We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 San Ignacio accommodations

Bella's Backpackers

Save
You added Bella's Backpackers to your Saves list
4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Hotel amenities
Bella's Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
8
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here early Jan 2015 for 1 night. Arrived early afternoon and got tricked into a tour, and I'm so glad i went! Went to some water falls and got to see the farm which is amazing. A comfortable bed and a shower that was a little colder than I prefer. Had a fantastic meal for a fair price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place has the potential to be an amazing space. However it currently is a total dive! If you're into being hassled and harassed by one local types that is always around this is the place for you. Once you've had your fill of that for the day be prepared to lay down on your mattress to feel each spring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Bella's in San Ignacio for three nights when I was only supposed to stay for one. Natasha, Bella and the twins made me feel right at home. I found out about Bella's when I stayed at another hostel in Belize City my first two days in the country. While I was staying at Bella's it just so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent two nights here in a double with private bath. This was the only place we booked in advance in Belize and it was a bad choice. I have stayed pretty much everywhere, but this place.... words can't relate. First of all, it was soooooo dirty. There was URIN in the toilet when we arrived. The room had not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

My boyfriend and I got a private room at Bella's in August 2014. Price was good, location was good. We were in San Ignacio two nights-- once before crossing the border to Guatemala and once again before we caught a bus to Dangriga. The house itself is very charming, with a giant tree growing right in the middle. We felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

thank you so much for your review, natasha More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed at Bellas for two nights at the beginning of our trip and it was a great place to start off to meet people and hang out. The staff were quite friendly but it wasn't the cleanest place. We paid $20US per night which was a bit expensive for dorms in Belize, especially since they don't have hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. I'm glad you liked Bella's and i would like to address the cost increase. Due to online booking ability and peoples desire to have a secure reservation we have had to change the way we do business. In the past, Bella's was a first come first serve kind of business and it was... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We stayed at Bellas for a few days and really enjoyed our stay there. The staff is super friendly, has advice for everything and the hostel offers everything you'd look for. I can only complain that the matraces where quite thin/too old, and than every night was really loud due to partying guests. Keep in mind it was during peak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm happy to say that we have changed the 15 mattresses so far this new year. i hope to change the rest by may. Natasha More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We were 4 people that stayed at Bella's during our trip to San Ignacio. We really liked it! The terrace is really nice to hang out and relax. We did the tour to the Monkey falls and it was above all the expectations and it was a good tour! We actually went to see a cheaper place but we liked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly and happy staff. Bella is easygoing and helpful. It's a little bit hidden, if I didn't ask i would probably still walking around town. Toilet and shower are in the room. There's a fan for every bed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

very clean. we had an amazing loft room with a table and two chairs and cool bed! the showers only had cold water which was fine because its SO HOT in Belize! there was a nice rooftop hangout area complete with a hammock. drinking water is provided based on a communal donation. very easy to find. and super clean! the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bella's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Address: 4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bella's Backpackers Belize/San Ignacio

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay