We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Anamosa

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
100 Grant Wood Dr., Junction of Hwy 151 & 64, Anamosa, IA 52205
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Anamosa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    27
    21
    29
See reviews for
33
15
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Dakota, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was average for clean,Light bulbs were not replaced when burnt out. Floor in bath room is coming up. Room heater needs to be cleaned and repaired. Over all this Hotel needs a new mantinance person.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rakesh C, Manager at Super 8 Anamosa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are happy you found the room to be clean and that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I'm sorry that we failed to notice the debris that was in the grill of the HVAC unit or the burnt out light bulb prior to your arrival.... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading the previous reviews, I was hesitant to stay here. I was surprised to find that this hotel is much better than what the previous reviews say. It appears that there have been some fairly recent updates/upgrades (e.i. flat panel TV's, newer carpet in our room, newer bath spigot). There still many things that need to be updated/repairs but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rakesh C, Manager at Super 8 Anamosa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to see for the most part you enjoyed your stay. We are very sorry for the problems you encountered during breakfast. We have retrained the breakfast staff on our proper setup and procedures to prevent these problems from occurring again. Thank you for noticing some of the recent... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Your Review Property has improved...yet the heater in room did not heat on an evening when temp. Dropped to 27 degrees. Milk was left at room temp. For over one hour? Entry is bleak and devoid of warmth or welcome.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rakesh C, Manager at Super 8 Anamosa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I'm very sorry that your heating unit was not working properly. If you would have alerted our staff we would have investigated and attempted to repair the unit or switched you rooms depending on what you prefer. Again I'm very sorry that this happened but if we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Anamosa hotels

Burlington
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Property is going downhill from previous visits. Very noisy throughout the night. Tow truck removing car from the parking lot outside our window at 4:30 a.m. Breakfast area was dirty, skimpy selection, offerings not presented in a sanitary fashion.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rakesh C, Manager at Super 8 Anamosa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback about your recent stay. I apologize that you did not enjoy this stay as much as your previous stays. I'm very sorry about the noise issue that you experienced. We did address the guests making the noise as soon as we were aware of the situation. As for the tow... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

OK, a Super 8 is not at the top of the list for great hotels, but his one redefined the bottom. Charges,...Charged for "safe fee",..didn't use any safe ! Not given any discount for having an AARP card. Room was very basic,..clean,... but there were patched holes in the wall that had not been repainted, and the caulk around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rakesh C, Manager at Super 8 Anamosa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I'm glad to see you found your room to be clean. We do offer AARP discounts. We are not responsible for items in the room. That is why we provide a personal safe in each room. A daily charge of... More 

Eldridge, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The room was musty smelling and damp. The baseboard of the bed had mold on it. We were not informed of breakfast hours or location (or even that breakfast was available.) HBO was advertised but there was no HBO. We were unable to access the wi-fi. The exterior hotel door did not lock. The alarm clock was plugged into an... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rakesh C, Manager at Super 8 Anamosa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I apologize that you had a less than perfect expereince. I'm sorry if you found the room to have a odor. We did a detailed check of the room after recieving this review and we did not find mold on the headboard or anywhere in the room. We also did not... More 

Fairfield, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

While the hotel offered basic service and the room was acceptable, the initial presentation in the lobby and hall areas was poor. There must have been a bad smell at some point that the hotel is trying to hide or get rid of. There were multiple air fresheners of different scents around the lobby. These were causing an unpleasant, smelly... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rakesh C, Manager at Super 8 Anamosa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We do not have a bad smell we are trying to cover up. Hotels will normally spray a airfreshner around the property a minimum of 3 times a day. we decided to try a new strategy. We have had many people comment on how good our lobby smells since we have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question