We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn Altoona

2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009 (Formerly Altoona Settle Inn)
Hotel amenities
Comfort Inn Altoona
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015
Amykunzfoley
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    11
    8
    14
See reviews for
13
20
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We have stayed several times while visiting the nearby casino. The rooms are a little dated, but always clean with a good free breakfast and the staff has always been friendly. We liked the shuttle bus to and from the casino. We enjoyed the hot tub

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northwood, Iowa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

2 nights early December, 2014- comfortable room. Nice and assisting staff. Will stay here again. Did not use the pool, but look appealing. Check in was easy. Parking plentiful. Room was clean - could not ask for more. Questikon - why does trip advisiorn ask for 200 minimum characters

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the settle inn for two nights. Initially we were only staying one but after we got into our suite we decided to stay. We stayed in the oriental suite. Everything was perfect the staff was more than helpful! Breakfast was good the beds were divine. I cannot express how pleased we were with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valerie H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Congratulations to you and your husband. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are very happy that you had a wonderful time with us. We enjoyed helping make your special day a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

For the price of the rooms you expect something better. The ice machine is broken, no hot tub, the pool is dirty, hallways feel like your going to fall through. This place is nasty and I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. Unfortunately, the hot tub was removed March 13 and we have had all the online info regarding a hot tub removed. The staff are trying to make sure all guests are informed of this when taking reservations. I apologize if... More 

Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the Settle Inn July 10-12, 2014. The only room left was a smoking room. Upon check in we asked if there were any non-smoking rooms to which the clerk said no "we are booked solid all weekend." We stayed in room 316, as soon as we entered the room it smelled as you could imagine, the smell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. As I told you directly, unfortunately when you booked your room via Expedia, you did book a smoking room, which is all we had left the week you booked. If we would have had a non-smoking room available, it would... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hello! My husband and I wanted a weekend getaway. First problem was we booked a non-smoking room and was asked to sign a paper stating we would not smoke or have pets. As we got to our room, we notices ash trays and it smelled musty, & like old cigarette smoke. Upon calling the front desk, were told there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your less than stellar stay! I saw that you had booked your own reservation through the Settle Inn website. The description (which I am cutting and pasting directly from the website) states: 1 King Presidental Bedroom Themed Whirlpool Presidential. Abraham Lincoln era room. 1 King size bed, 2 person in room whirlpool tub, wireless high... More 

Edinburg, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We travel regularly and try to find mid range price hotels. We came from Texas to take our d a daughter and son in law and 4 kids to adventure land First night there we're bad storms. The staff made sure we were all safe and knew the place to go. The manager and staff are some of the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy you had a great stay and felt safe and comfortable. My staff and I are really working hard to make the improvements we can and provide better service. We so appreciate the feedback! Erin, GM More 

La Porte, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was looking for an inexpensive, but clean place to stay. While the price was right, the cleanliness was not. Hotel is very run down and dingy looking. The bathtub was dirty and stained. I feel like I could have got a better room for the price. The hotel lobby reeked of pesticide. On the plus side the beds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Although I did not take over as General Manager until 5-13-14, I am truly sorry that your stay with us was sub standard. We do appreciate your comments and the detail that show were we need to pay closer attention to detail and that was taken up with all of our staff. I do wish we could meet your expectations... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

planned to stay 2 nites. Checked immediately upon checkin for bedbugs and did not find any or signs of but felt like I was getting bit in the middle if the night anditching. Pulled bavk comforter in the morning and one was crawling on the bed. Caught it with the sticky part if a bandaid took it down to front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

We here at Settle Inn Altoona take all insect issues serious. We get them brought in from nature. We always check the room out three times after an issue has been brought to our attention. First the manager and head housekeeper check the room, with tearing the bed completely apart and check all areas bugs can hide, that investigation showed... More 

Batavia, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Settle Inn before. We stayed in the Vineyards King Whirlpool Suite Saturday evening. The price was wonderful. The room was elegant. The bed was very soft and comfortable The room was perfectly WARM!The staff is very nice. Everything is very clean with the exception of the Fake grapes hanging on the walls...they were quite dusty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thank you Melissa for taking time out of your day to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are going into a renovation stage pretty soon, I will let them know of your suggestion about the whirlpool rooms. Hope to see you soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question