We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Certificate of Excellence
Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    27
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
10
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were booked in waka waka for 5 nights, however the lack of air conditioning forced us to leave after only 1 night. The rooms were dark and unbearably hot. The bathrooms were unclean and one contained a broken shower. They furthermore charged us 50% of the booking fee on arrival despite the fact that we had previously paid in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
laylarouge, Manager at Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for your review. The reason we are responding is because we wish to clarify a few issues that arise from this review along with a little advise for future travellers. This reviewer is correct about there being no air-conditioning. We have no air-conditioning at Hostel Waka Waka. This is not a limitation of the hostel if... More 

Central Croatia, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

So I am writing this review almost after an year after I stayed there- which means those guys deserve 6 stars, cause I didn't forget to spread the good word. Accomodationwise is nothing special, but is alwas the service you recieve that matters the most. Actual fact is that I felt like home, while I was miles away from home.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We stayed at the hostel for three days and paid almost nothing (15€ for three days). The place itself is really nice and people are super friendly. However, the place is covered with bed bugs! After our stay my entire arms and legs were covered with countless bedbug bites which all got infected. Luckily Marrakesh was our last city on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lyon, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

The hostel is very nice, the staff is great and you will meet very friendly people, but the place has bed bugs! Woke up with at least 40 bites on both of my arms. For me, that is definitly something that could ruin a trip! Such a shame cause the place is really nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queens Village, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

My wife and I have been traveling around South America and parts of Africa the past 2 months, this is by far the most unique hostel we have stayed at! It was an amazing place. We decided to sleep on the rooftop, which was pretty cool! The staff was the most friendly people we have met. Make sure you try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Waka Waka! The hostel is a short 5 minute walk from Jemaa el Fna, and is relatively easy to find using the directions provided by the hostel. The hostel does offer a transfer from the airport (costing 150 DHs), but we decided to make our own way using the bus (a return costing only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

My girlfriend was always taking me into going to a hostel to stay as you meet amazing people. She was not wrong. I met some great people staying in waka waka. The hostel was cheap and cheerful, a bit of a struggle to find at first but you soon get into the swing of the alleyways. The beds were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

My female friend and I easily went from the big square to the hostel only with the directions provided by them, we didn't need any transfer from the airport (we caught the local bus for 30dh each) and we didn't ask for information. The door of the hostel is a bit hidden, but we had no problem finding it (you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

First of, i would to thank Hussin, Imaan (-; Anaas, Yaasin & the rest of Waka2 crew for the excellent service. This is THE place to be when in Marrakech. The crew were very helpful & most importantly these guys love their job. This is Marrakech Hospitality at its best! "in here we are family"... Good job guys! 5/5 for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Utrecht
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I loved my stay at waka waka hostel! the atmosphere is amazing, everything is chill and relaxed. the common room is nice and big and comfortable. The roof terrace is beautiful. The beds are a little hard, but they are fine. There are 3 bathrooms, and most of the time this was enough, sometimes you had to wait a little.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#31 of 206 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
#36 of 206 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#61 of 206 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
#41 of 206 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco
0.1 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#400 of 1,136 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay