We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventureland Inn

3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventureland Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Adventureland Inn
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    45
    34
    38
See reviews for
120
Couples
0
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Tama, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great stay at Adventureland Inn. The staff was great to work with and everyone that we met was very friendly. Our room was clean and well kept during our entire stay. We order take-out from their onsite restaurant to take to our rooms. Food and service were both good. We will definitely stay at this location again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was great to work with and friendly. We appreciate you pointing out details from your room as well as the service and food from our restaurant. We look forward to having you and your family stay with... More

Newton, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at Adventureland Inn many times. I really enjoy this Hotel. This is a great place for kids for the water slides. This is a great location because of the Adventureland Park next door for kids. This is located by a Casino for Parents and plenty of food locations for all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed you enjoyed the pools and the proximity to Adventureland Park and the Casino. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you and y our family again in the future. Bri Fors More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a very fun time even though i came in the off season the staff was very proffesional and helpful i never felt like i was a bother like at alot of other hotels will definatly be back during the winter to swim in the pools and sit at the swim up bar and enjoy a beer or 2!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the pools. We value all feedback we receive and thank you for praising our staff on their professionalism as well as their helpfulness. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Bri Fors More

North Liberty, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as part of a large group for a softball tournament. We were given a block, reduced rate for the room at $99/night. I was glad that we didn't pay more than that! Check in was quick, went to our room on the 2nd floor only to turn right around to request a new room because of the overwhelming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on our property. During the off season we renovate specific areas of the hotel and this year we will be working on the public areas to help update our facility. We appreciate your team staying at our hotel and are happy... More

Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Several family members stayed here recently for a family reunion. Although the property is older it is evident the staff and ownership do a very good job at keeping things up. Staff were friendly and did their best to welcome guests and attend to issues. The pools were clean and warm and the swim up bar a great place for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you posting a review on your stay with us for a family reunion. We are delighted that our facility, staff, and amenities were able to give you memorable weekend with your family. We value your feedback and will continue to strive to make each and every guest happy with their stay. We hope to see you and your... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

In town for a conference & received a great rate. After reading some of the past reviews I was very apprehensive about staying. It's the off season and it was great to have the whole hotel to ourselves (didn't miss the kids in the pool). The rooms were clean & well maintained, the pool area was freshly painted and every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us for your conference. We are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations through our hotel and our staff. We hope to see you again in the future. Bri Fors More

Waukee, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

My son's 8th birthday was coming up and when I asked him what he wanted to do he asked to go swim at a hotel. After looking at many of the area hotels -- and I mean we got in the car and went and actually looked at the hotels -- that offered birthday packages we decided Adventureland Inn was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Avery, Thank you for posting a review on your stay with us for your son's 8th birthday. We are delighted to hear how accommodating Adventureland Inn could be for the party with the sleeping room, arcades, birthday party package, and pools. We hope your son had a wonderful 8th birthday party and hope to share more birthdays with your family.... More

Alburnett, IA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We just returned home from our trip to Adventureland and Inn. This hotel is close to the park and offers a trolley to and from. Besides that there isn't much positive to say. It is dated and run down. The room looked horrible. There were no curtains, just an ugly plastic roller shade, and no pictures on the walls. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and criticisms. It is only due to guests like yourself that we are able to identify our weaknesses and continue to improve. We sincerely apologize the hotel fell short in the many areas you mention. We will work hard to address each and every issue. We are sorry you did not get to enjoy any... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The room was 194 with the swim up bar.You could see anything. Pool staff did nothing but scream. My granddaughter accidentally went down the slide wrong he screamed at her as her guardian I told him it was a accident and he kept screaming at her.we left and went to the other pool.That pregnant lady was constantly screaming.She was giving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. After receiving your review I had our maintenance and housekeeping staff check over the issues you brought to our attention in room 194. I have spoken directly to both pool and restaurant staff and have shared your comments with them as evidence of room for improvement. As a returning guest we thank you for your... More

Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We come to Adventureland Inn every year but this year was a little different because we had such a big group. I was very annoyed that as much as we paid for the rooms, there was NO breakfast included in on this. And even after spending money on the breakfast, it wasn't very good. There are so many dumb rules... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and criticisms. We sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay. There is simply no excuse for bad service. I have shared your comments with the entire staff as evidence of room for improvement. We will also take your suggestions under advisement as we make decisions on ways to improve. Were glad Joe... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay