We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 San Ignacio B&Bs / inns

Maya Mountain Lodge

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3/4 mile Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Save Saved
You added Maya Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Maya Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
89%
Ranked #13 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Danw4n Los Angeles, California
  • Reviews (243)
  • Photos (172)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    68
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
59
108
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Maya mountain lodge was exactly what we expected. The grounds are absolutely beautiful & the room was clean. The staff were friendly & we had a wonderful week there. Its not a 5 star luxury resort, its an eco jungle lodge. Its a place to enjoy the scenery & leave a bit of society & technology behind for a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clinton Township, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful scenery, amazingly friendly staff, fun little pool, delicious food at a reasonable price, and awesome prices for tours! This was an amazing introduction to Belize for my boyfriend and I. We got engaged on one of our tours, and the kitchen staff made us a wonderful dessert to celebrate! The only improvements I'd make are to the beds/bathroom/decor. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I recently traveled to San Ignacio to use as a base and go explore some of the inland attractions in Belize. When we arrived after a long trip from the Cayes across, we were promptly informed that the pool was broken, not scheduled to be repaired until after our departure date. This was a bit disappointing given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in one of the cabins close to the road, but you wouldn't know it by how much vegetation is between the cabins and the road that helps cut down on the noise. The grounds are breathtaking, colorful, and relaxing. We did walk around and stopped by the pool (before it was broke down). The entire area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the moment we arrived, the entire staff went above and beyond to make us feel at home. Great food and drinks with an authentic local flavor. It is situated right in the middle of the rainforest for a relaxed, peaceful environment, but yet is close enough to town if you want to get out and experience more local food,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wenonah, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spent 3 nights with husband and 2 teens in cabana with one full bed and bunk. Exactly what was advertised. Basic and clean. Med warm, not hot water for shower but that wasn't a big deal. Do wish we would have known there was no pool available before getting there but they did offer free ride to 2 other places... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Yes, we were a little dissapointed that the pool was in repair, but were told up front upon arrival, the staff immediately offered consessions, to take you to another resort to use their pool, or THEY OFFERED a 20% discount off the bill, both seemed very fair. With that being said the staff is the best, always asking if there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Do not believe all the photos you see. We booked this place based on some TripAdvisor research and the photos we saw... While the grounds are nice, the rest is a different story. Upon arrival we were informed that the pool broke in half. I am not really sure what that means, but the beautiful pool you see in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
BartMickler, Owner at Maya Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are shocked by this report. Certainly if we would have learnt about this while the guests were here we would have done whatever possible to make them happy. We feel that they were angry due to being surprised by the pool being down and contrived a review which is lacking truth in order to hurt us. How helpful can... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The only reason I am not giving an overall 5-star review is because on the first night the food was sub-par. However, after I requested Belzian-specific dishes they changed the menu to my specific request. This just demonstrated how excellent and responsive the staff was. Furthermore, Elmer helped us with anything we could ever need. He even checked up with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Although the rooms were a bit rustic, we enjoyed our stay here, the grounds were amazing and the staff was very responsive. I'm a bit gluten intolerant and since one of the owners is also gluten-free I got some of the best food I'd had since we got to Belize. The pool actually collapsed while we were there, so hopefully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bart1919, Owner at Maya Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are installing a new pool which is scheduled to be functioning before July 15. Guest currently booked are offered a choice in conpensation for this unexpected event including 1. Free transportation and vouchers for a nearby pool 2. A 20% discount or 3. Free full breakfast for 2 daily. We wish this had not occurred but our guest have... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Maya Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Maya Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Mountain Lodge

Address: 3/4 mile Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Mountain Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Maya Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Mountain Hotel San Ignacio
Maya Mountain Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in San Ignacio with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Maya Mountain Lodge is a small family run eco-jungle lodge located 3/4 Mls. On the Cristo Rey Road, only five minutes from downtown San Ignacio, Belize. Offering 15 air conditioned units varying from family cottages equipped with kitchenettes to our standard rooms. We also have economy rooms for the budget conscious. Weekly and monthly rates are available for up to 70% discount. We are famous for our dining service which features cultural meals of the different ethnic groups in Belize. Dining reservations are required. We also offer cooking courses when booked in advance. We have an on property tour company which provides safe, reliable tours of high quality and which are fun as well as educational. There is a pool, nature trails, tropical gardens,conference room, spa, and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maya Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer