We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella's Backpackers

Hotel website
4 Galves St, San Ignacio, Belize
Offers & Announcements
RUM PUNCH WELCOME DRINK!
Bella's Backpackers
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
8
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was very nice to hang out in the lounge upstairs... great chill spot for some good conversation. Overall, attracts Bella's attracts a great crowd, and Natasha and her staff are good peeps as well. Ask her for good places to eat that are cheap and close by. There's a spot right across from the hostel that is cheap and delicious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I stayed here early Jan 2015 for 1 night. Arrived early afternoon and got tricked into a tour, and I'm so glad i went! Went to some water falls and got to see the farm which is amazing. A comfortable bed and a shower that was a little colder than I prefer. Had a fantastic meal for a fair price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

This place has the potential to be an amazing space. However it currently is a total dive! If you're into being hassled and harassed by one local types that is always around this is the place for you. Once you've had your fill of that for the day be prepared to lay down on your mattress to feel each spring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natasha889, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

First let us apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory here with us at Bella's. We strive in every way to cater to all of our guests needs and requests to make sure you have a fabulous time while you are here in Belize. In response to the reviewers concerns, I would like to take this opportunity to provide... More 

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I stayed at Bella's in San Ignacio for three nights when I was only supposed to stay for one. Natasha, Bella and the twins made me feel right at home. I found out about Bella's when I stayed at another hostel in Belize City my first two days in the country. While I was staying at Bella's it just so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I spent two nights here in a double with private bath. This was the only place we booked in advance in Belize and it was a bad choice. I have stayed pretty much everywhere, but this place.... words can't relate. First of all, it was soooooo dirty. There was URIN in the toilet when we arrived. The room had not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natasha889, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at Bella's. We strive to provide the best service to our guests and are saddened to read your review. The apartment where this reviewer stayed is indeed a private area with a private bath. We have a full-time housekeeper to do daily sweeping , mopping , toilet... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

My boyfriend and I got a private room at Bella's in August 2014. Price was good, location was good. We were in San Ignacio two nights-- once before crossing the border to Guatemala and once again before we caught a bus to Dangriga. The house itself is very charming, with a giant tree growing right in the middle. We felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

thank you so much for your review, natasha More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed at Bellas for two nights at the beginning of our trip and it was a great place to start off to meet people and hang out. The staff were quite friendly but it wasn't the cleanest place. We paid $20US per night which was a bit expensive for dorms in Belize, especially since they don't have hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. I'm glad you liked Bella's and i would like to address the cost increase. Due to online booking ability and peoples desire to have a secure reservation we have had to change the way we do business. In the past, Bella's was a first come first serve kind of business and it was... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We stayed at Bellas for a few days and really enjoyed our stay there. The staff is super friendly, has advice for everything and the hostel offers everything you'd look for. I can only complain that the matraces where quite thin/too old, and than every night was really loud due to partying guests. Keep in mind it was during peak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha889, Owner at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm happy to say that we have changed the 15 mattresses so far this new year. i hope to change the rest by may. Natasha More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We were 4 people that stayed at Bella's during our trip to San Ignacio. We really liked it! The terrace is really nice to hang out and relax. We did the tour to the Monkey falls and it was above all the expectations and it was a good tour! We actually went to see a cheaper place but we liked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly and happy staff. Bella is easygoing and helpful. It's a little bit hidden, if I didn't ask i would probably still walking around town. Toilet and shower are in the room. There's a fan for every bed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question