We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Ames hotels

Super 8 Ames

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1418 S Dayton Rd, Ames, IA 50010-9660
Hotel amenities
Super 8 Ames
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Ames to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    40
    32
    37
See reviews for
57
18
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Gowrie, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Smoking room - no ashtray My computer didn't work - had to call an 877 number to a company Had to walk down 3 floors to get the 877 number Phone in room didn't work - guy did fix it "Hot" water for instant oatmeal in the morning was lukewarm

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alicia B, Manager at Super 8 Ames, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you experienced some inconveniences during your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and take these matters very seriously. We were in the process of some remodeling when you stayed and apologize that the phone didn't work and that there was not an ashtray in your room. In our system it was still marked... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whatever you do, don't leave anything behind because you won't get it back! We called the day of check out to report the fact that we left something, knew EXACTLY where it was left, but it was never turned in. If it wasn't bad enough that we were stolen from, the General Manager didn't have the decency to call me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alicia B, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to let us know that you experienced some issues during your stay. We value your feedback and will look into this matter immediately! I understand how frustrating it can be to not receive phone calls back when promised, however, said things do occur and I sincerely apologize. On every check in form it states that... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good motel for the price....clean room and helpful staff. The heater/air conditioner is a bit loud and unsteady in temperature.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alicia B, General Manager at Super 8 Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate the feedback you gave us and hope that you will come visit us again soon! The A/C heater unit in that room was a bit noisy and we have since had the maintenance guy fix that issue. In the future should you have an issue during your visit please... More 

Independence, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Super 8, unlike any other I have been to, was the most dirty place! If I was going to the cliché, "Cheap hotel for my date," I would have spent more money. I was using this as a "two birds with one stone." My wife and I both work occasionally on the weekends and use the hotel as a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alicia B, General Manager at Super 8 Ames, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied during your stay. While we are in the middle of renovations and updating areas of the hotel it can look a bit unappealing, however, we are doing these renovations to make it a better place for future stays during our slower season. I have gone to the room that... More 

Ames, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I stayed here out of a bit of desperation when I was released from the hospital in Ames and needed a place to stay with my mother short notice. It did the job, I suppose, but the hotel was not very clean, offered a very measly breakfast (even for a Super 8), and the employees were rather cold and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alicia B, General Manager at Super 8 Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We have addressed the issues that you mentioned and hope that you will give us another chance to meet your expectations in the future! The employees have all been in meetings where we addressed the company policies and guidelines as well as behavior issues. The housekeeping staff has been re-trained on... More 

Lakefield Mn
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

The room was not clean, was very smelly and noisy. Breakfast was a disappointment. Desk worker was very nice and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alicia B, General Manager at Super 8 Ames, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. We have informed the desk clerk that was on shift during your stay that they are doing a good job of being friendly. The housekeepers have been given more training in cleaning the rooms and as to what we expect as a whole. We are constantly working on ways to improve the... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I had made a reservation at the Microtel Motel across the way but they didn't have the roll away bed they had promised--My son and my sister each slept in a bed and I needed the roll away. Super 8 had the necessary arrangements. However, the mattress on the roll away was really uncomfortable--springs sticking me in the back all... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alicia B, General Manager at Super 8 Ames, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that the rollaway you requested was not as comfortable as it should have been. We have checked all of them out and replaced them as necessary. If you have an issue during your stay with us please feel free to come to the front desk and let us know. We would be more than happy to fix... More 

St Louis
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We were awaken from our sleep due to a domestic dispute in the room next to us--- it was very loud and scared our children. The room was clean and nice however the hallway was dirty and needs updated.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alicia B, General Manager at Super 8 Ames, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize about the domestic dispute next door during your stay. I can understand how that would be very frightening to children. Our front desk staff members would be happy to assist you day or night should you experience anything out of the ordinary in the future. Our team members are great problem solvers and pending they can't resolve... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ames

Address: 1418 S Dayton Rd, Ames, IA 50010-9660
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ames
Ames Super 8
Ames Super Eight
Super 8 Ames Iowa

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay