We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 San Ignacio accommodations

Bella's Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Bella's Backpackers to your Saves list
4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Hotel amenities
Bella's Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
7
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very clean. we had an amazing loft room with a table and two chairs and cool bed! the showers only had cold water which was fine because its SO HOT in Belize! there was a nice rooftop hangout area complete with a hammock. drinking water is provided based on a communal donation. very easy to find. and super clean! the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This Bellas hostel is right in the center of town and is only a short walk away from Mayan Ruins and a local spot named Monkey Falls. Ask the owner for directions! Clean and cosy place to stay. Quiet hostel but round the corner from a few clubs for those who want to party

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Promised to write a review last summer, but realized as I recommended the hostel to a friend in town, that I hadn't gotten around to it. I had good reason: the first night I spent at the hostel last summer (June 2013), the person working there, Leslie, suggested a big barbecue up on the roof for new hostel guests, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were apprehensive about staying at bellas due to the previous reviews about bed bugs as written above. However, not only were we delighted by the absence of said bed bugs, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it as a great family run backpackers destination. Not only were there no bed bugs but we were informed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in the loft dorm upstairs (which has great ventilation) and had a great time. There is a nice terrace for relaxing/socialising with views over San Ignacio and a small kitchen for guest use. Owner was very helpful with travel advice etc and always gave us a warm welcome. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I cut my stay short at Bella's due to a terrible bed bug infestation. I woke up in the middle of the night itching from what I thought were mosquito bites. However, as the bites continued to develop, I flipped the side of the mattress and spotted 2 bed bugs immediately. I was going to try and stick it out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at Bella's for two nights and we found it to be a nice, quiet and relaxing hostel. Because there were so few people staying there, it felt more like being in my own house. There is a very nice common area on the terrace with nice chairs and hammocks. Although I was glad we had a private room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Bella's a total of 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The layout is great, the rooftop is a perfect place to hang out with fellow travelers and the people who work there are amazing. It fosters a great, chill, close knit community with fellow travelers. It's in a great location as well. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I wish I liked thus place but it was just bad. The pros - good wifi, big fridge, nice hang out spot on roof, kitchen with oven and utensils. Now the bad - there were BED BUGS! This made for a horrible 3 nights, the mattresses were horrible and the beds were mouldy or had termites. I wanted to take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

wow... I am really sorry you didn't tell us you were unhappy while you were here. I personally would not have stayed if I was being bitten by bed bugs for three days. I am friendly with my guest and people you saw where guest like yourself who have become friend too. I have lived in Belize for fifteen years... More

Bogotá
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Formerly probably a nice Hostel but nowadays totally not recommendable! I am quite sure that the Hostel wasn't checked again for years and just left in LP. Pro: good dinner from an Indian cook (but at average restaurant prices). Nice bathrooms. Cons: super dirty with bad bugs that chased us off. Annoying guy (self declared Hostel manager) always hanging out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you didn't enjoy Bella's. I am a little puzzled by the toilet and rotting couch you claim we have in the back yard. we have no toilet in the back yard ever and the couch is homemade of bamboo but isn't rotting? as a hostel owner you do your best when hiring people but it... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bella's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bella's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Address: 4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bella's Backpackers Belize/San Ignacio

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in San Ignacio with
any amenities