We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Africa Hotel

4.0 of 5 Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Africa Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
New Africa Hotel
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    128
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
17
40
27
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed at this hotel thrice. The rooms are OK, the food is excellent, as is the location. On one occasion when we were overcharged for transport, the hotel manager immediately reversed the excess charges. A straight-up unpretentious place that I will go to again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for submitting this review. I cannot thank you enough for the kind words. I will share this feedback with my entire team. I look forward to seeing you at New Africa shortly. Kind Regards, Siddharth chaudhry More 

West Wittering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here as our business partner was staying there. The hotel was really average. Windows in the bedroom don't open, air-con is noisy. Breakfast was dull, Thai on top of hotel was OK. Back to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oyster Bay next time. 100% better and about the same price

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at New Africa Hotel and for submitting this review. I have taken note of your feedback and will work on all the aspects immediately. We are in the continuous process of upgrading the buffet and i am sure you must have noticed this transition from the past couple of weeks. As for... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Greatocarinas location in downtown Dar this is a very good hotel and is reasonably priced. It has a casino if you are that way inclined. Food is average, service is patchy -have patience. WiFi is good. Rooms are spacious and comfortable but you need to continually ask for accessories - hair dryer , shampoo etc! Sea view rooms on Floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from New Africa Hotel. Thank you for your review. I am glad that you would recommend us to other tripadvisor members. I have taken note of your feedback and will make sure we look at all the things mentioned by you in your feedback. Please feel free to write to me at gm@newafricahotel.com for any requests regarding... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Visiting Dar es Salaam after 15 years, my choice was one of the brand hotels I stay when I travel across the continent. I had never heard of New Africa until I saw an ad in an inflight magazine. Taxi to hotel $30, Check in smooth and fast considering I had no reservation - the lobby very busy as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at New Africa. I will share your feedback with my entire team and they will find huge motivation coming through their way by means of this wonderful review. As pointed out by you, we now have the best WIFI in Dar. I thank you for noticing and pointing out the same. Sawasdee... More 

Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Very good hotel, in centre of city. Twin rooms face the pool, odd numbers, doubles face the river. Doubles are advertised more expensive but when I asked for room to be changed to a double bed it was done so with no fuss. The riverfront rooms have a great view and are slightly larger. Rooms are nicely fitted out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the stunning views of the Dar harbour. We are the only 4 star hotel in Dar that offers these views of the harbour. I will pass your feedback to the entire team and the kitchen team for breakfast and Sawasdee -... More 

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The service here is very sub par. i wouldn't recommend this place if you are here for business, which I was. The internet barely worked, and the business centre has four non-functioning computers. The food is absolutely terrible, although the breakfast buffet is very good. The hotel has a very damp smell to it. It is central, but I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. I will work on the same immediately. I would even like to brief you that we have bought new computers for the business centre and they work on high speed internet now. However, you have rated us poorly on internet and elevators. I am slightly confused as since the 10th of... More 

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

business meeting, buffet lunch was perfect, the varieties of cuisine,from starters to desserts, staff was also friendly, for short lunch meetings this is perfect place as its right at the center of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your meals at Bandari - all day dining multi-cuisine restaurant. We also have a a stunning Thai restaurant on the 9th floor. Paired with cuisine from Masterchef Suntree and views of the harbour, this restaurant is a must visit for anyone travelling to Dar. I... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Situated near the port so my friend and I did not have to get up early to catch the ferry next day. Much more modern compared with the hotels inside national parks. When I was having my breakfast, a Chinese lady approached me and asked how everything was going. I was quite surprised to meet a compatriot working here. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am also glad that you chose to stay with us. We are the closest hotel to Zanzibar ferry terminal and this makes us the first choice hotel for overnight stays to and from zanzibar. This feature alongside great views of the harbour,... More 

Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

essentially a business hotel. all is well including the staff, the food, the ambience, the security, the pool and the gym. however for business travellers the wifi is poor. infact they have been saying it would be done and i see no reason to not to believe them. all in all a great experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for submitting this review. I look forward to your next visit to Dar. We had seen the need for an upgraded WIFI system about 3 months ago and immediately then a new WIFI system had been ordered. This being a huge investment, will bring us at par with all the top hotels worldwide in terms of... More 

Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I have been a regular in New Africa,in fact only hotel where i stay whenever in Dar.Location of hotel and the safety has been a trigger for staying here.In the past few visits there were issues with Wi-Fi and Air Conditioners,it was really bad.But in the recent visit in Sep 2014 these two facilities have improved a lot,particularly functioning of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Getting from New Africa Hotel & Casino - Dar Es Salaam!!!!! I am delighted to note that you had a comfortable stay and you even notices the changes we are tring to bring about in the hotel. Guest comfort is our biggest priority and we continue to set higher standards for us with every passing day. I would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to New Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Africa Hotel

Address: Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Africa
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#11 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay