We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guest House Motel

4712 220th Trail, Amana, IA 52203 (Formerly Guest Haus Motor Inn)
Guest House Motel
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    17
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Overland Park
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at my share of minimal motels - I was not expecting this to be lavish by any means. I was in town for a friends wedding across the street - did not check in until about 10:30, which I had to call the person to come to the office. She was rude and barely spoke to me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trekker765, Owner at Guest House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It's unfortunate that your stay was not what you were hoping for. Your comments do point out the fact that we do all that we can to avoid being a party motel for wedding reception parties held in the barn across the street from us . We have the unpleasant task of enforcing our... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Our family has stayed at the Guest House for several years during the Prelude to Christmas....renting 4 to 5 rooms. The hotel is very basic, but clean with pleasant staff. It provides the needs our family has for this seasonal celebration.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orange County, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The hotel was clean, and provided what was needed for our stay. I borrowed an iron and a hair dryer from the desk during our stay. The hotel was definitely plain and simple, but I didn't expect lavish surrounding in Amana! Would I stay there if I wanted a luxery getaway - no! But for what I needed - a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

First let me say, we drove street by street looking for a B&B and they were either closed or for sale so....we found this Guest House Motel. Our son got his own room and we took the other. Let me quote you the receipt.....$200 charge for smoking in the room and a $3.00 for stained linens......this was what greeted us....we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I made our reservations for Friday night for convenience for Oktoberfest. When making the reservation, made sure to double and triple-check that it was for the 3rd of October on Friday because I know how packed this festival can get. I made this reservation MONTHS in advance and Cindy assured me that we had the correct date and that Saturday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Five friends from across the country and I stayed at the Guest House Motel for four nights so that we could visit with each other and tour the Amana Colonies. Quiet, clean, great location for walking. Bring your own toiletries and hair dryer. One lady had a refrigerator in her room. That would have been a nice addition to other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This motel was very simple but super clean and comfortable. The room was basic with no frills, but with everything to see in Amana we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. The staff was friendly and helpful. the motel is centrally located, everything was within walking distance. We would stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kansas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Tried to get a hotel room on Interstate 80 & found all of them full. We always eat dinner at the Ox Yoke Inn in Amana, Iowa. So we tried the Guest House Motel in Amana. It is a small hotel centrally located in town. The room & bath were clean. It is a basic motel & could use some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The motel is a bit old, and amenities are few (while there was AC and an LED TV, soap and shampoo was minimal), the room was clean and the proprietors were friendly. You need to ask to borrow a hair dryer (no cost); I'm assuming an iron and ironing board are also available to borrow. The motel is situated perfectly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Troy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As other reviews have stated, this is not a fancy hotel. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable but it does not provide any real "extras." It would be very nice to have at least a refrigerator in a town that has such wonderful food and beverage items. Being able to chill a bottle of wine or preserve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities