We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guest House Motel

4712 220th Trail, Amana, IA 52203 (Formerly Guest Haus Motor Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amana
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Guest House Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    18
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just finished my three day stay at the guest house. Stayed in the main building. Check in was normal. The room was a basic room with bed, bath, chest of draws. Adequate supply of towels,shampoo and soap were provided. Flat screen TV with good cable and good WIFI. Yes the mote lis a little dated but it was clean, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We have been to Amana many times for many years. This was our first time here. The rooms were nice, bed comfortable, very quiet. Reception at check-in (around 2:30 pm) not very friendly/welcoming , seemed distracted, irritated, but to be fair, contractors with big lift were working in middle of drive preparing to paint bldg's. Due to the painting we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

You can't beat the location if you want to be in Amana. The desk clerks weren't overly pleasant - pretty brunt; 'here is your key, don't smoke, drop your key off when you leave'. And as the choir below me has stated you are getting a bare bones motel room. Our room seemed fairly clean but in dire need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We booked this hotel for our stay only because we couldn't find a B&B with availability. (Or that would return a call.) Based on previous reviews, we went in with low expectations that were all met. It is a clean, but very basic motel that appears to have not been updated since the 80's. (Other than the TV's.) Shampoo, face... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Overland Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I have stayed at my share of minimal motels - I was not expecting this to be lavish by any means. I was in town for a friends wedding across the street - did not check in until about 10:30, which I had to call the person to come to the office. She was rude and barely spoke to me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Trekker765, Owner at Guest House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It's unfortunate that your stay was not what you were hoping for. Your comments do point out the fact that we do all that we can to avoid being a party motel for wedding reception parties held in the barn across the street from us . We have the unpleasant task of enforcing our... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Our family has stayed at the Guest House for several years during the Prelude to Christmas....renting 4 to 5 rooms. The hotel is very basic, but clean with pleasant staff. It provides the needs our family has for this seasonal celebration.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The hotel was clean, and provided what was needed for our stay. I borrowed an iron and a hair dryer from the desk during our stay. The hotel was definitely plain and simple, but I didn't expect lavish surrounding in Amana! Would I stay there if I wanted a luxery getaway - no! But for what I needed - a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

First let me say, we drove street by street looking for a B&B and they were either closed or for sale so....we found this Guest House Motel. Our son got his own room and we took the other. Let me quote you the receipt.....$200 charge for smoking in the room and a $3.00 for stained linens......this was what greeted us....we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I made our reservations for Friday night for convenience for Oktoberfest. When making the reservation, made sure to double and triple-check that it was for the 3rd of October on Friday because I know how packed this festival can get. I made this reservation MONTHS in advance and Cindy assured me that we had the correct date and that Saturday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Five friends from across the country and I stayed at the Guest House Motel for four nights so that we could visit with each other and tour the Amana Colonies. Quiet, clean, great location for walking. Bring your own toiletries and hair dryer. One lady had a refrigerator in her room. That would have been a nice addition to other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amana
7.9 mi away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Homestead
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
13.1 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities