We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventureland Inn

3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Adventureland Inn
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    44
    51
    36
    40
See reviews for
137
Couples
0
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Butler, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came here when our autistic son was 7 and the pool was a good deal for him. We returned last year, he was 15. Aside from the shops, he's not a big fan of the amusement park or large waterparks so we spent our time inside the resort where we had the pool to ourselves all day long while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hopkinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently stay here while attending the Iowa State fair. Great location. Nicely remodeled lobby area. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Nice to have 2 sinks, one inside bathroom one out for ease in getting ready. Pool areas are nice. We had a balcony room over looking the pool bar area, a little loud but was tolerable. We Used the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are thrilled that you loved our updated lobby area as well as the sleeping rooms. We appreciate you commenting on the pizza as well as the taking the trolley over to the park. We hope to see you and your family again in the... More 

Davenport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit Adventureland and Adventureland Inn every year as a little getaway before school starts. Once again, we were pleased with our stay. While the prices run a little high for an average hotel, we loved our first floor, adjoining rooms with the little patio. They were clean, spacious, and with comfortable beds. Liked the remodeling to the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We appreciate your thoughts on our lobby renovation and are delighted how much you liked it. We will be working on our restaurant and food this off season in hopes to draw more guests to eating on property. I will give your review to our... More 

Des Moines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent the night there after spending the day at Adventureland Amusement Park. The place was very clean and staff was very nice. I was able to pre-check-in so we could get our wristbands to ride the shuttle to the park. I really liked the front lobby, it was very bright and trendy. My only dislike was the price of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. This off season we are adding a giant arcade and an 18 hole miniature golf course in hopes to draw children of all ages to all sorts of amenities as well as the pools. We did have a rate increase this year for the first... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a family tradition for us to stay at this inn every other year. We have never had any problems before. However, this year was down right awful. The inn did not get our reservations right, thus making us stay in one room one night and another room the other night. In the process of having to switch rooms, some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brianne F, General Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of my entire team I want to apologize for the problems you encountered while you were our guest. In your review, you mention you have stayed with us for many years and have never had a problem, so you know that this type of experience is not the norm. I will share your review with my entire team... More 

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed on a Thursday night into a Friday morning. Check in time is at 4:00pm. There was no early check in available this particular day, but they did allow us to pre-register so that we could get our arm bands to ride the trolley over to the park. Maybe this is something they always do, but either way I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed being able to preregister and go over to the park while your room was still being cleaned as well as the pools, sleeping rooms, and breakfast. We hope to see you and your family again in the future. Bri... More 

Rock Island, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Every year my dad takes his children and grandchildren to spend three nights and four days at Adventureland Inn. He rents many rooms for his crew. While the staff is usually pretty nice and accommodating this year I was a little disappointed. My dad is no spring chicken at 75 years of age. This is one major trip he looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on your stay with us. We would like to apologize for our front desk clerks and their lack of customer service towards your father. This is a training issue that I will pass on to the Front Desk Manager and it will be corrected. We hope that other parts of your stay were enjoyable... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

The hotel was very clean. Staff was nice and helpful. The free shuttle to Advetureland saved us the $10 parking fee also. They had a couple of indoor pools to choose from and let us swim after checkout the next day. It is a great compliment to the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write a review on your stay here at our hotel. We appreciate you pointing out the details from your stay in which you enjoyed including the clean hotel, helpful staff, and the free shuttle to Adventureland. We strive to ensure each guest has a wonderful stay with us and hope to see you and... More 

Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Our family of 4 adults and 4 kids stayed here while visiting Adventureland Park.... The location to the Park was a great benefit.... We used the Trolley to and from the park and found it very convenient....... the hotel is in need of serious updating... We stayed in the East Wing... paid extra to have pool side... but, after arriving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location to Adventureland Park and took advantage of the trolley. We also appreciate your tip to other guests about our courtyard areas. We hope to see you and your family again in the future. Bri Fors... More 

Davenport, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Had a great time! The hotel staff was excellent, my kids 3 & 6 really enjoyed the pools! Molly the trolley was perfect in getting us back and forth from the park. Very convenient. The room was clean and very quiet. Was a little nervous after reading the reviews, however, many people only comment when they have a "bad" experience.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed all aspects of your visit to the resort especially the pools and Molly the Trolley. We hope to see you and your family again in the future. Bri Fors Social media Coordinator More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 7 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#6 of 7 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
5.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities