We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 San Ignacio accommodations

Bella's Backpackers

4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Hotel amenities
Bella's Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wish I liked thus place but it was just bad. The pros - good wifi, big fridge, nice hang out spot on roof, kitchen with oven and utensils. Now the bad - there were BED BUGS! This made for a horrible 3 nights, the mattresses were horrible and the beds were mouldy or had termites. I wanted to take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

wow... I am really sorry you didn't tell us you were unhappy while you were here. I personally would not have stayed if I was being bitten by bed bugs for three days. I am friendly with my guest and people you saw where guest like yourself who have become friend too. I have lived in Belize for fifteen years... More

Bogotá
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Formerly probably a nice Hostel but nowadays totally not recommendable! I am quite sure that the Hostel wasn't checked again for years and just left in LP. Pro: good dinner from an Indian cook (but at average restaurant prices). Nice bathrooms. Cons: super dirty with bad bugs that chased us off. Annoying guy (self declared Hostel manager) always hanging out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you didn't enjoy Bella's. I am a little puzzled by the toilet and rotting couch you claim we have in the back yard. we have no toilet in the back yard ever and the couch is homemade of bamboo but isn't rotting? as a hostel owner you do your best when hiring people but it... More

Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hostel has great private and dorm style beds and is really affordable. I stayed here and really enjoyed hanging out upstairs in the communal area playing board games and chatting with fellow travelers. Excellent spot to stay for a few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

thanks so much for the review, I really appreciate when people take the time to put up their positive experiences. More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We rented out the whole cabin up the stairs for a group of five of us, but we could have fitted two more to make the price even better. We paid $10 US each for our own huge cabin that included a loft with two beds, two beds in main room, and private bedroom with a queen. There's roof access... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, we are working hard to keep you returning any time your close. Natasha More

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hostel was a suggestion from a previous stay over at a hostel in Belize City. After discussing the venue with it's owner Bella- she said that they had just been built and established six or so years ago. The building and amenities represented this, as everything was very well kept and there was a large kitchen and dorms. In... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad to get you review, thanks for the encouragement. More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed there one night. The price is very reasonable (20 Belize Dollars/10 US dollars for a dorm bed), from what I've seen around San Ignacio, it seems to be the cheapest option. The rooms are very clean, the sheets are clean and the beds are comfy. I stayed in a room with 9 bunk beds, but the room is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We hope to see you again at Bella's Backpacker's, San Ignacio, Cayo District, or our sister property at Caye Caulker. We now now have laundry facilities for the guest and a new extended dorm going to a new garden chill out spot. in addition to the rooftop verandah chill out area where... More

Golden, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Bella's is a really well set up backpacker hostel with an excellent staff and friendly atmosphere. With a beautiful patio and comfortably seating make it a great social experience while you travel. We stayed in our own room with a big comfy bed and was and big open windows to catch the morning sunrise. While we were there it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bxl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Really nice place to stay, clean, cheap and relaxing. The rooftop terrace just rocks, perfect place to watch the moon rise while meeting others backpackers. Thanks Céline and Leslie for everything. E&R from Belgium.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Love this place. The rooftop lounge- complete with hammocks, a canopy, and a great view- is a great place to chill out with other travelers and worth the trip alone. Quintessential backpackers haven; has everything you need, nothing you don't. Great location, walking distance to everything. Leslie knows everyone and everything in San Ignacio, and was a phenomenal host who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Bella's is only a couple of minutes walking from the bus station so there is no need in taking a taxi. The house itself is also quite nice with a really cool rooftop terrace. The staff is very nice and they even gave us their blender for making our own pina coladas. There are, however, a couple of but's: -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie-and-Celinie, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind compliment and yes these bugs can be a nuisance but there is no need for exageration my friend we do our best to avoid situation like this and do beds inspection twice a week but as you know its a continous work because these creatures come and go with travelers...we appreciate your stay with us and... More

Been to Bella's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Also Known As:
Bella's Backpackers Belize/San Ignacio
Address: 4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bella's Backpackers to your Saves list