We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sotz Hostel

Calle Santander | 50m After the Post Office on Right, Panajachel, Guatemala
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014
Emma N Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This small hostel was just okay, we stayed in a twin private room and used the shared bathrooms (2 pokey rooms, one with a post-it saying 'Cold Water - Sorry :) ). The room was clean but the sheets on one bed were torn and stained in several places and when we asked for towels from who we thought was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at this hostel were nice enough, however they often disappeared so that there were no staff to be found for hours at a time. My biggest complaint would be the issue of water - when the water did work, it was cold. But most appalling was the practice of turning the water off during certain hours - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

I'm sure I'll get a lengthy response from the owner as per anyone else who has written anything less than positive, but you'll see from my profile I've done a bit of travel so draw your own conclusions. This hostel is actually about four bedrooms with a kitchen in a separate building. The amenities are fine, nothing special & I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Erich O, Propietario at Sotz Hostel, responded to this review

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Sotz Hostel. You stayed with us a little over six months ago and your review is describing an experience that is no longer relevant to future guests. We have new staff members as well as new volunteers and we are always in a state of renewal. It's true that many... More 

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed in Sotz hostel recently with a friend. It's location is perfect just off the main street. Near all the shops and the lake but not too near the pubs so its a peaceful sleep. Its a small hostel and the rooms are very clean and so was the bathroom. We had a nice little balcony where we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We've stayed in Sotz for a month, while we doing murals to the hostel. Besides being like a family with everyone in the hostel, sotz means peace, calm and home to us. We enjoyed our stay there a lot. What I can say is, the hostel is very clean, quiet, comfy and peaceful with its beautiful lemon trees. Thanks for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erich O, Manager at Sotz Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Infinite love, gratitude and appreciation. :) More 

Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Sotz is likely one of the better options in Pana for budget hostels, but I can't honestly say I found it to be a great spot or a highlight of Guatemalan hostels for me. It certainly doesn't look at pretty as the pictures. The room was okay and kind of spacious, but for the price and having to share a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Erich O, Owner at Sotz Hostel, responded to this review

The only relevant piece of truth to this review is that "Sotz is likely one of the better options in Pana for budget hostels." The remaining points mentioned in this review are misrepresentative of Sotz Hostel and we will clarify each point below: Our pictures are not photoshopped, they are real. Our rooms are spacious and clean, with comfortable new... More 

Geislingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Sotz hostel in Panajachel is a quiet little hostel in a byroad next to the mainstreet. The room was clean, tidy and spacious. The only problem were the mosquitoes but i don't think any other hotel near the lake would be better, especially in the rainy season. We could dry our clothes on the lines and use the filtered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I didn't plan on staying at Sotz, but I'm sure glad I did. Erich and Lindsay are not only awesome owners but awesome people. Extremely friendly and very accommodating. Beds are comfy and rooms were clean. I couldn't ask for anything more. Laying in the hammock with a few of their puppies made me feel right at home. Thanks guys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

First off, do you like puppies? If you are a normal human being- look no further. The owners have 2 loving mini pincher puppies who made our stay that much better! The hostel caretaker and owner are very friendly and accommodating. The beds are comfy and the garden is a great space to relax and hangout with the pups. Lastly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very nice and quiet hostel. It feels like home there. The rooms are large and comfy. The owner Lindsay is really nice to o. There's dogs on site which contribute too feel like home! The location is great, main street and it's close to the lake although you are not really seeing it from there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question