We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Altoona hotels

Adventureland Inn

3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Adventureland Inn to your Saves list
Adventureland Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Altoona
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jessica M Nashville, Tenn.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    36
    27
    36
See reviews for
102
Couples
0
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tenn.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My sister lives in Altoona, IA so we had a family reunion at the Adventureland Inn with family from three different states. There were 19 of us total ranging in age from 1 year to 79 years. Everyone had a blast! Check-in was a tad bit disappointing – you are supposed to be able to check in at 4 p.m.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at Adventureland Inn. We appreciate your attention to our details and your feedback. We are delighted you and your family had a wonderful experience with us for your Family Reunion. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you, Bri Fors More

Eldridge, Iowa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on spring break, and took my two nieces age 5 and 8 to stay the night and go swimming. The hotel its self is outdated and shabby. The real problem was after we went swimming and wanted to go to bed. We were in a jointed room, and although the doors were closed, we could hear the kids... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for the issue you experienced during your stay with us. We followed the protocol our facility has in place with suspicious illegal activity by calling the police. It is always unfortunate when authorities need to be called due to some of our guests choices. We stand by the actions taken (the current discount on the room and other... More

Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

In march it's quiet and there's a nice pool and hot tub that many people enjoyed today but last night no one was out there. this is just an average room. There isn't a safe or rack to place your suitcase. I have a outside facing room on the first floor the has a patio but no where to sit,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback we receive from guests. There is furniture for the outside patios that we offer during the summer. I will pass your wonderful feedback on our food along to our Culinary team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to... More

Delmar, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I and 2 small children (ages 1 and 3) stayed on Valentine's weekend in a balcony west room. I had been checking for over a month for a room at both here and the Ramada Tropics but both were booked. I luckily found a room 4 days before..and then another room for some friends the day before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Ashley, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We appreciate your detailed account of our staff and of everything we offer. We apologize for the slippery zero depth pool entrance and are working with our Maintenance team to better this issue. We are delighted to hear your overall stay with us was... More

Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed for one Saturday night in January with our girls ages six and three. The website says check in is at 4 pm but we showed up at 1 pm and were allowed to quickly check in.The hotel was clean and well cared for and the staff was friendly and attentive. This hotel has two different indoor courtyards and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will hopefully return before the winter is over. We hope that your next stay is even better than the first. Thank you again. More

Carlisle, Iowa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had my wedding in the two upstairs ballrooms this past weekend, and it started out really rough. First, the events coordinator wasn't on site to make sure everything was going smoothly. The sound wasn't working at first in the ceremony room and we had no idea how to work any of the equipment. Once the reception started, we started... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Prosper, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I are originally from Iowa, born and raised and this past weekend we made the trip back to spend some time with family. Unfortunately we picked the weekend of the Iowa/Iowa State Football game in Ames so we were forced to stay in a hotel between Des Moines and Ames in Altoona. I specifically picked the Adventure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Ron, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay at Adventureland Inn. We apologize your stay was not as justified as you were expecting. We value your constructive criticism which will in turn helps us better the quality of our hotel. Each year, we go through every room on property and make improvements to ensure... More

Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice room, we had a room pool side and it was noisy but that was expected. Plenty of room there, and clean enough. Rooms do cost more than what I think they should, but not to over the top. Pool was good, but again best suited for younger kids. Food was good, fair priced. Overall good experience and will be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We'd like to take the time to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us with the exception of the noise and the room prices. We do offer a coupon on our website and special promotions on our Facebook page for room rates on certain dates. We... More

Ralston, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a great place for the weekend. We spent a day at the park after we checked in to the hotel. We got a shuttle ride to the park, so didn't have to pay for parking at the park. Plus we got dropped off at the gate. We had a family suite, poolside, which was great for the small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Judy, We'd like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We're thrilled you enjoyed the shuttle to the park and our breakfast buffet. We value your thoughts and opinions and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future. More

Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding. Front desk staff were helpful with early check-ins and gave us vehicle passes to visit family in Adventureland Campground. Booked 2 junior suites poolside. We were pleased with our rooms. They had good amenities and were clean and new. Disappointed in the pool areas which were billed as a waterpark, but really had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay with us and value your thoughts on our property. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our Junior Suites along with the ballroom for the wedding. We can understand your disappointment in the pool areas if it were billed as a waterpark. We... More

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Hotel
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa
Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventureland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.