We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Athens

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2465 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30606
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Express Athens
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Athens
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
George C France
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    32
    38
    52
    23
    38
See reviews for
64
33
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A run of the mill motel/hotel. Room was a good size and fairly clean. It was fairly quiet and the hotel was in a good location for overnighters. We didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment. All in all we had a reasonable night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was good, people very nice and helpful. Room was clean and had all the usual things needed, but A/C was jammed against side of bed and kept cycling on and off, not responding to controls. It was OK but not easy to sleep with.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

I am so happy to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality, service, and cleanliness. It is also important to us to hear from you on the issues that you experienced in our A/C, so that they can be quickly addressed. We also appreciate your ideas for improving on our amenities, and we look forward to serving you again! More 

Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was probably built in the 70s but has recently been refurbished. The room is a little smaller than some of the newer hotels. The room is clean and bug free. Ac works well. Shower had good stream and plenty of hot water. Large flat screen tv mounted to the wall. Had microfridg, foam mattress, ample outlets to charge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

I can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed reading this review. Your positive review means a lot to us. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities such as our clean and bug free room, as well as our large flat screen TV to the wall, microwave, fridge,... More 

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got in late on a rainy night, and didn't think one night would matter much for a place to sleep. So it was cheap, but next time I'll pay more for a clean place. I was itchy from the moment I got into bed. I think it was fleas. Had small bites on arms and legs the next day. Hair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience that you had at our hotel. Please be assured that we will take measures to ensure that the rooms are kept clean so our guests will be able to sleep soundly and comfortably. Please give us another chance and we will exert all efforts to ensure your stay is a memorable one. More 

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Fort Valley, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Decent place to stay. Rooms could be maintained better. Our room had a broken security chain on the door. Internet speed was rather poor but they were 100% occupied. The bed covers had cigarette burns. I was pleased with the location, cost, staff.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I apologize for the issues that you encountered. We can't thank you enough for sharing the ways that we were able to impress you and the ways that we can continue to improve upon... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay