We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2216 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 200 Points
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Ames
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
jeang442 Knoxville, Tennessee
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    111
    143
    99
    38
    22
See reviews for
210
40
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (413)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Ames for the Iowa Games. Due to that a lot of people were checking in. The check in process was quick and efficient. My room was clean. The bed was very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are extremely happy to hear that your recent stay with us at the Microtel Inn & Suites in Ames, Iowa was a great one. We are so happy to hear that your check in process went smoothly. We strive to provide outstanding guest service in every area... More 

Ames, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the minute we walked through the doors the manager had complained the entire time. We were in a big group of people and each person had different rates and they also said they wouldn't give us a group rate. Sheets were never changed in our room for the 4 nights that we stayed there and we had everything cleared... More 

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

I am sorry your stay was unsatisfactory. There wasn't a signed contract for a group rate for your group, however my team members and I tried to accommodate those staying with a discounted rate. I am sorry I wasn't present during check in but I was assured by several other guests and team members everything ran smoothly. Microtel has a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ames hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was friendly. Hotel was clean. There were a number of groups staying at the hotel, yet it was fairly quiet in our room. Breakfast was good. Convenient location.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Microtel Inn & Suites in Ames. We strive to provide outstanding guest service. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We hope you choose us again in the future. Thank You More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked 9 rooms at the last minute for a conference after another hotel in Ames lost our reservations. With new hotel construction all around a renovation has recently occurred. I was pleased with the size of the room and storage available. I especially like the continuous fan option on the room unit. Nothing fancy but also not terrible. Good quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

We are extremely happy to hear we were able to accommodate your group. Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Microtel Inn & Suites in Ames. We look forward to being your first choice for lodging in the future. Thank You More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There were renovations going on while we stayed here. The room was clean. The walls were thin and it was kind of noisy, but I guess you get what you pay for. The hotel seemed to be very busy with people in and out. There was waffles and fruit for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay with us at the Microtel Inn & Suites in Ames. We regret that your stay was a little louder than usual. We had a few of our new tiles to fix in the lobby. The issue is no resolved and should not be a problem in... More 

Missouri City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is just fine - however the manager (female) was extremely difficult to deal with. She was rude to all of us in the group we were staying with. I felt she had an issue with our group long before we even arrived. We had stayed there last year and had no problems. But this year - she kept... More 

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel as if there were issues during your stay. I had only heard good things about your group from my team members and I am sorry I wasn't able to be present during your arrival or check out. We always honor AARP and other discounts, but we can't combine 2 or more doing a guests stay.... More 

Lamoni
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I book my stay at this hotel at the last minute and I found this to be a good hotel for the price. The only problem was that Lots of people where hanging out in the lobby till midnight drinking and being loud. I wish they had more options for breakfast food and a fitness center or pool.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carley F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us feedback on your stay. We are sorry that the lobby was a little loud. We have a policy in place to prevent this which includes quiet hours starting at 11 pm and going until 7 am. We are sorry if the breakfast wasn't ideal for you and would love for you to contact us with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ames
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#6 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ames
Hampton Inn Ames
#8 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top