We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Ames hotels

Econo Lodge Ames

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Ames to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Ames
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Ames
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014
tomorrowsantiques Duluth
  • Reviews (34)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    3
    2
    9
See reviews for
16
3
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had very low expectations for our stay here and even those weren't low enough. We were in Ames for a graduation and never would have chosen this motel ourselves, but family members had reserved a block of rooms, and we felt it would be rude to stay elsewhere. As you read this, please bear in mind that our two-night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duluth
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

evening front end staff was excellent. no one around in the morning when we wanted to check out. no one keeping up breakfast room either. out of coffee for a long time. there is only one restaurant (Mexican) within walking distance and 5-6 motels. This one was $10 cheaper than Super 8. Pool not operational. Large room, very clean, strong... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel and there was bed bugs in my room. I was offered to move to a different room but I honestly didn't want to stay in the hotel. However it was really late and the guy behind the front desk seemed he was having trouble with the computer. I ended up in a smaller room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bansri A, Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time out and providing us with your feedback .I apologize for your experience, I did research on your case and unfortunately we did not find any such complaint reported to front desk or housekeeping staff during the reported stay period. However, you would be glad to know that we did conduct through check through... More

Camdenton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Christmas Day in a college town- room, property, and breakfast better than the Quality Inn next door that we moved from- and significantly cheaper. A very nice surprise considering the place of Econolodge in the Choice Hotel group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bansri A, Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for providing us the feedback. It is very important to see how our guest felt about their stay and I am very glad that we were able to meet your expectations.we would love to have you come back and stay with us in future when you are in this area again to provide you... More

Vincent,Ia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Room was small with bed almost up against the wall on one side. Air conditioner/heating unit was extremely noisy. Traffic noise was very loud. The room we got was not what we were promised on our confirmation. We got a full size bed instead of a king size.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bansri A, Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest- I apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us. We definitely want to make this right with you please feel free to contact me at the hotel # 515-233-6060.I would be more than glad to resolve this issue and see if there was any misunderstanding as all we have for room types is either Queen or Kings.It... More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel in the Ames area, look no more. The Econo Lodge Hotel has definitely won me over. I work construction for a living, staying sometimes up to a year at a time at different locations in Iowa. I have stayed at the Econo Lodge four nights a week for the last... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review

Mike, Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule and providing us with the feedback. It always feels good to know that we are providing satisfactory service to our loyal guests. we will try whatever it is needed to keep your faith in us and having you stay with us.Thanks a Billion!! More

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The entire hallway smelled like smoke. Upon entering the room we saw dirty carpet. The bed had a live spider in it and crumbs. The bathroom had two bugs in it, one which looked like a cockroach. Left after ten minutes in the room. Did not receive a refund.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that... More

Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were looking for something low cost, no frills expected, so we did a search for the area, low to high. There was one place with lower cost (not much lower) but horrible reviews so we took a chance on the Econo Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised. The facility was relatively new, very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to provide you with the best service each and every time we have you as our guest. you are the reason we are here and hope to see you again when you are in the area. More

Mount Vernon, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our one night here was quite nice. The room was small but very clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a fridge and microwave. The person at the desk was very competent and committed to great service. We had one small issue that she resolved immediately and graciously. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your last stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Ames

Address: 2600 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Ames 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Ames
Econo Lodge Ames Iowa

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
85

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer