation of... More

Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of nights at this mobile camp during our honeymoon and loved it. We were there when it was stationed in the Northern Serengeti so it had the perfect location for good wildlife viewing. We were spoilt seeing not only wildebeest migration action, but also all the big cats, lions, cheetahs and leopards with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Ubuntu was our final stop of our safaris in Kenya and Tanzania. Our luxury tent looked right out on the lovely Serengeti. We loved the fire and snacks before dinner and the family style service which encouraged fun conversations with our fellow travelers. Anna who managed the service staff went out of her way to make our stay special and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better stay at Ubuntu in late May 2014 in the western Serengeti. The view was unbelievable, zebra just hundred yards away. The staff was excellent. We loved the food, especially the snacks before dinner while watching 'bush tv' (sunset and fire pit). The tent was very nice and the showers were perfect. We felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The location of this camp is what makes it so special. This is a mobile camp that follows the migration through the Serengeti. It is amazing the comfort/luxury that a mobile camp like this can preserve. The tents are huge with a separate bathroom/shower area. The view from our tent down to the plains full of wildebeest below was amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ubuntu Camp is a seasonal camp of just 6 tents. The intimate camp is designed to reach key areas of wildlife activity when a camp is most needed. The camp is light-weight enough to move seasonally while offering every comfort possible. Each tent is either a double or twin (triples available), with flush toilets and running water in en-suite bathrooms. Hospitality, great food and a wonderful relaxed environment is the essence of Ubuntu Camp. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer