We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Athens

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2465 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30606
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Express Athens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Athens
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
rjv912
Share an Experience

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    44
    22
    37
See reviews for
57
30
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Door to hall did not fit well--suspect you could open it with a kick. You did need a key to get into the building, though. Door to exterior/pool area was not locked when I arrived, though a secondary stopper lock was in place. Security lighting around the pool courtyard was so bright, it interfered with sleep. Bed was comfortable enough,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with my family. The price was affordable and had a good continental breakfast. The place was accessible to downtown Athens, Georgia. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a not fancy and pricey hotel but still one you could say home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel to downtown Athens, Georgia! It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities such as our good continental breakfast. I am thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed over the weekend for two days at this hotel for a family function in the area. But I had the worse experience, first of all; the water pressure was very low, the toilet seat needed to be changed, after a long drive from D.C, I just wanted to get a good night sleep. However after we woke up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties and for the unfortunate incident that you experienced regarding the visit of unwelcome pests in your guest room. Thank you for alerting us to a potential pest problem. We are investigating and treating to make sure that this is an isolated incident. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number... More 

Aurora, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property was clean and staff friendly. There were some maintenance issues with the heat and door leading to outside. The bed was comfortable but I would have liked no contact with the bed cover unfortunately it was necessary.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations with our clean hotel, comfortable accommodations and friendly staff, though I am sorry that you found our bed cover to be unclean. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas of our service impressed you and which were lacking. I hope that you that you'll return... More 

Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Athens for a big event so I ended up paying twice what they usually charge for this room. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable which means a lot to me. The biggest issue was the water pressure in the morning was low and the water ran cold so I guess many people were taking... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
minesh p, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations in some ways such as our very clean and comfortable beds, though I am sorry that you found our water pressure to be an issue. We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon this issue. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question