We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Dar es Salaam hotels

Q-Bar & Guest House

Off Haile Selassie Road | Plot 1, Dar es Salaam 4595, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (45)
  • Photos (13)
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Q-Bar & Guest House
Ranked #30 of 69 hotels in Dar es Salaam
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
11
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Having stayed at Q-Bar a decade ago, it was interesting to go back. Not much has changed. The bar/restaurant/hangout/disco downstairs is bigger with extra canopy seating. This still kicks at night with lots of loud music and weekend bands. Popular with expats, cowboys and ladies of the twilight. This was a business trip and when we mentioned we were putting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morogoro, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Having been on to Q Bar's website and read their blurb about their establishment, I was disappointed to arrive and find that the budget room I was put in did not in fact have an en-suite bathroom. Instead, I had to share a toilet and shower with those in the backpacker room. Also, the shower had seriously low water pressure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dar es Salaam
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Large, clean rooms, huge breakfast, great AC and room service. My husband and I are currently staying here with a 13 month-old baby and are all managing to get a good night's sleep. This is the best value for money in a prime location in Dar es Salaam. You cannot beat it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hard to get better value for money in Dar. QBar is well located on the peninsula so easy to reach a range of restaurants after a busy day down town without fighting the traffic. Supermarket next door, also internet centre for copy, printing and binding ,also hair salon for waxing and manicures. Rooms are comfortable, spacious with AC and ensuite.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

First things first, there is definitely some soliciting going on here. I'm not saying that it is anything to do with the dorm or its owners, but if that sort of thing puts you off, look elsewhere. However, the girls definitely have a target market and it is not travellers but rather seemed to be the middle aged expat crowd.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are very glad to hear this would be your bar of choice if you lived here and equally happy that you were comfortable in your room. I can assure you that Q-Bar has nothing to do with the "girls" and have spent the... More

united kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Tanzania for work and pleasure and I choose to stay at Q bar. OK, it can be a bit noisy at weekends (ask for a room further away from the bar) but in this location, close to Coco beach, near to many offices of international companies and organizations and adjacent to great restaurants and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much from myself and our Team for your great review. We love all kind of feedback and feel very motivated with a review like yours. We hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again. Thank you . More

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed in the 'backpacker's dormitory', which consisted of two sets of bunk beds and is the cheapest option on site. AC was great, the bathroom was passable and conveniently located, the beds were comfortable. I arrived with two other backpackers, which meant that the three of us basically had the room to ourselves. The WiFi was intermittent but free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and would come back again. We are working very hard to have a good, fun and respectable crowd at the Q-Bar. We are making many changes to the Bar and the Hotel and hopefully you will come... More

Liverpool
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Unfortunately we chose to stay in Q-bar on a Saturday night. The rooms are comfortable and although our airconditioning and toilet were not working they did offer us a change of room. The food was good to for a reasonable price. The main reason for the poor review was the noise level. You are right above the bar and although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Q-Bar, Owner at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you were comfortable in the room and enjoyed the food. It is always great to hear when the receptionist has done a good job and made sure you got a room you were happy with. I am very sorry that you did not have a similar experience with the manager. I am... More

Mtwara, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've stayed in Q-Bar a number of times for work and while the other reviewers comments about the music and the bar are true, I've never experienced any problems, and know that on weekends especially there is going to be music and noise in the bar. That kind of reputation can be intimidating for a woman staying solo but in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed all your stays with us. We have started upgrading the rooms with flat screen Tv's, new full size mosquito nets, and of course bedding and towels. We hope you will be back with us soon again. More

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had to find some where central to crash for 1 night and this wasn't a bad choice. A loud boer-ish bar packed with heavy drinking rugby watchers, high density of predatory prostitutes. Saying that it is what it is, a decent choice for lone guy stuck in Dar for the night. Beer, dinner and lady of the night, if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The bar and restaurant has a very mixed crowd but perhaps South Africa was playing when you were there. They do tend to be the most passionate of the supporters. We do have Live Bands on Thursday's and Friday's and a resident DJ on Saturday's. Even with the double glazing... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Q-Bar & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Q-Bar & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q-Bar & Guest House

Address: Off Haile Selassie Road | Plot 1, Dar es Salaam 4595, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
q-Bar & Guest House Hotel Dar Es Salaam
q-Bar And Guest House
q Bar Hotel

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Q-Bar & Guest House to your Saves list