We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Hotel amenities
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014
Martyn D Barbados
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    14
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this place with my girlfriend and two other friends in the end of December 2013. I loved the natural and peaceful surroundings with brilliant view of the lake. The only disadvantage is that it's location is a few minutes away from the town so we had to take a tuk tuk to get there and back. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent a week at San Buenaventura this May 2014 with my wife and a close friend and had an amazing time!! The location is perfect. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was great and the owner, Natalia was very hospitable and we feel like we made a good friend. Cant say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed a whole month in this hotel in February 2014. There was plenty of space, the vaulted ceilings are incredible, it is quiet, a little bit out of town (a nice 15-20 minute walk into town or a quick ride with a very cheap taxi), the trees and birds are awesome, and it felt very safe. We walked around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were staying here in January 2014; the location is superb, but you do need to have a car to take full advantage of it (which we did). Also insect repellent is definitely a good idea as there's lots of mosquitoes. Aside from those two points (and the very hefty price) we enjoyed our stay very much, as previously mentioned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is dirty and old, terribly overpriced and not worth your time. We were the only ones there so it was quite creepy, every other nearby hotel was full. Rooms are basic and dated like a 1970's roadside motel, and they reek of mildew. Location is just far enough out of town that walking is not possible or safe,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Riveradellago, Manager at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

It is unfortunate for all parties when a dissatisfied guest does not elevate a problem or misunderstanding. to the attention of management at the time it arises. It may be that the employee at the reception desk didn´t do everything possible to rectify a legitimate problem. But, we had no opportunity to react and we have no way to investigate... More 

Venice, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My parents an I stayed for 3 nights in February 2012 at the Hotel San Buenaventura in Panajachelo, Guatemala. AFTER checking in, we found out the hotel policy is that as soon as you check in, none of the days you have booked are refundable. If you cancel your reservation PRIOR to checking in, you are only held accountable for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Riveradellago, Gerente at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

Hotel San Buenaventura is at the edge of a heavily wooded coffee farm on the shore of Lake Atitlan. We are immediately adjacent to the San Buenaventura nature reserve. We have private wooded hiking trails, a private swimming pool, sauna, restaurant, private beach and a playground for kids. Our restaurant draws many accolades for its meals, although it may lack... More 

new york, NY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I've been sitting at the hotel's restaurant for over 20 minutes enjoying the views of the lake. However, I had to go into the kitchen to ask for a cup of coffee that it just came! I rated this hotel with a 3 based on the pool (that I really enjoyed yesterday,) the views, WiFi in the room and how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I spent one night in this hotel, staying in a 2 bedroom casita with friends with kids. There was plenty of space available for four people, and we probably could have fit more in the living room. The sleeping rooms are comfortable and have cable tv, but are also fairly simple--don't expect high-count sheets or Egyptian cotton towels. They were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom house with a sloping lawn that meandered down to the lake. The house was quite large -- two bedrooms, two bathrooms, full kitchen, dining area, and a step down into a full livingroom with pull-out sofa and fireplace. Good internet and cable TV. As soon as we checked in, around noon, we arranged through reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I shared one of the two houses (kind of like side-by-side townhouses with a Guatemalan twist) with another couple over the New Year holiday. We found it to be perfect for what we needed - comfortable and safe. The house had two full bedrooms, each with own bath, a living room with fireplace (it gets quite cool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay