We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Ames

#6 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1400 S. Dayton Place, Ames, IA 50010
Special Offer
Get 2X the Points
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ames
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Ames
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    60
    27
    15
    2
See reviews for
71
25
7
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Ames
See the most recent reviews
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks on my business trip to Ames. Great staff. Clean rooms and good breakfast. Veggie options are limited in the hot section. Will recommend to others and will like to stay here in future too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for your four star review! We are glad you took the time to review your three week stay with us - it is good to hear from you again! We do have limited veggie options on our menu, but I have forwarded your comments on to our brand performance support team to see if there are any options... More 

Mason City, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I often stay at Hampton and generally believe them to be a good value. The Ames location is not typical of other Hampton Inn's. It is unusually high priced, the furnishings are worn and the air conditioning is deafening and cools poorly. The beds look like they were made by a drunken college kid. The one bright spot. The lady... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us detailed feedback about your past stay with us! We are very sorry to hear we didn't meet your expecations with us during your time with us, but are glad you gave us feedback so we know what areas we need to work on before your next trip with us to the Ames area. We are... More 

Mascoutah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great hotel experience. All staff are friendly and helpful rather it be recommending places nearby to visit or assist with your accomatations. Very clean and great breakfast! Breakfast choices included healthy and fresh food as well as delicious cinnamon rolls! The pool was pristine and relaxing after a busy day. The use of the internet came in handy for my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star rating! We are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. We have been undergoing many changes as a brand over the past 6 months and are glad you noticed many of the new items we have implemented from our new baked goods served on our “On The House Hot Breakfast” to our... More 

Lawrence, KS, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Tip: First thing, check the bedding. We saw ants crawling in the sheets. No alternate rooms available.Bath sink and tub-shower accessibility problems. Door deadbolt wouldn't close--door so out-of-plumb.We stay at Hampton Inns a lot and have never, ever found this. Appropriately, the hotel assured us they would not charge us for the room.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with detailed feedback about your past stay with us! We are truly sorry about how your past stay went with us. We assure you this is not the normal experience at our Hampton, and we are sad to say we did not live our 100% Satisfaction promise. We have undergone many... More 

Ames, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I thought I was getting 2 queen beds but I got 2 double instead. Very uncomfortable is smaller bed. Breakfast was ok but pool had high chlorine level when we arrived and also I was not able to get an extra night due to the price of the room jumping from 99 per night to 179 in just a day... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hampton! Next time you stay with us, please check out our rooms with king beds, they are just perfect for business travels like yourself! We do apologize about our rates, but they do change daily as we try to remain competitive with other hotels of our quality. If... More 

Toano, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a nice hotel but nothing exceptional. Good for a short term stay. Location was good if you wanted to be near the Interstate, not so good if you wanted to be close to Iowa State University. Rooms and furnishings were very good. Service was fine. Food at breakfast was of uneven quality. Value (based on the pricing) was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your time with us! We are always looking for ways to improve and we will take note on your comments! We have located your reservation, and we know you loved our omelets we had two of the four days you stayed with us! We placed a note on your Hilton Honors profile to ensure... More 

Centerville, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I hate to leave bad hotel reviews. I will say that it wasn't a horrible stay. I only stayed here in the first place, however, because I needed to stay in Ames and my normal hotel was not available. So, I gave this place a shot because it was the only one left. It was clean. Bed was comfortable. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you your very detailed feedback about your past stay with us in one of our whirlpool suites! We would have loved for you to bring up your concerns prior to check out or right after your arrival so we could have better assisted you! We do have microwaves and mini fridges in the guest rooms, right under your TV,... More 

Plainfield, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had to find a place with HH points for a family funeral and this was the closest place. This is an older site and furniture needs updating and room had a dry stale smell that was tolerable. Hard to find off the highway with the GPS taking you some where else. I travel 100 nights a year and this would... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about our Hampton! We are glad we met your needs for a one night quick trip to the area. We are sad to hear that you might not join us again the next time your travels come to the area. I would love to hear in more detail what we could have done to really... More 

North Ogden, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is not up to the standard we've come to expect from Hampton. The rooms are smaller, the furniture is cheaper. The pool area is very small,it felt like you were in a fish bowl, No outside area at all. The window in our room was glued shut because it was broken. The glass fell almost into my chest.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your past stay with us! We are very sorry about the issue you had with your window. We are in the process of working with a local window repair company to repair the window in your guest room! We are glad our team made your stay more enjoyable! We are very excited to let... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

They let us check out late and the breakfast was excellent. My daughter loved the pool. No hot tub so the chlorine was not strong smelling nor did it make her eyes irritated. Very friendly staff and very accommodating. Pleasantly surprised!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your past stay with us! Families love our indoor heated pool, and our maintenance team does a great job with the upkeep of it! We are glad we were able to assist you with your late check out and are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast! We look forward to seeing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question