We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Athens

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2465 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30606
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Express Athens
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Athens
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Nadine F
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    45
    23
    37
See reviews for
57
30
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Blairsville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff very friendly & efficient. Room Needs painting w cheerful colors!! Get rid of the bile green walls & depressing avocado green cheap spreads. Iron the bed skirts!! Clean dead roaches, etc. from slider tracks!!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel thru a website and was skeptical about it, but after I checked in, I was pleasantly surprised by the comfy beds. You can tell it was remodeled, however the sliding glass doors need to have better security on them. The TV wasn't the best quality and needs to be upgraded. Overall yes I would stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a king room near the office. It was remodeled and had a nice modern decor. Access to rooms is from the inside and you have to have a room key to access the hallway. The front desk staff was pleasant and accommodating. It was a quiet uneventful night, which was perfect for a business trip. Also the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

We are all thrilled to learn that you enjoyed such a pleasant experience with us. It is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in making you feel at home and that you experienced no difficulties with our services or amenities. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five star review, and we can't wait to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had no choice but to get this hotel as the my first choices were filled up. It was a busy weekend in Athens. The lady who helped us with the reservation was nice. The rest of the staff, too, were okay except for this one lady who happened to be there during check out. She was rude and did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We strive to give you a wonderful experience, and I am happy to discover that you were very pleased with the rest of our staff; though I am terribly sorry to hear about our checkout staff. I assure you that we take such issues very seriously and I hope you... More 

East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Door to hall did not fit well--suspect you could open it with a kick. You did need a key to get into the building, though. Door to exterior/pool area was not locked when I arrived, though a secondary stopper lock was in place. Security lighting around the pool courtyard was so bright, it interfered with sleep. Bed was comfortable enough,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the ways that we can improve upon the guest experience in our hotel and we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed. We want you to experience the best... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Stayed here with my family. The price was affordable and had a good continental breakfast. The place was accessible to downtown Athens, Georgia. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a not fancy and pricey hotel but still one you could say home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel to downtown Athens, Georgia! It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities such as our good continental breakfast. I am thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I stayed over the weekend for two days at this hotel for a family function in the area. But I had the worse experience, first of all; the water pressure was very low, the toilet seat needed to be changed, after a long drive from D.C, I just wanted to get a good night sleep. However after we woke up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties and for the unfortunate incident that you experienced regarding the visit of unwelcome pests in your guest room. Thank you for alerting us to a potential pest problem. We are investigating and treating to make sure that this is an isolated incident. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question