We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Altoona hotels

Altoona Settle Inn

2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Altoona Settle Inn to your Saves list
Altoona Settle Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
45%
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
aimeejM
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    10
    7
    14
See reviews for
13
19
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the settle inn for two nights. Initially we were only staying one but after we got into our suite we decided to stay. We stayed in the oriental suite. Everything was perfect the staff was more than helpful! Breakfast was good the beds were divine. I cannot express how pleased we were with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

For the price of the rooms you expect something better. The ice machine is broken, no hot tub, the pool is dirty, hallways feel like your going to fall through. This place is nasty and I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Erin L, General Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. Unfortunately, the hot tub was removed March 13 and we have had all the online info regarding a hot tub removed. The staff are trying to make sure all guests are informed of this when taking reservations. I apologize if... More

Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the Settle Inn July 10-12, 2014. The only room left was a smoking room. Upon check in we asked if there were any non-smoking rooms to which the clerk said no "we are booked solid all weekend." We stayed in room 316, as soon as we entered the room it smelled as you could imagine, the smell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erin L, General Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. As I told you directly, unfortunately when you booked your room via Expedia, you did book a smoking room, which is all we had left the week you booked. If we would have had a non-smoking room available, it would... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Hello! My husband and I wanted a weekend getaway. First problem was we booked a non-smoking room and was asked to sign a paper stating we would not smoke or have pets. As we got to our room, we notices ash trays and it smelled musty, & like old cigarette smoke. Upon calling the front desk, were told there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erin L, General Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your less than stellar stay! I saw that you had booked your own reservation through the Settle Inn website. The description (which I am cutting and pasting directly from the website) states: 1 King Presidental Bedroom Themed Whirlpool Presidential. Abraham Lincoln era room. 1 King size bed, 2 person in room whirlpool tub, wireless high... More

Edinburg, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We travel regularly and try to find mid range price hotels. We came from Texas to take our d a daughter and son in law and 4 kids to adventure land First night there we're bad storms. The staff made sure we were all safe and knew the place to go. The manager and staff are some of the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Erin L, General Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy you had a great stay and felt safe and comfortable. My staff and I are really working hard to make the improvements we can and provide better service. We so appreciate the feedback! Erin, GM More

La Porte, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was looking for an inexpensive, but clean place to stay. While the price was right, the cleanliness was not. Hotel is very run down and dingy looking. The bathtub was dirty and stained. I feel like I could have got a better room for the price. The hotel lobby reeked of pesticide. On the plus side the beds were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin L, General Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Although I did not take over as General Manager until 5-13-14, I am truly sorry that your stay with us was sub standard. We do appreciate your comments and the detail that show were we need to pay closer attention to detail and that was taken up with all of our staff. I do wish we could meet your expectations... More

Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

planned to stay 2 nites. Checked immediately upon checkin for bedbugs and did not find any or signs of but felt like I was getting bit in the middle if the night anditching. Pulled bavk comforter in the morning and one was crawling on the bed. Caught it with the sticky part if a bandaid took it down to front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

We here at Settle Inn Altoona take all insect issues serious. We get them brought in from nature. We always check the room out three times after an issue has been brought to our attention. First the manager and head housekeeper check the room, with tearing the bed completely apart and check all areas bugs can hide, that investigation showed... More

Batavia, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Settle Inn before. We stayed in the Vineyards King Whirlpool Suite Saturday evening. The price was wonderful. The room was elegant. The bed was very soft and comfortable The room was perfectly WARM!The staff is very nice. Everything is very clean with the exception of the Fake grapes hanging on the walls...they were quite dusty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Melissa for taking time out of your day to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are going into a renovation stage pretty soon, I will let them know of your suggestion about the whirlpool rooms. Hope to see you soon. More

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've stayed at this location 3 or 4 times. Breakfast provided helps me to get on the road in good order. Each time gets worse I stay as their seems to be no maintenance. Broken lamp shades, for example. VERY reasonable price, however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on us. We would like to get your concerns with our rooms corrected. Please call me at 515-967-7888 so we can go over the rooms you have had, and the exact issue with each room. We need your input so we can get our housekeepers trained to do a better job at spotting these... More

South English, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay. After searching all over the internet for somewhere close to Adventureland, we found Settle Inn. We were VERY impressed by the pictures and the price was cheaper than most around there so I did a 14 day advance reservation to get around $20 off of each night. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will be getting new furniture in the near future. We should be getting refrigerators and microwaves during phase two of our updating mission. Please call when you will be in the area we would love to serve you again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Altoona Settle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Altoona Settle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altoona Settle Inn

Address: 2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Altoona Settle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altoona Settle Hotel Altoona
Altoona Settle Inn Iowa

20 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Altoona with
any amenities