We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Des Moines East

3225 Adventureland Dr, I-80 at exit #142, Altoona, IA 50009
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Des Moines East
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wilmington, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

Had two rooms for an overnight on the way to Chicago. The reviews I read varied widely, but the more recent ones were getting better. Decided to take a chance at the reasonable rate. We were pleasantly surprised, as both rooms were very clean. This is definitely a no frills facility. Basics only. No coffee in the room. Did have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Rooms were close together as requested but you don't get the clean, homey feeling. Then after a night at Prairie Meadows I opened the door to leave and a swarm of cock roaches were all over the floor! Even after the sun came up the place doesn't feel safe and secure. Doors don't latch to automatically lock. Never ever will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan D

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

Room was musty smelling and smelled like smoke! No coffee pot and very few towels. Not worth the money! Would never stay again. Bed spread had a cig burn and pillows smelt like smoke. Only good thing was close to Big Steer! Not worth the price, hard to believe they ever get booked up! Would not recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Jerelyn K
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Dear Jerelyn, Thank you for posting your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We do accommodate our... More 

Davenport, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Cockroaches, dirty linens, locks on doors between rooms broken. Pubic hair on dresser. Bodily fluid stains on pillows. The list goes on and on. Took three room changes to get one that was able to be stepped into. Yet this room was horrible also.

Helpful?
Thank maqkathy
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We encourage... More 

Omaha
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

ok - across the street from adventure land. If I wasn't taking grandchildren to Adventure Land I would not stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpful!! The is very nice and warm, we did enjoy the water.

Helpful?
Thank Pat M
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

Lets see booked online month in advance two rooms. Called week before arrival to confirm. Was told it was all set. Arrived August 8 as planned. Rooms were not ready so paid and said we were going to adventureland and would return later. Returned about 830 pm. Couldnt find us in computer. Hadnt given me a receipt in morning when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lillian W
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Lillian, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay as a result of the inconveniences you experienced with the size of the room during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you experienced. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on... More 

Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We stayed here knowing that we were choosing the lowest priced room in the area. We were hoping to find a basic place to sleep and get a shower. Make sure if you stay here you bring EVERYTHING you will need. They provide you a couple bars of soap and few plastic cups. If you are used to seeing a... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelswithkids2013
Van Horne, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We checked into our room and went down to the pool. The steps to get into the pool were slick and slimy as was the bottom of the pool in general. The floor in our room was not the cleanest. But the worst came at 10:00 at night when I went to put my toddler to bed and pulled back... More 

Helpful?
Thank rhonda s
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda, Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the condition of the pool during your stay and any inconvenience it caused you. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you experienced different during your visit. The service issues you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

The "modern " look made me feel as though I were sleeping in an office with the cheap laminate wood flooring and the beds felt like sleeping on overstuffed kindermats. Not comfortable. It is right next to a truckstop and that noise was a constant. I saved the worst for last. There were roaches in our room! Crawling on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry W
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines East, responded to this review

Dear Terry, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues and noise concerns you describe. We are proud of our award winning Phoenix room redesign featuring wood-effect laminate floors, but are sorry to hear you did not enjoy... More 

Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

I wouldn't advise you to avoid this hotel, but Motel 6 is a low cost chain, and that is true of this pace. We got the last room, and the refrigerator and micro wave were an extra charge. Wi-fi was $3 extra. The room was basic but clean and adequate. There was no carpeting, which I see as a mixed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.6 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 7 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#5 of 7 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#4 of 7 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
5.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#24 of 47 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay