We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Cliff Hotel

Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sea Cliff Hotel
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    109
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
21
35
26
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Placerville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When I started my contract, I felt very fortunate to get a booking at the Sea Cliff Hotel. I wrote a review after my first happy stay there. And then I just kept going back and back and ...Now 18 months later I am even more glad of my decision to live at the Sea Cliff for the alternate months... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Dar Es Salaam Sea Cliff hotel on three separate occasions and every time it has been and extremely satisfying experience. The staff are very professional and helpful. The rooms are very clean end tastefully decorated and the restaurant is of top quality. I can recommend the hotel to any visitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 3 nights and attended a business meeting onsite. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff. For example, when I checked in (I had no reservation) I was given a room on the front of the hotel overlooking the security gate. I was told by the manager at check in that they would move my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
123 hotel reviews
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Sea Cliff, even though I had a view directly into a maintenance area. (I heartily encourage people to get a room with a sea view.) The room was comfortable and nicely decorated, although the air conditioning was a bit erratic and the room and its contents never really dried out (classic seaside phenomenon).The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the time we were picked up from the airport till checkout the service was excellent. Despite a late arrival we were able to eat an excellent dinner. Excellent value, superior service and wonderful view despite the bad weather. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elaine M , Thank you for choosing Sea Cliff Hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us for assistance or suggestions. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Cliff Hotel. Kind regards, Sea Cliff Management... More 

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent only one night in the Sea Cliff while passing through Dar es-Salaam on business, but it was a comfortable one. The Sea Cliff, as its name implies, lies directly on the Indian Ocean and boasts a wide vista of the approaches into the capital of Tanzania. As you drive in the gate of the hotel compound, you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Duchifat91, Thank you for choosing Sea Cliff Hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your detailed and positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would easily recommend us. Please do not hesitate to contact us for assistance or suggestions. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I've stayed here on multiple occasions since it's my stayover on my way to the interior. Avoid the Village rooms at all cost, they have no windows and therefore no ventilation. The mildew will make it hard to breath and hard to sleep. The bathrooms could use some maintenance-mildew and caulking. The shower tended to leak all over the floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia A, Thank you for choosing Sea Cliff Hotel once again. We appreciate your honest review as it helps us to improve the services we offer to our guests. We apologize if the village rooms did not meet your standards. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any other suggestions. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a great all-round experience. From the minute you arrive you are greeted by really friendly staff who understand service! The Karambezi Cafe restaurant is really great, situated overlooking the Indian Ocean. The rooms are really comfortable. Make sure you ask for a SEA-FACING room! Wireless needs sorting out! Having to constantly input voucher codes/passwords is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John C, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that our staff was welcoming and that the hotel/restaurants met your expectations. Thank you very much for your suggestion regarding the wireless internet. We no longer use vouchers. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

it is set in a beautiful location and is very clean with friendly staff and great food i will be going back for more. the setting of the restaurant on the top of the cliff gives amazing views on good days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sensi702, Thank you for visiting Sea Cliff Hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that the hotel/restaurants met your expectations and that you enjoyed the view our location has to offer. We pride ourselves on offering an extra level of personal service, so your kind comments mean a lot to us. We... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the hotel very much. The bathroom was very small, but it worked. There was a very big and nice desk to work at, even for two people. The bed was fine. The swimming pool was fine and the view from the garden great. The restaurant was fine for dinner and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Astrid41, Thank you for choosing Sea Cliff Hotel and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the view the hotel/restaurants have to offer. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything at all you feel that may enhance the level of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

173 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay