We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Des Moines East

3225 Adventureland Dr, I-80 at exit #142, Altoona, IA 50009
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines East
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Des Moines East
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    11
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
15
6
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Van Horne, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We checked into our room and went down to the pool. The steps to get into the pool were slick and slimy as was the bottom of the pool in general. The floor in our room was not the cleanest. But the worst came at 10:00 at night when I went to put my toddler to bed and pulled back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda, Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the condition of the pool during your stay and any inconvenience it caused you. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you experienced different during your visit. The service issues you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The "modern " look made me feel as though I were sleeping in an office with the cheap laminate wood flooring and the beds felt like sleeping on overstuffed kindermats. Not comfortable. It is right next to a truckstop and that noise was a constant. I saved the worst for last. There were roaches in our room! Crawling on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Dear Terry, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues and noise concerns you describe. We are proud of our award winning Phoenix room redesign featuring wood-effect laminate floors, but are sorry to hear you did not enjoy... More 

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I wouldn't advise you to avoid this hotel, but Motel 6 is a low cost chain, and that is true of this pace. We got the last room, and the refrigerator and micro wave were an extra charge. Wi-fi was $3 extra. The room was basic but clean and adequate. There was no carpeting, which I see as a mixed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant City, Mssouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very unhappy with our visit to this motel. I called directly to the front desk, rather than the 1-800 number so that I could get the correct reservation. I had the grandkids and we were going to Adventureland just across the street. Because of having the kids as well as spending 2 nites it was important to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maquoketa, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

well let me just say when I booked this hotel nothing was said about WI-FI or The pool. So when we got there the pool was closed and u had to pay to use their WI-FI wasn't very clean. But the guy at front desk was awesome. You heard from someone outside about bed bugs and i'm not sure on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Patty, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern and bed comfort issues you describe. We apologize for the noise inconveniences you experienced and for the unsatisfactory response you received to your complaint. Motel 6 standards for quality... More 

Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was not clean. The towels were like sand-paper, small and stained. There was no shampoo, conditioner or lotion in the room. The TV remote did not work and the TV reception itself was poor. We will not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern and bed comfort issues you describe. We apologize for the safety and security inconveniences you experienced and for the unsatisfactory response you received to your complaint. Motel 6... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pics looked really good and the motel was close to everything we planned on going to. On a closer look at things our opinion changed. We became extremely disappointed. There were cigarette burn marks on the side of the tub. We got ice from the maker to use only to cool items.On further inspection it looked as if it had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Motel 6 standards... More 

Potosi, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the only hotel with vacancy in the area. Also the most affordable. Convenient location to I-80, Adventureland and Prairie Meadows Casino and Racetrack. The room was clean, very spartan (not even carpet). TV, mini fridge, microwave and AC . Surprisingly the room was very quiet and served our purposes quite well. Also, wifi for a small fee. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mc Cool Junction
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

They recently renovated this place but it is dirty, low class and has zero services. They charge for internet, have no breakfast, even toast and don't even put shampoo in the rooms. Instead of carpet they used cheap laminate flooring there is a cheap table and a wood chair for furniture. I have stayed at several Motel 6 motels and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our award winning Phoenix room redesign featuring wood-effect laminate floors. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Motel 6 foundations are rooted in economical practicalities to... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

The room was pretty low key, basics but ok. Cheery orange and yellow, kind of Ikea simple. I was ok with the no frills. However, the bed was terrible. Ter-rible. It was like 2 box springs with no mattress. Are beds supposed to sway like a camel on a walk? The pool was out of order, and the sign never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#6 of 7 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 7 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
5.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites of Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay