We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maya Mountain Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
3/4 mile Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maya Mountain Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    77
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
66
126
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (278)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
NC, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed 3 nights at MML and found it clean and comfortable - just what we needed after exploring on long hot days. The food was authentic and the people are very friendly. The lodge is a short taxi ride from town but you might find you'd rather stay and relax and enjoy the flora and fauna of the lodge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My parents and I stayed at Maya Mountain Lodge for 3 nights in mid-March 2015. We were immediately struck by how welcoming the owner and his staff were. We wanted to explore the Mayan ruins, so they helped us plan a day-long tour to Tikal in Guatemala. We also went on a day-long Macal river "jungle cruise" that was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the lodge for 4 night. Surroundings were peaceful. Staff was excellent. Food was great. Reasons to stay: Close proximity to town. (Not really walkable but 2 minutes by car or motorcycle.) You're close enough that it's convenient but far enough to relax in a peaceful environment. Quiet accommodations. Dinner was very good each night. Tours can pick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We were blown away by how welcoming the owner and his staff were. So accommodating with meals, and has a real home-from- home feel with the guest fridge where you can keep your drinks if you want, as the restaurant doesn't serve alcohol. There is a supermarket down the road where you can buy beers etc. The food was excellent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

My sister and I wanted to explore San Ignacio and Maya Mountain Lodge was the perfect home base. The staff was very attentive and helpful. They arranged all of our tours and we had an excellent time on all of them. The kayaking was fantastic - a perfect mix of calm waters and small rapids. We had a great tour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

The lodge was a great place to organize tours from. The location allows you to be close to Tikal (we enjoyed 4 hours there) and the ATM, we were alone in the caves before all tourist groups came. The team will help find tours for you if you are solo so you can join up and enjoy what you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed at Maya Mountain Lodge for just one night in March. A note to travelers looking for a resort: this isn't it. We weren't looking for that though, so the small cottage/rooms didn't bother us at all (who stays in the room the entire time when you're in Belize anyway?!). Although we did not do any tours through the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We wanted to spend half of our honeymoon on the beach (St. George's Caye) and half on the mainland. We read good things about San Ignacio so when we got to the mainland we rented a Jeep and drove out (about an hour and a half). Since we splurged on our island accommodations, we wanted something a little more budget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We didn't really know much about Belize or what we would enconter there. This was such a pleasant surprise! The staff is all outstanding - I'm afraid to name names for fear of forgetting someone. Everyone was pleasant, helpful, and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay and had everything we needed. The tours they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Rooms were small and not clean! Owner was very rude and argumentative with guests!! Left the following morning. Not at all what was advertised on website. The worst resort we have ever been to. Beware of this place, and stay away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BartMickler, Owner at Maya Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

These guests wanted out of their reservation so they could stay with family nearby. As they arrived at front desk they asked to get out of their reservation and be refunded fully. They threatened to give us a bad review if we didn't comply.... We allowed them a refund for all but the first night and even assisted them to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (150)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities