We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spectacular view from the pool area to oyster bay. There is also a bridge that takes you to a kind of a bungalow right in the ocean where you can order food or drinks. As for hotel - front side of the hotel not looking that nice but backside...thats where things to see are hidden. Cute swim pool, veranda overlooking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mais_Aliyev
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Having spent 8 nights at the hotel eventually endeared me to the place and softened the review a bit... The positives: Good location, good facilities including a gym and a spa. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. The hotel has a good ambiance with many business travellers. Rooms are spacious and bed is comfortable. Hotel suffers from a classic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zahida S
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and... More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We only stayed at the DoubleTree for one night (as a starting point to our Tanzania trip before heading to Zanzibar), but give it high points for comfort, accommodating service, and a great morning breakfast. Were only there for a short period of time (mostly just to sleep), but the comfortable bathroom, bed, and great views of the bay allowed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your... More 

Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at this property for approximately 3 weeks -- the only "downside" is the WiFi is a bit spotty -- the lovely staff makes up for the occasional frustration with the WiFi. Highly recommend this property for an overnight or extended stay.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jehmayer
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your... More 

Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I want to thank the staff at the Doubletree Oyster Bay for making my stay extremely pleasant. This is my third stay and I truly enjoyed it. The dinner buffet on Wednesday evening was delicious. My only regret is that I could not stay longer. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar C
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was the best by far in Tz, however it can't compare to the ones in SA. The price is a bit on the high side but it's in relation to their economy. The rooms were just above average, burt everything else was amazing. The pools, the ocean views, the food...all that was really amazing. An overall excellent experience.

Helpful?
Thank Maphetla Zakes M
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I experienced a number of issues at the Double Tree. A/C wasn't working in room, lots of condensation everywhere. Problem with blown electric supply to TV. Internet signal very weak. Conference facilities poor, breakout rooms without AC. Food at lunch was excellent, very helpful manager to assist me with printing flight details.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Clive H
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were there having fun buh mostly I love pizza Margarita and I was real enjoyed your pizza hope to visit you soon and enjoying more and more,also I would love to test sheesha hope ts good too, people from outside must visit this hotel for more information and more good and rexul

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location of Hotel is pretty good. Not well maintained 1. Small Split AC in a big room of 15x20. Dar being a humid place AC is very important. I am sweating in 5 star Hilton. 2. TV not working properly. No solution even after so many complaints. 3. Walls not clean and have moisture all over corridor. 4. Moreover because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sudhanshu T
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and... More 

Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night in transit from Seychelles to a Safari. The hotel is a wonderful get away from the busy Dar downtown. Located on the water it has lovely views and nice size grounds with pool, beauty shop, bars. Our room was clean and typically Doubletree. That is what we were counting on. The food at the bar outside... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank voyager52
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, pleased to hear you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (167)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 88 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Courtyard
Protea Hotel Courtyard
#2 of 88 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#8 of 88 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#9 of 88 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#12 of 88 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay