We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Altoona hotels

Adventureland Inn

3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Adventureland Inn to your Saves list
Adventureland Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
41%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Altoona
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tony S Riverside, Iowa, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (189)
  • Photos (23)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    43
    34
    38
See reviews for
116
Couples
0
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alburnett, IA
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned home from our trip to Adventureland and Inn. This hotel is close to the park and offers a trolley to and from. Besides that there isn't much positive to say. It is dated and run down. The room looked horrible. There were no curtains, just an ugly plastic roller shade, and no pictures on the walls. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and criticisms. It is only due to guests like yourself that we are able to identify our weaknesses and continue to improve. We sincerely apologize the hotel fell short in the many areas you mention. We will work hard to address each and every issue. We are sorry you did not get to enjoy any... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was 194 with the swim up bar.You could see anything. Pool staff did nothing but scream. My granddaughter accidentally went down the slide wrong he screamed at her as her guardian I told him it was a accident and he kept screaming at her.we left and went to the other pool.That pregnant lady was constantly screaming.She was giving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. After receiving your review I had our maintenance and housekeeping staff check over the issues you brought to our attention in room 194. I have spoken directly to both pool and restaurant staff and have shared your comments with them as evidence of room for improvement. As a returning guest we thank you for your... More

Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We come to Adventureland Inn every year but this year was a little different because we had such a big group. I was very annoyed that as much as we paid for the rooms, there was NO breakfast included in on this. And even after spending money on the breakfast, it wasn't very good. There are so many dumb rules... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and criticisms. We sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay. There is simply no excuse for bad service. I have shared your comments with the entire staff as evidence of room for improvement. We will also take your suggestions under advisement as we make decisions on ways to improve. Were glad Joe... More

Riverside, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is convenient. Very close and kids love riding the troll to the park. Rooms are clean. Tile in bathrooms is like ice when wet. Just not smart to use glossy tile. The pools are nice. I just expect more for that price range.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and staying with us. We are delighted the kids enjoyed the trolleys. Thank you very much for the positive comment in regards to the room cleanliness. Our housekeeping staff has done an excellent job this season. We apologize we did not meet your expectation for the price. We will strive to make improvements and hope... More

Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Adventureland Inn could use some updating, but at least our rooms were clean. If you go to bed before 10:30, avoid the poolside room as it is noisy. But was quiet after that. The bfast buffet was a very poor excuse for a buffet. Eggs burnt into the pan, only white bread/English muffins, no cereal options. A very minimal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and positive comments for our housekeeping staff. They have truly done a wonderful job this season. I apologize for your experience with our breakfast buffet. I have shared your comments with our culinary staff and we will strive to improve the buffet while keeping the option as economical as possible. We look forward to seeing... More

Ralston, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for a family reunion. It was very convenient for family members going to Adventureland Amusement park. There is a shuttle and it is within walking distance. However the hotel itself was very ho-hum. The decor is dated and tired. Because it is overutilized I'm thinking the staff has a difficult time maintaining the facility. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us for your family reunion. We appreciate your feedback about the décor and condition of the hotel. We will convey your comments to the owners of Adventureland and strive to improve. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the pools and the trolley to Adventureland... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm here now. Rather dumpy for the price, filthy room. Still paid for parking but that's on me as I'm a disabled vet and needed to get closer to the park. But if you like drunks with/without loud kids around the swim up bar, swimming/playing in the hot tub, and generally splashing you in face as you try to just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate and thank you for your service. We also would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly location and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your business and will strive to improve. More

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a very relaxing day at the pool with grandchildren. It is small enough that you can keep your eyes on the kids, but large enough that they had a great time! Swim up bar opens at 3 pm! We had a two room suite. It was perfect for us. We had three adults and four children. The adults... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Suite and the swimming pools. We hope to see you are your family again in the future. More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting the Adventureland Amusement park. We chose this hotel because of it's indoor pool facilities, location near the park, and free trolley to and from the park. I'll start with the good. The two separate courtyard pool areas were great! Our 2 year old enjoyed the East courtyard with the frog... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. These are great tips for future guests. We apologize our team failed you and will work harder at explaining to all guests that unloading in the front is the way to go. We will forward on your suggestion for automatic doors to the owners. We... More

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Adventureland Inn Hotel has seen better days. This hotel and what it has to offer is a fun and exciting environment with all the poolside rooms and being so close to the actual amusement park. But trust me - there are way better choices in the Des Moines. The room we stayed in didnt have any windows which seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay. We apologize for the problems that you encountered while you were our guest and that our facility overall disappointed you. The hotel was built in 1971 and has gone through many updates over the past 43 years. We will use your comments as evidence of room for improvement and strive... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Adventureland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Altoona with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
185

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Adventureland Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer