We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2216 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 200 Points
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Ames
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Daniel A Lamoni
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    111
    144
    100
    38
    22
See reviews for
211
40
31
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (415)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (146)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
See the most recent reviews
Lamoni
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I book my stay at this hotel at the last minute and I found this to be a good hotel for the price. The only problem was that Lots of people where hanging out in the lobby till midnight drinking and being loud. I wish they had more options for breakfast food and a fitness center or pool.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us feedback on your stay. We are sorry that the lobby was a little loud. We have a policy in place to prevent this which includes quiet hours starting at 11 pm and going until 7 am. We are sorry if the breakfast wasn't ideal for you and would love for you to contact us with... More 

Washington DC
Level Contributor
225 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here a couple nights for an Ultimate tournament. The mirror that goes the length of the wall behind the headboards was a bit unnerving. It was great to have the mini-fridge and microwave. The beds were comfortable and we got a good night's sleep here, the price was certainly right. So, good solid stay but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Microtel Inn & Suites in Ames. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We just completed our remodel and are very proud of our new look. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank You More 

saint martin mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in Ames for a basketball tournament and were well satisfied with the Microtel Inn & Suites. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable. The morning breakfast was tasty and the service was super.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us feedback. We appreciate and value your opinion. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Microtel Inn & Suites in Ames. We strive to provide our guests with outstanding service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank You More 

Travelers are raving about these Ames hotels

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Pulled back comforter on the bed and there were hairs all over the sheets. I called the desk and was told I could come get a new set of sheets. I had to go get them unmake and remake the bed. New sheets weren't in the best shape but they were clean. Bathroom wasn't very clean either. Continental breakfast didn't... More 

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

We are glad you wrote a review. We at Microtel Inn & Suites love to get guest feed back on their experience during their stay. We have changed the way we do laundry as well as room checks so this wont be a problem in the future. For security reasons the front desk personal can't go into our guests rooms... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

I have had good experiences in Microtel hotels before, but this stay was the exception. This is a newer location (at least the driveway is still not paved) but the bathtub faucet dripped, there was grime around the edges of the bathroom floor, and there was a dirty washcloth draped over the desk chair. If you like very firm mattresses,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Microtel Inn & Suites. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Our hotel was built in 1999 but we just did a complete remodel. Our driveway is currently unpaved due to the construction on the new hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ames
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#6 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ames
Hampton Inn Ames
#9 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay