We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 San Ignacio accommodations

Bella's Backpackers

4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (30)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
Bella's Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
6
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights in the loft dorm upstairs (which has great ventilation) and had a great time. There is a nice terrace for relaxing/socialising with views over San Ignacio and a small kitchen for guest use. Owner was very helpful with travel advice etc and always gave us a warm welcome. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cut my stay short at Bella's due to a terrible bed bug infestation. I woke up in the middle of the night itching from what I thought were mosquito bites. However, as the bites continued to develop, I flipped the side of the mattress and spotted 2 bed bugs immediately. I was going to try and stick it out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at Bella's for two nights and we found it to be a nice, quiet and relaxing hostel. Because there were so few people staying there, it felt more like being in my own house. There is a very nice common area on the terrace with nice chairs and hammocks. Although I was glad we had a private room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Bella's a total of 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The layout is great, the rooftop is a perfect place to hang out with fellow travelers and the people who work there are amazing. It fosters a great, chill, close knit community with fellow travelers. It's in a great location as well. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I wish I liked thus place but it was just bad. The pros - good wifi, big fridge, nice hang out spot on roof, kitchen with oven and utensils. Now the bad - there were BED BUGS! This made for a horrible 3 nights, the mattresses were horrible and the beds were mouldy or had termites. I wanted to take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

wow... I am really sorry you didn't tell us you were unhappy while you were here. I personally would not have stayed if I was being bitten by bed bugs for three days. I am friendly with my guest and people you saw where guest like yourself who have become friend too. I have lived in Belize for fifteen years... More

Bogotá
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Formerly probably a nice Hostel but nowadays totally not recommendable! I am quite sure that the Hostel wasn't checked again for years and just left in LP. Pro: good dinner from an Indian cook (but at average restaurant prices). Nice bathrooms. Cons: super dirty with bad bugs that chased us off. Annoying guy (self declared Hostel manager) always hanging out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you didn't enjoy Bella's. I am a little puzzled by the toilet and rotting couch you claim we have in the back yard. we have no toilet in the back yard ever and the couch is homemade of bamboo but isn't rotting? as a hostel owner you do your best when hiring people but it... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hostel has great private and dorm style beds and is really affordable. I stayed here and really enjoyed hanging out upstairs in the communal area playing board games and chatting with fellow travelers. Excellent spot to stay for a few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

thanks so much for the review, I really appreciate when people take the time to put up their positive experiences. More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We rented out the whole cabin up the stairs for a group of five of us, but we could have fitted two more to make the price even better. We paid $10 US each for our own huge cabin that included a loft with two beds, two beds in main room, and private bedroom with a queen. There's roof access... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, we are working hard to keep you returning any time your close. Natasha More

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hostel was a suggestion from a previous stay over at a hostel in Belize City. After discussing the venue with it's owner Bella- she said that they had just been built and established six or so years ago. The building and amenities represented this, as everything was very well kept and there was a large kitchen and dorms. In... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad to get you review, thanks for the encouragement. More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed there one night. The price is very reasonable (20 Belize Dollars/10 US dollars for a dorm bed), from what I've seen around San Ignacio, it seems to be the cheapest option. The rooms are very clean, the sheets are clean and the beds are comfy. I stayed in a room with 9 bunk beds, but the room is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We hope to see you again at Bella's Backpacker's, San Ignacio, Cayo District, or our sister property at Caye Caulker. We now now have laundry facilities for the guest and a new extended dorm going to a new garden chill out spot. in addition to the rooftop verandah chill out area where... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bella's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bella's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Address: 4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bella's Backpackers Belize/San Ignacio

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Bella's Backpackers to your Saves list