We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge at Pico Bonito

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Hotel packages
AP 710, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras
Offers & Announcements
Sultry Romance,
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lodge at Pico Bonito
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We just returned from a 21-day stay at the Lodge, our second time visiting, as both guests and as birding tour leaders. We just love the beautiful setting, the restful cabins and the bird-watching. But the top quality staff and birding guides are what really set Pico Bonito apart from the competition. The staff are expert at quickly learning your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine E
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

Hi Christine! We truly appreciate your wonderful comments! We were honored to have you as our guests and Tour Leaders. It is our duty to make our guests' experience while at the Lodge a memorable one, and we are happy to know we have accomplished this. Please do visit us once again and we will be more than happy to... More 

Grand Cayman
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a great area for hiking, climbing and meeting the local people. However, the hotel over-charged us just because the package was ordered via Orbitz.com Hotel representatives claimed is it the websites' responsibility when in reality it is another way to charge a little extra for no service in return. The hotel should be ashamed for such poor behavior... More 

Helpful?
Thank David S
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

Hello David! We are truly sorry about your situation. As we had mentioned to you during your checkout, this is the first time an Orbitz guest has had this issue because we have had many since The Lodge opened. This situation was completely out of our hands and its sad that Orbitz could not resolve this issue as they did... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely property and cabins, but that's where the satisfaction ended. Unless you're an avid birder and want to go on excursions off the property, they're really isn't much to do at The Lodge. With all of the rain, the Loop trail was extremely slippery and so we only ventured to the Mermaid Falls and the other swimming hole. I thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank liketheheat
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

Hello Friends! Thank you for your comments, we will be glad to take them into account as your opinion is very valuable to us. Warm Regards, The Team at Pico Bonito More 

Scotland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A beautiful place in a beautiful setting. Everything was fresh as if I were the first person staying there. Staff was very attentive. Food excellent but way too big of portions. I had an unattached cabin with a beautiful vase of flowers on the table. I just didnt have enough time to enjoy the porch and hammock. Next time.

Helpful?
Thank 222Nancy
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

Hi Nancy! We were honored to have you as our guest. Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable. We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise. Sincerely, The Team at Pico Bonito More 

Bonnyville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a Spectacular place to visit. The food was great and the rooms were exceptional. We only stayed the one night the the experience will stay with us forever.The staff was very friendly and helpful. I couldn't get over the humming birds, so many different colors. The night hike was a memorable expediences as was the loop. I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charawich
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

Hi Charawich! Thank you for your wonderful comments! It was an honor having you as our privileged guest. It is our mission to make your stay a memorable one and We are glad to know we have achieved this with you. Please do return to share our little piece of paradise with you! Warm Regards from the Team at Pico... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Pico Bonito for 7 nights in November 2015. This is a very well run establishment. Primarily set up for bird watchers it has some great trails and hummingbird feeders. The staff are excellent, very well trained - attentive and very efficient. The food was simply exceptional probably the best we have had at a birding lodge anywhere.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

Hi Steve! It was an honor having you as our guest in our little piece of paradise. It is our mission to make sure your experience here becomes memorable and are glad to know we have accomplished it. Please do return and we will be more than glad to give you the same well deserved services. Warm regards from the... More 

Arcata, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our experience at Pico Bonito and Honduras. The lodge is upscale without being over the top, the rooms are well appointed, spacious and comfortable. The service is fantastic; on top of everything without interfering with our experience. The excursions are well planned, private and safe (think personal military guards on the train to the lagoon). The grounds are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jhaquett
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

Hello Jhaquett!! It was a pleasure to have you over for your vacations! We are glad you enjoyed the most of it with us. We do apologize for the construction and the small event which was goin on during your stay. You will be glad to know that construction will end in a few days and we will be opening... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everything about our visit was perfection. The cabins are situated throughout the grounds, connected by a network of gravel paths, lit beautifully at night, giving you a sense of serenity and privacy in the beauty of the rainforest. All the activities were easy to book and well organized. We took two hikes through the national forest, a river tour through... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lillian L
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

Hi Lilian!! We truly appreciate your wonderful comments! It is our mission to make of your vacations stay a memorable experience so you can share with your loved ones. We are happy to know we have accomplished this mission with you. Please do return so that we can provide you with the same VIP treatment as last time. Warm Regards... More 

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I was quite upset to find that when we arrived that on the next morning we were woken up at 5:30am to VERY loud hammering and electric saws. When I called the front dest, they simply said that they were working on the spa and it needed to be built. To have guests who have come specifically to the hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulainSF
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

We truly regret your unsatisfactory experience in our piece of paradise. Like in all hotels, upgrades, repairs and construction are part of keeping our property modern and beautiful. The work typically begins at 6:30am, after our guests are up and on their way to their excursions, but we are sorry that you were woken up with the noise on that... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

This is truly an amazing place, The Lodge at Pico Bonito is Heaven on Earth. Our family spent 5 magical day with the most welcoming staff. We did it all, rafting, has horseback riding, snorkeling and hiking. Every day was a new adventure. The accommodations are first class. We have never felt more at home on our vacation. Each and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyamleonard
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review

Hello friends! We truly appreciate your wonderful comments! It is our daily duty to make your stay with us a memorable experience and we are glad to know that we have accomplished our goal with you. Please do visit us once again to share our little piece of paradise! Happy New Year! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

418 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (330)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ceiba
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Indura Beach And Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Village
Hotel Rainbow Village
#2 of 21 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 21 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#4 of 21 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay