We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guest House Motel

4712 220th Trail, Amana, IA 52203 (Formerly Guest Haus Motor Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amana
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Guest House Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Galva, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

The staff was friendly and we had a quick check-in! The rooms were clean and beds were great. We also enjoyed the proximity to all of the restaurants, Millstream brewery and bakery. It was a relaxing stay! They have a wonderful deck area to gather with friends too. They have two buildings and we would ask to stay in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita F
Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Just like other reviews, we experienced a rather unpleasant woman at check-in. Unless she is the owner, I can't understand why they have her at the front desk to greet visitors. She really puts a damper on your vacation. Our room was very basic. Reminded me of motels back in the 70's. But I must say our room was immaculate.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Illinois-TA
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
353 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

We blocked some rooms here for our wedding last fall and had nothing but trouble with the owner. She is just not a nice person and difficult to deal with. The rooms are fine. The location is perfect, so if you are having your reception at the Festhalle Barn, as we were, you will likely need to book rooms here,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Coby S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Just finished my three day stay at the guest house. Stayed in the main building. Check in was normal. The room was a basic room with bed, bath, chest of draws. Adequate supply of towels,shampoo and soap were provided. Flat screen TV with good cable and good WIFI. Yes the mote lis a little dated but it was clean, no... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Johann R
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

We have been to Amana many times for many years. This was our first time here. The rooms were nice, bed comfortable, very quiet. Reception at check-in (around 2:30 pm) not very friendly/welcoming , seemed distracted, irritated, but to be fair, contractors with big lift were working in middle of drive preparing to paint bldg's. Due to the painting we... More 

Helpful?
Thank JTE1210
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

You can't beat the location if you want to be in Amana. The desk clerks weren't overly pleasant - pretty brunt; 'here is your key, don't smoke, drop your key off when you leave'. And as the choir below me has stated you are getting a bare bones motel room. Our room seemed fairly clean but in dire need of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We booked this hotel for our stay only because we couldn't find a B&B with availability. (Or that would return a call.) Based on previous reviews, we went in with low expectations that were all met. It is a clean, but very basic motel that appears to have not been updated since the 80's. (Other than the TV's.) Shampoo, face... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelPlanner8
Overland Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I have stayed at my share of minimal motels - I was not expecting this to be lavish by any means. I was in town for a friends wedding across the street - did not check in until about 10:30, which I had to call the person to come to the office. She was rude and barely spoke to me... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica K
Trekker765, Owner at Guest House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It's unfortunate that your stay was not what you were hoping for. Your comments do point out the fact that we do all that we can to avoid being a party motel for wedding reception parties held in the barn across the street from us . We have the unpleasant task of enforcing our... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Our family has stayed at the Guest House for several years during the Prelude to Christmas....renting 4 to 5 rooms. The hotel is very basic, but clean with pleasant staff. It provides the needs our family has for this seasonal celebration.

Helpful?
Thank Denise P
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The hotel was clean, and provided what was needed for our stay. I borrowed an iron and a hair dryer from the desk during our stay. The hotel was definitely plain and simple, but I didn't expect lavish surrounding in Amana! Would I stay there if I wanted a luxery getaway - no! But for what I needed - a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amillers
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amana
7.9 mi away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Homestead
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
11.4 mi away
Cozy House & Suites
Cozy House & Suites
#5 of 9 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities