We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Altoona hotels

Altoona Settle Inn

2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Altoona Settle Inn to your Saves list
Altoona Settle Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
47%
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Altoona
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Samantha O
  • Reviews (51)
  • Photos (16)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    10
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
19
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hello! My husband and I wanted a weekend getaway. First problem was we booked a non-smoking room and was asked to sign a paper stating we would not smoke or have pets. As we got to our room, we notices ash trays and it smelled musty, & like old cigarette smoke. Upon calling the front desk, were told there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin L, General Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your less than stellar stay! I saw that you had booked your own reservation through the Settle Inn website. The description (which I am cutting and pasting directly from the website) states: 1 King Presidental Bedroom Themed Whirlpool Presidential. Abraham Lincoln era room. 1 King size bed, 2 person in room whirlpool tub, wireless high... More

Edinburg, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travel regularly and try to find mid range price hotels. We came from Texas to take our d a daughter and son in law and 4 kids to adventure land First night there we're bad storms. The staff made sure we were all safe and knew the place to go. The manager and staff are some of the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Erin L, General Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy you had a great stay and felt safe and comfortable. My staff and I are really working hard to make the improvements we can and provide better service. We so appreciate the feedback! Erin, GM More

La Porte, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was looking for an inexpensive, but clean place to stay. While the price was right, the cleanliness was not. Hotel is very run down and dingy looking. The bathtub was dirty and stained. I feel like I could have got a better room for the price. The hotel lobby reeked of pesticide. On the plus side the beds were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin L, General Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Although I did not take over as General Manager until 5-13-14, I am truly sorry that your stay with us was sub standard. We do appreciate your comments and the detail that show were we need to pay closer attention to detail and that was taken up with all of our staff. I do wish we could meet your expectations... More

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

planned to stay 2 nites. Checked immediately upon checkin for bedbugs and did not find any or signs of but felt like I was getting bit in the middle if the night anditching. Pulled bavk comforter in the morning and one was crawling on the bed. Caught it with the sticky part if a bandaid took it down to front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

We here at Settle Inn Altoona take all insect issues serious. We get them brought in from nature. We always check the room out three times after an issue has been brought to our attention. First the manager and head housekeeper check the room, with tearing the bed completely apart and check all areas bugs can hide, that investigation showed... More

Batavia, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Settle Inn before. We stayed in the Vineyards King Whirlpool Suite Saturday evening. The price was wonderful. The room was elegant. The bed was very soft and comfortable The room was perfectly WARM!The staff is very nice. Everything is very clean with the exception of the Fake grapes hanging on the walls...they were quite dusty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Melissa for taking time out of your day to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are going into a renovation stage pretty soon, I will let them know of your suggestion about the whirlpool rooms. Hope to see you soon. More

Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've stayed at this location 3 or 4 times. Breakfast provided helps me to get on the road in good order. Each time gets worse I stay as their seems to be no maintenance. Broken lamp shades, for example. VERY reasonable price, however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on us. We would like to get your concerns with our rooms corrected. Please call me at 515-967-7888 so we can go over the rooms you have had, and the exact issue with each room. We need your input so we can get our housekeepers trained to do a better job at spotting these... More

South English, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay. After searching all over the internet for somewhere close to Adventureland, we found Settle Inn. We were VERY impressed by the pictures and the price was cheaper than most around there so I did a 14 day advance reservation to get around $20 off of each night. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will be getting new furniture in the near future. We should be getting refrigerators and microwaves during phase two of our updating mission. Please call when you will be in the area we would love to serve you again. More

Ames, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed there when we went to adventureland. The location was nice and close to the amusement park. The kids loved the castle theme outside of the hotel and were treated really well by staff. The breakfast was good. The room smelled a little funny, but other than that it was great. Also, there wasn't a fridge in the room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We have started updating rooms, yet we started with TV's and getting HD ready. Once that project is complete then phase two is furniture which will include microwaves and refrigerators. Please call us when any travels bring you our way. More

Genoa, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we were directed to this hotel from the casino across the street. we walked in and while we had to wait for assistance as the girl was on the phone with other customers, she was very friendly and helpful and accommodating as we didn't have a reservation. the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. and priced very reasonable!! the casino... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. The casino and us always try to help each other out. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please look us up when your future travels bring you to the Des Moines/Altoona Iowa area. More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stopped at the Settle Inn while passing through heading west. Nice clean room, and very quiet. Breakfast selection was decent and the staff were friendly. The parking lot was lit like the sun at night which I liked since we had a lot of stuff in the car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loretta L, Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for finding us, and taking time to write this review. We are here to fulfill your housing needs when you are in our area. Give us a call the next time your travels bring you our way. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Altoona Settle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Altoona Settle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altoona Settle Inn

Address: 2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Altoona Settle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altoona Settle Hotel Altoona
Altoona Settle Inn Iowa

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
67

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer